WTK: BATTERIES

slickrick777

WTK: BATTERIES

Postby slickrick777 » November 2nd, 2012, 11:22 pm

how many batteries would i need to run a Taramps TA3500.1 Mono 1ohm version at full capacity?....currently have 1 XS Power D3100 in the engine!

Re: WTK: BATTERIES

Postby 3stagevtec » November 3rd, 2012, 12:11 am

What alternator do you have? At minimum you should be running a 200A alternator and two decent deep cycle batteries..

ward one

Postby ward one » November 3rd, 2012, 12:43 am

according to the specs on the website. this amp will be drawing a max of 180 amps of current (for music playing). depending on the size of your alternator u might get away with 1 d3100. bt its always better to have a bigger electrical system than bare minimum.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » November 3rd, 2012, 9:03 am

if running stock alt, put 200ah of batteries again in the back

alt upgrade will go with less battery in the back,

pm me if interested in the alt upgrade and batteries,

also if you go all Sparta batteries you qualify for an electrical system where your voltage will not drop at all when playing the system, 1/4 volume to full volume, no voltage drop guaranteed

videsht

Postby videsht » November 3rd, 2012, 9:35 am

my experience wit the taramps, they not that current hungry my 6.5kw uses a 300amp fuse and the XS Power D3100 is a beast, seein from ur other posts u also hav a leviathan wit doesnt pull much current either. assuming that is all the amps u runnin my suggestion is to add just add another D3100 but i agree very much wit this statement

its always better to have a bigger electrical system than bare minimum.

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » November 3rd, 2012, 10:53 am

well stock alternator on a navara is a 120amp alternator...was planning on getting one more d3100 or 2 xp3000...but was told that i should run the same batteries!

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » November 3rd, 2012, 1:22 pm

One more xs power d3100will be sufficient based on your system requirements

ward one

Postby ward one » November 3rd, 2012, 2:00 pm

Team2lo2flo wrote:One more xs power d3100will be sufficient based on your system requirements

i agree. these batteries are sum monsters. and the op is using sum very efficient amps.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » November 3rd, 2012, 3:05 pm

So the Tara 3.5k is not a 3500 Watt amp then?

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » November 3rd, 2012, 3:17 pm

Somebody post the specs

videsht

Postby videsht » November 3rd, 2012, 3:53 pm

why? because it doesnt pull 350amps of current?

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » November 3rd, 2012, 4:15 pm

not familiar with the tara line just asking,
we'll get technical if need be :D

gladboy

Postby gladboy » November 3rd, 2012, 11:47 pm

well Mr slickrick777 i dont mean to steal your post but could someone explain how
you getting 3500w of 180ah and 6500w of 300ah current draw...
I had a post ounce about fuse rating asking a similar question, to make things short the post got locked...I would really like someone to explain this one...

southside connections

Postby southside connections » November 4th, 2012, 3:01 am

musical vs sine wave current draw, all Brazilian amps state their current draw based on both sine and musical signal, here's one pulled from a popular manufacturer's website-

Consumption with music: 7,3 a 600A
Consumption with Sine Signal: 7,3 a 1200A

so in other words, you're buying a 12kw amp to actually give 6000wrms usable musical power, but for spl competition sine wave, a full 12kw is available.

gladboy

Postby gladboy » November 4th, 2012, 6:55 am

thank you Mr southside but i know a couple of guys who are using these amps thinking they are actually getting 3k and 6.5k musically just drawing a reference with the 3k and 6.5k...
ratings on these amps can be misleading to people who do not research...

Postby SR » November 4th, 2012, 10:33 am

or sellers just want to 'sell"

most amplifier ratings are based on a sine wave at a particular frequency

some are rated at 100hz......but when you test at 60hz the rated power level drops

many times people get fooled buying an amplifier built specific for spl instead of one built for music because it "has more power" but reality its not a clean playing amplifier and in the end subwoofers get damaged because...."d amp puttin out reel power"

southside connections

Postby southside connections » November 4th, 2012, 10:57 am

please don't forget a very high sensitivity level wrt the inputs and gain, where a normal amp may be 2-4vrms stated input, with the gain being leveled matched accordingly

most brazilian based amps are more like .2v to 2v, so people think that the amp has alot of power, because it's gain is so sensitive that the slightest click gives more output, but they can't hear audible clipping untill it becomes noticeable, to which Trinidadians call it "the amp throwing level dc hoss"

the common outlook terms for the public is that the gains are "volume" knobs , and "boi i eh have no gain on d amp dey, and hear it nah"

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » November 4th, 2012, 11:01 am

king, and at the end of the day once again, you and your boy wrong

the op wants to max out a tara 3500d at 1 ohm playing bass (assumed as it wasnt stated)

he is going to need an electrical system that could put out what the current draw is

