Has Anyone Compared FAITAL PRO 10HP1020 to the L10 750yk RCF

RAJIE

Has Anyone Compared FAITAL PRO 10HP1020 to the L10 750yk RCF

Postby RAJIE » January 1st, 2013, 6:57 pm

well honestly never heard a FAITAL PRO 10HP1020 (700rms) played before and was thinking of purchasing a pair but getting a demo before..

was just wondering if anyone has ever compared them before.. side by side.. or from using experiences, what comparison can be made between the 2 speakers.

especially knowing the the FAITAL PRO 10HP1020 is 700rms vs the RCF which is only 350rms

amp.fanatic

Re: Has Anyone Compared FAITAL PRO 10HP1020 to the L10 750yk

Postby amp.fanatic » January 5th, 2013, 9:20 pm

BUMP!!! i wanna kno myself

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 5th, 2013, 9:56 pm

op,you doh fedup make compare cheds?

amp.fanatic

Postby amp.fanatic » January 6th, 2013, 12:22 am

^^LOL

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » January 6th, 2013, 8:19 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:op,you doh fedup make compare cheds?

I Swear I Was Now Going To Post This Same Comment... :shock:

allstarchamp

Re: Has Anyone Compared FAITAL PRO 10HP1020 to the L10 750yk RCF

Postby allstarchamp » October 21st, 2017, 5:15 pm

i have a pair of hp1020 with one hf200 driver. Never had enought power for it but with 600rms on each i was louder than 4 rcf 10" with 4 3305 selinium drivers and cleaner. the mid bass an low mid is very amazing for just 2 10s and the one driver unit giving u mids and also fine heights. so noneed for tweeters. however my amps are hifonics, which is good but they dont have amps with high power for the 10s. it worth the price

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » October 23rd, 2017, 9:57 am

allstarchamp wrote:i have a pair of hp1020 with one hf200 driver. Never had enought power for it but with 600rms on each i was louder than 4 rcf 10" with 4 3305 selinium drivers and cleaner. the mid bass an low mid is very amazing for just 2 10s and the one driver unit giving u mids and also fine heights. so noneed for tweeters. however my amps are hifonics, which is good but they dont have amps with high power for the 10s. it worth the price

lol. wut?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 24th, 2017, 6:48 am

allstarchamp wrote:i have a pair of hp1020 with one hf200 driver. Never had enought power for it but with 600rms on each i was louder than 4 rcf 10" with 4 3305 selinium drivers and cleaner. the mid bass an low mid is very amazing for just 2 10s and the one driver unit giving u mids and also fine heights. so noneed for tweeters. however my amps are hifonics, which is good but they dont have amps with high power for the 10s. it worth the price

don't have amps with enough power for the 10s??? are you mad boi...I really hope you meant hifonics don't have amps to produce the power you looking for...

finding it very difficult to believe that comparison...as much as I hate selenium drivers

allstarchamp

Postby allstarchamp » November 30th, 2017, 11:45 pm

Yes Hifonics I mean.. Lol d driver I have is ah 206 not a 200 my bad.

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 16th, 2017, 3:23 pm

Here's the response graphs side by side for both speakers. (Big up microsoft paint)
Got the specs from the manufacturers website.

I'd say go with the Faital.
The RCF just drops sharply after 6000Hz, whereas the Faital just keeps on going well past 10'000Hz.
You might not even need tweeters. (idk probably)

Don't worry about the power rating either. The human ear is most sensitive to midrange frequencies, so you'd have to dial back the midrange in the EQ anyhow :lol:

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » December 16th, 2017, 11:37 pm

From the published FR, that Faital's response seems to be breaking up around 2kHz, which suggests that it would best be cross-overed at 1kHz. or lower. Response above that looks ragged and it's almost 20dB down just above and below 10kHz, where there is a very high Q resonance. If I was using this driver, I certainly wouldn't be using it that high. Crossing over to a high efficiency tweeter or CD+horn around 2kHz or below seems to be the best approach here, based on its FR.

OTOH, that RCF driver has no bass to speak of and it's also breaking up above 2kHz. Perhaps it's designed for use in horns.

Postby Rovin » December 18th, 2017, 12:11 pm

in spite of d technical info shared here it have ppl out there who gonna swear by each whatever brand , u often hear talk rcf\bnc\18sound all d way it louder than all d rest , oh brand x does bun dong & brand y holding out bess

unless heavy alco involved i does wonder how d fork does 1 manage to bun dong a 10 mids speaker .... :|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 18th, 2017, 8:44 pm

White oak and gain button doh mix deh mammo^

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 18th, 2017, 10:07 pm

I sure people going to open this post expecting to see: "yeah dawg XYZ is the best my padnah had one in he uncle son wingroad and it used to close dong dem men up in caura"

But instead they got useful information :/
Such a shame.

