Centre image too wide

TK!

Centre image too wide

Postby TK! » July 18th, 2017, 11:07 pm

Any idea why my centre image is spread across the dash?

On the new IASCA cd, my left of centre and right of centre are almost at the a-pillars. My centre image is ok but sounds like some frequencies are at a lower spl than the others. (eg - vocals not as crisp as a when played on left or right only). Thinking phase?

kavaninho

Re: Centre image too wide

Postby kavaninho » July 19th, 2017, 9:41 am

You only experienced this when you chucked in the new test cd?
Issue sounds TA related.

SQBOY

Centre image too wide

Postby SQBOY » July 19th, 2017, 8:19 pm

Hmmm...... I have to get one of the new IASCA Sq cd. This sounds interesting.
Last edited by SQBOY on July 19th, 2017, 8:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

GVTrini07

Postby GVTrini07 » July 21st, 2017, 10:10 am

I am sure the question is directed the the judges on the forum as there is no indication of setup/ placement/ L/R rta etc. etc. etc. etc. for a normal forum user to assist.

As a normal forum user...
But without info and proper listening, one can suggest that the judge nose so big it deflecting the sound?

On another note, Len meh da CD nah? We could rule out is the CD

TK!

Postby TK! » July 25th, 2017, 2:10 pm

The observation is for all music, not just the new IASCA cd.
6" and tweets in doors. (6" - stock location, tweets - high up)

angles crappy... didnt want to modify. used TA instead.

GVTrini07

Postby GVTrini07 » July 26th, 2017, 9:22 am

Yuh in south? Ah could help yuh wit ah lil RTA, why? By chance yuh ever read the Hybrid Audio L3 manual? Synopsis - Lower vocal ranges may not be affected by TA. Yuh go ha tuh use intensity. I guess your doing a 2 way? Yuh go ha tuh play rong wid it cause yuh go affect the midbass with intensity as well.

Ah could still use ah burrow ah d CD. Ah too poor (cough cheap) to buy. Recession nah. Doh tell SR.

TK!

Postby TK! » July 26th, 2017, 5:50 pm

GVTrini07 wrote:Synopsis - Lower vocal ranges may not be affected by TA. Yuh go ha tuh use intensity. I guess your doing a 2 way? Yuh go ha tuh play rong wid it cause yuh go affect the midbass with intensity as well.

Up north. See what u say about TA and lower mids. I was trying to recall which frequencies are affected by TA vs intensity. By experimentation, i found high freqs do not respond to TA at all and i found my midbass to be influenced by intensity but i didnt figure out the lower mids were also unaffected by TA.

GVTrini07

Postby GVTrini07 » July 26th, 2017, 6:49 pm

http://hybrid-audio.com/files/manuals/0 ... Manual.pdf

Have a read. I am in Chaguaramas Mon to Fri.

ITD is the dominant factor for frequencies below about 500HZ
A combination of ITD and IID are dominant for frequencies between approximately 500 HZ and 2000 HZ; and
IID, in concert with HRTF, are dominant above about 2000 HZ.

Your speaker location is probably giving you the most grief. Push those things away from you. If possible, move the Tweet and midbass closer together.

Guessing the tweet is playing low - maybe 2K - 2.2?

Postby SR » July 28th, 2017, 7:59 pm

His tweeter locations are bad. Cant say how well is mid bass are installed. I dont think he needs to over complicate things. I would replace the head unit buts thats just my opinion as an installer. As a judge i dont care about your install or equipment

TK!

Postby TK! » July 29th, 2017, 9:51 am

Thanks GVTrini07 and SR. Will try a few things and test again.

Tweeter locations are definitely bad.
Will check corssover points etc (ITD, IID etc)

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » July 31st, 2017, 8:27 am

You're running the fronts actively?

I would TA the mid and tweet separately even though TA really does not work on tweeters. Also try L-R EQ if that's available to you.

I've had dead on center imaging with door mids and sail panel tweeters before.

roger

Postby roger » August 21st, 2017, 10:58 am

Tariq, how did this work out?

TK!

Postby TK! » September 24th, 2017, 10:24 am

Moved the tweeters and applied TA much differently. Noticeable improvement but still not to my liking. Can't change the tweeter's x-over point nor TA them separately since they are running passively off a single pair of channels. I have played with intensity with good results.

Tweets are now placed on the dash and are faced towards the opposite seat. TA is done with an increased sub-woofer distance. I'm adding two times the distance from the sub to the trunk's rear wall. The effect of this has less to do with the imaging and more with up-front bass.

I'll run my alpine imprint software and take a listen.

SQBOY

Postby SQBOY » September 24th, 2017, 2:08 pm

TK! wrote:Moved the tweeters and applied TA much differently. Noticeable improvement but still not to my liking. Can't change the tweeter's x-over point nor TA them separately since they are running passively off a single pair of channels. I have played with intensity with good results.

Tweets are now placed on the dash and are faced towards the opposite seat. TA is done with an increased sub-woofer distance. I'm adding two times the distance from the sub to the trunk's rear wall. The effect of this has less to do with the imaging and more with up-front bass.

I'll run my alpine imprint software and take a listen.

What head unit are u using?

TK!

Postby TK! » October 7th, 2017, 11:32 pm

alpine cda 9887