2ch or 4ch and why????

lethal injection

2ch or 4ch and why????

Postby lethal injection » October 27th, 2017, 8:47 pm

Here is the scenario....speaking to a couple people all of which have different views wrt using a 2ch or 4ch amp to play 4 10s...The speakers are 8ohm rated @ 350 rms each...now the argument is choosing between a 2000.4 and a 2000.2 to play all speakers...

So from you guys here which amp is best suited and why...thanks in advance

kavaninho

Re: 2ch or 4ch and why????

Postby kavaninho » October 28th, 2017, 8:58 am

the 2000.4 bridged.. This would allow you to more power to your woofers.
The 2000.2 would not be fully utilized.

Postby Rovin » October 28th, 2017, 11:00 am

if both of whatever amps is doing d same power say 1000x2 @ 4ohms each side bridged vs 2000x1 @ 2 ohms bridged - what are d different views ppl telling u for either ? ....... :|

lethal injection

Postby lethal injection » October 28th, 2017, 2:25 pm

Some saying that using a 2ch would be wasting it?? Both amps are almost the same wrt to pricing...the amps in question are the orion 2000.2h and 2000.4 hcca...so does it matter which is used or flip a coin??

Postby sMASH » October 28th, 2017, 2:46 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:if both of whatever amps is doing d same power say 1000x2 @ 4ohms each side bridged vs 2000x1 @ 2 ohms bridged - what are d different views ppl telling u for either ? ....... :|

Subscribed to hear the views...

Postby nervewrecker » October 28th, 2017, 5:11 pm

Steups.

Had a time this forum used to have posts with questions that had some form of intelligence in them.

Postby sMASH » October 28th, 2017, 6:36 pm

If u don't know why which option is applicable, no problem. U came to the right place.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » October 28th, 2017, 6:38 pm

lethal injection wrote:Some saying that using a 2ch would be wasting it?? Both amps are almost the same wrt to pricing...the amps in question are the orion 2000.2h and 2000.4 hcca...so does it matter which is used or flip a coin??

flip a coin you say?

You have 4 8 ohm components there.
Wire a pair in parallel such that each pair presents a 4ohm load to the amplifier.

Now bridge both sides of the 2000.4 and connect each pair to a side. This way you would get most power to your woofers.

Postby Rovin » October 28th, 2017, 7:49 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:if both of whatever amps is doing d same power say 1000x2 @ 4ohms each side bridged vs 2000x1 @ 2 ohms bridged - what are d different views ppl telling u for either ? ....... :|

now that u say what amps i just checked d specs & it seems like d 2 chan is 4 ohm stable & NOT 2 ohm stable like what i thought u meant in ur original post , i wouldnt advise putting a 2 ohm load on a recommended 4 ohm

therefore without a doubt go with d 4 chan amp & like said above parallel 1 pair of speakers to each bridged 1\2 of d amp .....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 28th, 2017, 8:54 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Steups.

Had a time this forum used to have posts with questions that had some form of intelligence in them.

easy deh mamoo :lol:

So I'd play devils advocate here...I remember when some people used to use 2ch amps with similar rating to play 4 tens??? what would really be the downside if the 2000.2 is used??

these are the specs of both amps

Number Of Channels: 4
Maximum Power: 4000 Watts
Built In Crossovers: Yes
Channel Separation: Yes
Amplifier Class: A/B
300W RMS x 4 @ 4 Ohms – 12.6V
500W RMS x 4 @ 2 Ohms – 12.6V
1000W RMS x 2 [Bridged] @ 4 Ohms – 12.6V
4000W MAX Power – 12.6V

600W RMS x 2 @ 4 Ohms
1000W RMS x 2 @ 2 Ohms
2000W RMS x 1 [Bridged] @ 4 Ohms
4000W MAX Power

US Amps AX-2000
600Wx2 @ 4ohms (Watts RMS)
* 1000Wx2 @ 2ohms (Watts RMS)
* 2000Wx1 @ 4ohms mono/bridged (Watts RMS)
* Dimensions: 27.5" L x 11" W x 2.7" H

the US Amps was the go to long ago

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » October 28th, 2017, 10:42 pm

The down side is you would be getting less power out than that of the 4 channel.

Note: There are more advantages when running amplifiers at the higher loads. eg. THD, Damping factor and yes heating
Last edited by kavaninho on October 30th, 2017, 10:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 29th, 2017, 6:02 am

what about if he gets 4 ohm speakers

Postby sMASH » October 29th, 2017, 6:33 am

It would match the impedance of the amps, but there are benefits to running a higher resistance load than what the amps can tolerate.

And with the 4 channel, the load would be 700 rms at 4 ohms, while the small could supply up to 1000rms.

So he would not be forcing the amp close to its threshold.

What I don't have experience is, is there a difference or a benefit between running an amp correctly impedance matched but at not maxed out, say at only 600 rms when it could produce 1000 rms, compared to running an amp at its rated output of 1000 rms but only having the load be at 4 ohms when the amp is stable At 2 ohms.

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 29th, 2017, 10:18 am

In any case you'd have to parallel a pair to bring it to four ohms.

And judging by the specs of the amps Shakes posted, the 2000.4 will give 400W more @ 4 ohms (1000w X2)
(vs the 2000.2 which is 600Wx2 @ 4 ohms)

If both amps is around the same price, I say go with the 4 channel because you get MORE POWER, but also you have more flexibility to do individual active processing in the future.

You could run even run an entire small system off one amp if you decide to downsize.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What are the speakers in question doh?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 29th, 2017, 10:58 am

Seeing that op say 350rms per spkr..I'd guess maybe b&c 10md26 or faital 10pr300(yeah I know is 300 rms)..might even be rcf

lethal injection

Postby lethal injection » October 30th, 2017, 7:00 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Seeing that op say 350rms per spkr..I'd guess maybe b&c 10md26 or faital 10pr300(yeah I know is 300 rms)..might even be rcf

Yes I'm thinking about the B&C speakers..

thanks for the responses thus far

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » October 30th, 2017, 9:15 am

4 channel guy - they're usually more budget friendly too.