WTK! Help with bass cancellation

Jeremy09

WTK! Help with bass cancellation

Postby Jeremy09 » August 16th, 2017, 9:51 pm

I brought a new single 12" sub for the car. Its a toyota corolla ae92 hatch. And i always had problems with bass, not sure whats the problem.
People with subs on half the power i use sometimes sounds louder and better.
Could it be the shape of the car? Or is something i could check to correct this?
I run the sub facing forward because it mids box are ontop an facing it back trunk makes a hell of noise.
Any advice is helpfull, pics attached
Thanks
20170814_101254.jpg
Screenshot_20170816-214322.png
Last edited by Jeremy09 on August 16th, 2017, 9:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.

MONGO

Re: WTK! Help with bass cancellation

Postby MONGO » August 16th, 2017, 10:21 pm

I saw the box tuned to 50Hz, u not trying to play lows with that by chance?

caliph tec

Postby caliph tec » August 16th, 2017, 10:28 pm

MONGO wrote:I saw the box tuned to 50Hz, u not trying to play lows with that by chance?

Have to be wrong tuning, u should borrow ah 12" box for someone that Is tune for lows eg 32hz and try it with your sub and see If it makes any difference

Custom Options

Postby Custom Options » August 16th, 2017, 10:51 pm

Please specify what you mean by "hell of a noise" when the sub is facing backwards?

Is the box designed to specs for the subwoofer that is in it?

Dylz305

Postby Dylz305 » August 16th, 2017, 11:47 pm

Custom Options wrote:Please specify what you mean by "hell of a noise" when the sub is facing backwards?

Is the box designed to specs for the subwoofer that is in it?

guessing he means trunk rattle :/

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » August 17th, 2017, 7:56 am

I had it in a 36hz box before. I had atomic, dd and now this. I guess that was good equipment but ppl with boss an pioneer sounding like that. Is a family car so i cant build a wall or face it back cuz there is sometimes things in the trunk

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » August 17th, 2017, 8:02 am

A friend and i did some metering when i had the dd and it was actually louder when i faced the box forward than up an backward but the bass just doesnt sound full and 'good'. Could it be power? Its on a 1500rms amp and that the thing, my friend has a 500rms amp an sounds just like me lol or the shape of the car

Dylz305

Postby Dylz305 » August 17th, 2017, 8:15 am

Alot of things to take into consideration
Bass Boost, pre amp settings, Head unit settings, if the sub is wired to match the impedance etc

paul85

Postby paul85 » August 17th, 2017, 8:16 am

Dynamat and get the proper box

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » August 17th, 2017, 8:36 am

Its wired to 1ohm, i dont use bass boost nor a pre amp, i use an alpine deck an have the sub playing 80hz down to i think 35hz or so
And yes, i have to mat the trunk, but is placment the problem? Is that type of hatchback even "bass friendly"

Dylz305

Postby Dylz305 » August 17th, 2017, 8:48 am

Pretty sure it's not the car, I got a Tiida hatch with 1 12 DD 1200rms @ 1ohm and it's keeping up with 2 10 B&C and drivers

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » August 17th, 2017, 9:12 am

The guy who built the sub says shoot for 2.5cubes with 12-14inches of port area tuned anyway between 36hz-40hz

RawVoltage

Postby RawVoltage » August 17th, 2017, 11:47 am

Sound deadening is a must also box and sub combo doesnt sound right, PM me the specs/sub parameters and i'll let you know whats your best tuning point, also your friend with the meter you should have him check the resonant frequency of the car

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » August 17th, 2017, 12:20 pm

RawVoltage wrote:Sound deadening is a must also box and sub combo doesnt sound right, PM me the specs/sub parameters and i'll let you know whats your best tuning point, also your friend with the meter you should have him check the resonant frequency of the car

Check pm

Postby SR » August 17th, 2017, 3:05 pm

Allyuh serious with some of these replies??? A hatchback has a natural acoustical gain over a sedan. Is the comparison being made on loudness alone? Is the comparison being done on the drivers seat between vehicles?

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » August 17th, 2017, 9:23 pm

Overall spl and sq, i mean music sounds good inside the car but from outside, feilder, almera, Ad sounds the same or even better on less power and lower quality equipment.

Postby gastly369 » August 17th, 2017, 9:27 pm

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » August 18th, 2017, 1:21 pm

From my experience, these type of cars usually have more reproduction of sound.
Can you post the equipment you have?
Who designed the box for you?

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » August 18th, 2017, 9:18 pm

Inbox

LOUD AND CLEAR AUDIO

Postby LOUD AND CLEAR AUDIO » September 13th, 2017, 8:40 pm

u got through ?was the problem soughted out ? worked on many of these cars before -- we aware exactly of whats going on ---good luck

Postby nervewrecker » September 13th, 2017, 9:05 pm

If you trying to play from 35hz up you loosing a lot of detail ij music.
Anyhow, different subs respond different in different boxes facing different directions.
Try it facing backward and ignore the noise for now. See if you get a difference. Most guys with wagons had luck with it facing that way.
Also, what amp you have that you comparing to 500 watt amps?
I had a 600 watt mtx amp that give a man with a boss 3000 watt a good run for his money. All amps arent created equal

Jeremy09

Postby Jeremy09 » September 13th, 2017, 10:12 pm

I run a powerbass asa3 1500.1, i rebuilt a box 2.5cubes tuned 40hz. Face it up, improved a bit

Postby nervewrecker » September 14th, 2017, 5:40 am

I find that box tuned very high. That cant play bass.
Provided your crossover settings are set properly check your rca connections. My bass started to play easy once and it was an rca pulled out halfway