Nissan D22 Frontier build log. *new stuff*

Re: Nissan D22 Frontier build log. *vid added*

Postby 3stagevtec » January 7th, 2014, 10:25 pm

As yes, I remember what it was like building one of these.. and it looks like you put in a lot more work! Glad to see a 10" fit in there and still retain full seating capacity of the vehicle. Always like it when the build appears like a factory option rather than aftermarket install. Will take a demo next time we meet..

Postby nervewrecker » January 8th, 2014, 9:15 pm

Just lemme know how work running. I can meet you by the gate a day after work if is on a weekend or pass in by you a day after I finish work. Just today I was in your hometown.

Sub bass sounding a lot better now that it kinda broken in. Playing any and everything with ease but loosing the lowest notes when the volume turned up as the enclosure not secured to the floor yet.

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » January 9th, 2014, 12:15 am

nice build man

venomz

Postby venomz » January 10th, 2014, 2:17 am

why in all ur vids u max out the Deck to 52?

doesn't a pios 2volt or 4volt pre out deck give out its peak power at around 35 to 43 and creates distortion hence forth to 52?

correct me if I am wrong...

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » January 10th, 2014, 10:37 am

I dont see a problem even if he turns it up to 60!

Varying models of decks have different volume levels in which clipping of the output signal just start to occur.Usually this is a few increments below to maximum volume level. Ideally the head unit should be able to output un-clipped signal at its max volume.

If "yuh max out" at volume 35 of a pioneer deck just suggests your gains are too high.

Postby nervewrecker » January 10th, 2014, 11:21 am

Some tests were done on diyma where the 80prs can reach 59 or 60 on the volume I think it was before clipping.

I set the gains with the volume at approx 55 to 57 mp3's, >58 using original CD.

On all my head units I reach approx volume 55 with no problems. For daily use its at 30 - 46 though.

Bass: 0

Mid: 0 (right -1)

High: left -9 right -12 if I remember correctly

Gains 5v except for on the sub channel where its a little under 4 for daily use. I can still turn it up without problems. No need to crank it where I am no longer aware of my surroundings, thats making myself a hazard on the nations roadways.

And thanks csjplayboy

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » January 13th, 2014, 9:56 am

nice bulid bro, you giving me some inspiration to try something on the Navara

Postby nervewrecker » January 14th, 2014, 11:15 pm

matthewmazda wrote:nice bulid bro, you giving me some inspiration to try something on the Navara

Do eeetttttttttt!!!!!!!!!!! :drinking:

I have some updates to come soon btw. Was busy this weekend so nothing was done.

So far, so good.

Postby nervewrecker » May 6th, 2014, 11:58 pm

Have been going easy on the sub for the past few months as I havent installed cooling on the amp yet so its now breaking in. Two quick vids.

roger

Postby roger » May 10th, 2014, 10:26 pm

This is a nice build log. Believe it or not tonite is the first time I came across it.

My only thing is that I would probably have used 2 or even 3 6inchers instead, in order to do a little more with the sub box design and final shape. I would have tried to mimic the shape of the original console a bit more....

Dampen those doors! Run active! Nice amp!

Postby nervewrecker » May 10th, 2014, 10:57 pm

Thanks man. Means a lot. :D

I really don't like how the center of the box has the two pointy parts. Have to cut and reshape that during my upcoming vacation.

Main thing I need in there is cooling for that amp. Really poor ventilation under there. Little more dampening might be in order too. The gaping holes I left uncovered need to be addressed.

Good 6's hard to find and a pair of 8's would have crossed the budget plus limit me for space to put a port of I needed to. Settled for cone area in the end.

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 11th, 2014, 12:07 am

^^ I can get my hands on some dd 6.5sw for half the retail price when you ready lol.

Also I have an extra pc fan if you want it, jus pick it up.

Postby nervewrecker » October 21st, 2014, 2:54 pm

Guuuud Scotty, look what I found.

So ladies, gents and all what else we have lurking in here, this is where I reach and here are the updates.

After some serious cutting, filling, glassing, sanding, filling and sanding....you get the point, I have come down to two choices of a finish where your opinion is valued greatly.

Saw Spectro cover a backdash in a material called blitz, looks nice but I didn't get to touch it. Is is any different from the underbody coating I originally put? Or is it more like gravitex? I happen to have a bottle of gravitex....
Next option is paint....it feels nice in there sanded and smooth. Very pleasant to rub against when in traffic and when constantly changing gears.
Imma rough kinda guy, somehow I like the textured finish. What do you guts think?

Postby Ted_v2 » October 21st, 2014, 4:51 pm

Similar I thinks

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » October 21st, 2014, 5:34 pm

Duratex or something similar would be my choice.

Paint rubs off and scratches easily. What looks great just after you paint it may look like ass in a few months.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 21st, 2014, 5:44 pm

Honestly the best thing is undercoating in a can. A rustioum product. Not sure of the spelling

Postby nervewrecker » October 21st, 2014, 7:13 pm

I have 3m underbody coating I think it is. In a can self from SSL

I like that duratex! Wonder where sells that around here? Looking to do a nice design on the box after too. Either in Grey to match the interiors or grey and white

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » October 21st, 2014, 7:37 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I have 3m underbody coating I think it is. In a can self from SSL

I like that duratex! Wonder where sells that around here? Looking to do a nice design on the box after too. Either in Grey to match the interiors or grey and white

It can be ordered from Parts Express if necessary. Best to check first to see if it can actually adhere to fiberglass (I think it can, but I'm not certain).

Postby meccalli » October 21st, 2014, 9:04 pm

i dunno if them local cabinet builders might have, most pro sound enclosures are duratex coated ply. I'm pretty sure duratex stick to damn near everything lol, its really tough too,

Postby nervewrecker » October 21st, 2014, 9:17 pm

Hopefully some of the pro audio guys might chime in and share some info on of its available here in Trinidad. If not I'll post in the pro audio thread.

Meanwhile I'll do some research on it. Thanks guys

Postby nervewrecker » October 30th, 2014, 10:17 pm

lack of free time so black paint on it. I so dont like this look.

Postby nervewrecker » December 2nd, 2015, 3:43 pm

Don't know where all the pics on page one gone but upgrades are taking place.

This is my daily vehicle, takes me everywhere I have to go. Was only fair it get a decent upgrade in the name of good sound.

Elates in stock position, tweeters might go in spheres (hence the dry run with the HAT tweeters).

Powered them up just now and they are everything one would expect. Those elates laughing at the power and volume can reach 60 without any sign of distortion. Driving will never be the same.

Re: Nissan D22 Frontier build log. *new stuff*

Postby Ted_v2 » December 2nd, 2015, 10:14 pm

just now the thing in ur DP might reach in the daily

Postby nervewrecker » December 8th, 2015, 11:48 pm

That's where things reach. Got to love these speakers. They laugh at power and clean and hell. Reached volume 60 easy.
Still an economy build so they fit right in where I had the last set of speakers. No modification.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Postby nervewrecker » March 13th, 2018, 6:50 pm

Will be replacing the morel elates with these.

Exodus anarchy.

About 12 pounds of dampening have been added to the doors since. ImageImageImage

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » March 13th, 2018, 7:28 pm

What led you to replace the Morels with those?

How does the sensitivity of the Anarchy drivers compare to the Morels?

Postby nervewrecker » March 14th, 2018, 3:51 am

Just trying something different really. No reason in particular.

Havent installed them yet