wtk about bass processors

basstard

wtk about bass processors

Postby basstard » February 7th, 2016, 1:04 am

Good day tuners, i want to get some information on bass processors and subwoofer enclosure. Do i need a special type of sub enclosure if i am using a bass processor (like an audio control epicenter with a 33hz chip). I have heard some people say u need a bigger subwoofer enclosure to work with an epicenter. FYI i only have the mono-block amplifier (powerbass asa3 1500.1) and a clarion pre amp.

Re: wtk about bass processors

Postby nervewrecker » February 8th, 2016, 10:13 am

Its said a bigger box is needed because bigger boxes tend to have better low frequency response but increases the sensitivity and can cause the sub to unload very easy if you don't know what you doing.

basstard

Postby basstard » February 8th, 2016, 7:02 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Its said a bigger box is needed because bigger boxes tend to have better low frequency response but increases the sensitivity and can cause the sub to unload very easy if you don't know what you doing.

thanks for this bit of information, and how much bigger the enclosure will have to be for a single 12" (0.4cuft or more)?

Postby nervewrecker » February 8th, 2016, 7:04 pm

I'd recommend you use a normal box instead of one where you stand a better chance of mechanical damage due to over excursion.

Sent from my ONE E1005 using Tapatalk

Sully

Postby Sully » February 9th, 2016, 9:27 am

If you've selected a good sub for your application and the enclosure is built correctly you should not need a bass processor.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 14th, 2016, 3:50 pm

Sully wrote:If you've selected a good sub for your application and the enclosure is built correctly you should not need a bass processor.

This

Unless you listening to old arse calypso/country music with no bass, you doh need one

basstard

Postby basstard » February 15th, 2016, 5:51 am

really want the epicenter for some old schools for some clean lows.

Postby SR » February 15th, 2016, 8:59 pm

But the old school wasnt recorded with lows

basstard

Postby basstard » February 16th, 2016, 10:27 am

SR wrote:But the old school wasnt recorded with lows

hence the reason i want to use an epicenter. Dont really like high bass.

Postby Rovin » February 16th, 2016, 10:42 am

choose some subs that are designed to be comfortable playing d lows & not like d high wattage spl stiff spider subs which even though may play some lows will not sound as smooth

& yes d ultra lows will require a decent size box ...