A discussion on dialling in input sensitivity

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 9th, 2016, 7:44 pm

Alright folks I know there's a lot of conflicting information out there, and everyone has their own method. I'd like to hear how you do it.

I don't like the tuning by ear approach, so the multimeter approach is probably the better way in my opinion. That said, even this method has a lot of variations.
0db is recommended, but it's been said it leaves too much headroom and you'll not be making the most of your equipment.

Some folks use -3db, -6db or as much as -10db to set their target voltage. (50 hz sine wave for sub, 1khz for front/rear)

Which do you use?

Also the method is a bit unclear.

Do you disable all crossovers and eq settings to dial it in? As in a fullrange signal from both the HU and the amp?

This is a good process

I'd like to hear your thoughts.

Re: A discussion on dialling in input sensitivity

Postby X_Factor » November 10th, 2016, 2:33 pm

my mango tree tuning style...
hu --80-85%
eq flat
sub 50hz at 18db or 40 @12
midbass 63 or 80 @ 18db
highs 3.5k @24
several tracks on iasca test disk
amps are usually 1.5/2 times power I need so gains are adjusted to suit which barely pass 50% at any time
adjust eq to suit

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 10th, 2016, 3:10 pm

o-scope. bullet proof.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 10th, 2016, 3:37 pm

I have the dmm and JL audio's target voltage chart, so I'll have to make do ;) no oscilloscope for me, lol.

Your test tones are 0db reference?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 11th, 2016, 11:30 am

yup.

smd has a tool for this as well. if this is something you do often.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 11th, 2016, 12:05 pm

OP , u know how trinis operate , so what method u think is most likely use .... :|

Postby black start » November 11th, 2016, 3:13 pm

Inside for that there knowledge

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » November 11th, 2016, 4:05 pm

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:OP , u know how trinis operate , so what method u think is most likely use .... :|

Max on everything... Use da gain knob as yuh volume

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » November 11th, 2016, 5:46 pm

When your system max out on volume 5 then the gain pot tuned to perfection

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 11th, 2016, 7:27 pm

Tune by ear is overrated...tune by nose instead.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » November 12th, 2016, 11:44 am

I use an oscilloscope. I bought one for 60us on amazon. A DSO nano. I`m surprised many installers have not invested in one, I still see 90% using the by ear method.

This is the updated version for 85 us

https://www.amazon.com/Handheld-Oscillo ... s=dso+nano

TK!

Postby TK! » November 12th, 2016, 6:18 pm

^ the DSO is good to have. Be sure to get leads with built in resisitors if you're planning on connecting to your amp's output.

This is what i do (DMM Method):
- 0db Test Tones: 50Hz and 1KHz
- Disconnect all speakers. Replace with a 4ohm high wattage resistor if you can.
- All EQs, X-overs off
- Gains on zero, deck on 3/4 volume (or the higest undistorted level if you find that info online)
- For bass amps, play the 50Hz test tone on repeat.
- Measure the AC voltage at your amp output using your digital multimeter. Get a True RMS Fluke if you can (it have one downstairs)
- Turn the gains up till you hit the voltage you require. (use your JL chart)
- repeat for mids/high amp with the 1KHz tone (some will say use the 50Hz because the DMM is more accurate at 50 or 60 hz)

-turn down your deck volume, disconnect DMM, reconnect speaker wires. now it's time to tune your x-over so that you can match the relative levels of hig, mid, low, sub. slopes and levels play a huge role here and if properly done, you wont need eq.

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » November 14th, 2016, 11:34 am

I use a SMD dd1 and I've verified with a local shop's o-scope... Pleasantly surprised at how accurate that thing is.

Colincet

View first unread post

Postby Colincet » November 18th, 2016, 12:36 am

Post your car DVD player and show your multifunction of your car DVD player.

I hope everyone can leave your opinion on this topic. Discuss more, learn more, being happy

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 18th, 2016, 8:46 pm

TK! wrote:
- repeat for mids/high amp with the 1KHz tone (some will say use the 50Hz because the DMM is more accurate at 50 or 60 hz)

Yea use the 50/60 Hz if you have a cheap multimeter

I think the good ones are good with a range of frequencies