Sound-Damping & Acoustic Materials

LincolnB

Sound-Damping & Acoustic Materials

Postby LincolnB » December 26th, 2016, 10:09 am

Hey everyone,
Look for options to dampen some speaker cabinets. Already got polyfill at and cotton-like liners at an upholstery store.

Where can I get acoustic foam locally? (flat liners or egg-crate shaped liners)

zorced

Re: Sound-Damping & Acoustic Materials

Postby zorced » December 26th, 2016, 1:49 pm

Check Studio Express, Streamline Systems, CET.

LincolnB

Postby LincolnB » December 26th, 2016, 6:15 pm

Thank you zorced.
Contacted Streamline Systems already and they don't supply.
Will contact Studio Express, and CET.

TK!

Postby TK! » December 29th, 2016, 1:03 am

you can use jute. morel recommended that for my sub.

it's the stuff under your car's carpet. stocked by almost all local upholstery suppliers. don't ask for "jute" tho. they wont know what you're talking about.

hope you're also building the enclosure that will physically take care of most of the standing waves.

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 6th, 2017, 3:44 pm

hey man

I see they sell egg crate foam in Lensyl at Macoya Industrial Estate

I didn't get to price it, but it would be a hell of a lot cheaper than the acoustic egg crate foam. The performance difference should be negligible.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Also, Im looking for fibre glass insulation ( the regular heat insulation type) , Its less susceptible to fire.
Where in Trinidad has that?

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » January 15th, 2017, 5:20 pm

I bought a sheet of egg crate foam (open cell) at Furniture Plus in San Fernando, about three years ago. I believe it was about $150.

You can try them.

LincolnB

Postby LincolnB » September 23rd, 2018, 2:43 pm

TK! wrote:you can use jute. morel recommended that for my sub.

it's the stuff under your car's carpet. stocked by almost all local upholstery suppliers. don't ask for "jute" tho. they wont know what you're talking about.

hope you're also building the enclosure that will physically take care of most of the standing waves.

Yep. Box already built and braced. Just looking for materials now. I have a samll roll of jute. Will try it out.

LincolnB

Postby LincolnB » September 23rd, 2018, 2:52 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:hey man

I see they sell egg crate foam in Lensyl at Macoya Industrial Estate

I didn't get to price it, but it would be a hell of a lot cheaper than the acoustic egg crate foam. The performance difference should be negligible.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Also, Im looking for fibre glass insulation ( the regular heat insulation type) , Its less susceptible to fire.
Where in Trinidad has that?

Good idea to check them. Will see if they still supply.
Was getting them online but was just looking for a quick local option.
I can get the UL fire compliant hq foam from an online supplier too- 12"x12" tiles (2.5" thick) About $200 for 2 tiles

TK!

Postby TK! » November 3rd, 2018, 9:55 am

Lensyl's - 54"x37.5"x2" egg crate foam - $$$.
They don't know if it's polyetylene or polystrene foam nor can they quote the sound absorption coefficient.

Vicmol has a 54"x75"x2" egg crate foam - $140.00

Advanced Foam claims they have but unable to get a price or size from them.

Unfortunately, egg crate foam isn't the best for sound absorption as the pattern doesn't lend well to picking up some of the reflected waves. Even WORSE, this type of foam is very ineffective below 100hertz.

Fiberglass or jute might do a better at lower frequencies.

Postby X_Factor » November 3rd, 2018, 2:29 pm

for sound absorption melamine foam is what u need

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 3rd, 2018, 8:44 pm

when you get lower than 100Hz I think helmholtz resonators might work better than absorption

correk meh if Im wrong