Potência Máxima @ 13,8VDC - 1 OHM - 4198 WRMS
- Potência Máxima @ 13,8VDC - 2 OHMS - 2611 WRMS
- Potência Máxima @ 13,8VDC - 4 OHMS - 1523 WRMS
- Potência Máxima @ 12,6VDC - 1 OHM - 3500 WRMS
- Potência Máxima @ 12,6VDC - 2 OHMS - 2177 WRMS
- Potência Máxima @ 12,6VDC - 4 OHMS - 1270 WRMS

- Consumo Máximo Musical @ 12,6VDC - 215 Amp.
- Comsumo Máx. em Sinal Senoidal (100Hz) @12,6VDC - 430 Amp.

and according to these specs he is going to need to be able to throw at my estimation at least 375a of current to do this. that musical amp draw has to do with the amp playing a full range signal and not a flat bass note

learn to take allyuh wrong and move on without argument

2 d3100 or 200ah of batteries is not going to do this without significant and dangerous voltage drop

that is why i recommended at least 300ah and alternator

videsht

Postby videsht » November 5th, 2012, 8:32 am

exactly noyztoyz most amps comes wit a max rating that they rarely ever pull, from the few brazilian companies i checked they give u the ratin on music and sine sweep, other companies just give u a max, this is where customer research comes in

southside connections

Postby southside connections » November 5th, 2012, 11:54 am

i agree, but what size of amp did you use to give you how much usable power, and at what price?

videsht

Postby videsht » November 5th, 2012, 12:53 pm

i'm usin a taramps 6.5kw to play the 6-10" in my wagon

southside connections

Postby southside connections » November 5th, 2012, 2:04 pm

on bassline please?

videsht

Postby videsht » November 5th, 2012, 3:15 pm

14.2kw

southside connections

Postby southside connections » November 5th, 2012, 5:49 pm

right, to play your sub at what usable rms, and what is your fused rating?

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » November 5th, 2012, 8:06 pm

videsht wrote:exactly noyztoyz most amps comes wit a max rating that they rarely ever pull, from the few brazilian companies i checked they give u the ratin on music and sine sweep, other companies just give u a max, this is where customer research comes in

i understand what you saying,
but from my experience with the brazilian amps,

i strongly believe that this amp could do a lot of power on bass - like playing a constant 45hz note and will draw 400a of current doing it,
may not get the full 430 but still a lot
definitely not 180 or 215 amps but a lot more if you put a 1 ohm load and max it out on bass

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » November 6th, 2012, 12:48 pm

so what allyuh saying is i bought an amp for around 8k which suppose to be 3.5k rms and may only get half of that or less on 2 d3100 xs power batteries?

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » November 6th, 2012, 4:04 pm

simply put,
to run that amp fully on bass, you need to have an electrical system that could supply the 400a of continuous current draw (if you plan to max it out playing songs with constant bass tones)

a stock alternator and 220 amp hours (a d3100 is 110ah) of battery cannot do that, without the voltage dropping into dangerous ranges. you will have to play your amp more like half full power until u get a proper electrical system to do the full thing

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » November 6th, 2012, 9:06 pm

noyztoyz wrote:simply put,
to run that amp fully on bass, you need to have an electrical system that could supply the 400a of continuous current draw (if you plan to max it out playing songs with constant bass tones)

a stock alternator and 220 amp hours (a d3100 is 110ah) of battery cannot do that, without the voltage dropping into dangerous ranges. you will have to play your amp more like half full power until u get a proper electrical system to do the full thing

I'm not following the logic here.

"Ampere-hours" is a battery's capacity rating. It basically indicates how much energy the battery stores. To put it in the most basic terms, a 200Ah battery should last twice as long as a 100Ah battery if they're being discharged at the same rate.

However, the ampere-hour rating does NOT indicate how much current the battery can actually provide at any particular instant, which I think is more applicable here. A better rating to look at might be the CA or CCA rating for the battery.

Postby SR » November 7th, 2012, 6:38 am

here's a simple formula to use when calculating battery requirement

total power rating of amps?/battery voltage = ah rating required to supply enough current for 1 hr

so power rating of amp is 3500watts typical battery is rated at 12.5
3500/12.5= 280amp or typically total battery AH requried to supply the current requirement for 1 hr
so if your battery is rated at 110ah then you need 280/110=2.5 batteries at 110ah ....aka 3 batteries total

this does not take into account alternator size used in system as the bigger the alternator the less batteries will be required

its a simple formula no secrets no hidden agenda anyone can use it

keep in mind the lower the voltage the higher the current draw the higher the voltage the lower the current draw

Postby SR » November 7th, 2012, 6:40 am

the cca rating is the instantaneous amperage the battery is capable of putting out when loaded

this value drops as temperature of the battery rises