Postby Rovin » December 19th, 2017, 11:38 am

ent

majority will go with what their padna , "installer" say to use or what they see somebody using - thats d trini way

in my store i always advising ppl d right stuff to do but it jes goes in 1 ear & out d other - they does feel i jes some guy selling & eh know nothing , they taking other ppl words over facts , i still try & if they doh listen & damage stuff dise up to them ..... :|

Postby black start » December 19th, 2017, 12:26 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:White oak and gain button doh mix deh mammo^

Gain? Daz the volume knob ent?

Postby Ted_v2 » December 19th, 2017, 1:00 pm

Yeah fadda, Dai meh secret weapon when the second wo mega touch down.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 19th, 2017, 4:22 pm

When i hear bun down these lines usually follow....the volume on the deck was only on 10, the gain only on 1/4,the box wasnt built to specs or my personal favorite...I have a 4000 wat boss amp on a pair of pioneers so they couldnt handle the powaaaa

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 19th, 2017, 6:45 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:ent

majority will go with what their padna , "installer" say to use or what they see somebody using - thats d trini way

in my store i always advising ppl d right stuff to do but it jes goes in 1 ear & out d other - they does feel i jes some guy selling & eh know nothing , they taking other ppl words over facts , i still try & if they doh listen & damage stuff dise up to them ..... :|

Dais life boy, regular folk don't listen to facts and figures. They make decisions based on emotions.

When selling a product, the most important thing is how it makes the customer feeeel.
So try to meet them on their level and convince them to buy your product using the tactics other installers use, but still drop in nuggets of wisdom and let them know that they can call you if they have any questions.

People like you and I would rather use ugly no-brand equipment if it outperforms products on the market, but for the average joe they want status and popularity. Performance is secondary. *coughAppleProductscough*

Postby sMASH » December 20th, 2017, 7:23 pm

Question for brian:

Scenario 1. Have a 4 ohm load with a rms of 100w. connect it to a bridged output to impedance match at 4 ohms. The output of the that channel is 200wrms. But I don't max out the amp, just let it producing 100wrms.

Scenario 2. Same load that is 100wrms and 4 ohm.
But I connect it to a channel that is 2 ohms and is also rated to output 100wrms at 4ohms load.

Is there any advantage of one scenario over the other?
Wrt sound quality

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » December 22nd, 2017, 12:59 am

All else being equal, I'd always opt for the extra headroom - less chance of clipping when I turn it up. Not that I'm worried about clipping damaging any speakers - that might only happen when the speaker is driven into gross distortion, I just want my system to sound as clean as possible. Right now I'm using for my front speakers 80W 6.5" drivers being driven by an amp capable of delivering 150Wpc. They have survived almost a decade of service with only slight water damage to one so far.

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 22nd, 2017, 7:24 pm

Agreed with Brian on the headroom aspect

But if it's bass/midbass you're playing then damping factor might come into play.
A typical class A/B amplifier basically has one transistor playing each half of the waveform, but in bridged mode the signal must pass through two transistors in series.
(one transistor is 'pulling' while the other is 'pushing' to double the output)

But it shouldn't be too much of an issue with modern amps, most are well designed with decent internals.

Just something to think about

Postby sMASH » December 22nd, 2017, 10:49 pm

Nice nice. Got a good visual there.

Now I know how I will move...

slackwire26

Postby slackwire26 » January 29th, 2018, 5:27 am

Rovin's Audio wrote:in spite of d technical info shared here it have ppl out there who gonna swear by each whatever brand , u often hear talk rcf\bnc\18sound all d way it louder than all d rest , oh brand x does bun dong & brand y holding out bess

unless heavy alco involved i does wonder how d fork does 1 manage to bun dong a 10 mids speaker .... :|
I totally agree....Alcohol.. is d problem.. I burn my faital 12FH520 an ah faital hf140 driver in caura ImageImage

slackwire26

Postby slackwire26 » January 29th, 2018, 5:54 am

slackwire26 wrote:
Rovin's Audio wrote:in spite of d technical info shared here it have ppl out there who gonna swear by each whatever brand , u often hear talk rcf\bnc\18sound all d way it louder than all d rest , oh brand x does bun dong & brand y holding out bess

I totally agree....Alcohol.. is d problem.. I burn my faital 12FH520 an ah faital hf140 driver in caura ImageImage
Faital Pro speakers are awesome products in my experience... it boil down too wat u prefer an hw much uh willing to spend for Quality..