1ohm vs 4ohm for sub woofer

Postby X_Factor » December 17th, 2017, 8:05 pm

so the sub is rated 750rms dvc2 ohm

at 4 ohm amp does about 600rms
at 1 ohm the amp does about 1500 rms

at 4 ohm gains need to be about 3/4
vs 1ohm which is about 1/3

i know most ppl say to avoid 1ohm amp loads on a daily driver but wrt to headroom and even a clipped signal

which would be better?

racedriverpro

Re: 1ohm vs 4ohm for sub woofer

Postby racedriverpro » December 17th, 2017, 8:11 pm

I would say that depends on how much power the sub requires. If the sub asking for 1000 to perform optimally I would say 1ohm is safe.

Postby Rovin » December 17th, 2017, 9:25 pm

better to have headroom than wanting more & possible clippping

id go 1 ohm & set gain according to rms u want with a dmm

google\use voltage\rms chart & set gain accordingly ....

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » December 18th, 2017, 8:23 am

X_Factor wrote:
at 4 ohm gains need to be about 3/4
vs 1ohm which is about 1/3

Where you got this from?

Postby X_Factor » December 18th, 2017, 8:41 am

to produce the same 'loudness' of the bass

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » December 18th, 2017, 9:31 am

I would do the 1 ohm load and set the voltage gain for the amplifier to output its max power (rms). Use the levels on your deck/processor to attenuate from there. More headroom=more ammunition :)

Sound quality wise higher ohm loads has better damping factor. I would trust that the amplifier is a reputable one such that you wont hear that difference.

Going ported or sealed?

Postby X_Factor » December 18th, 2017, 9:47 am

its ported at 28hz
re SE 10
soundstream rubicon 1500rms mono
crossed at 40/50hz 12db/18db

Postby Rovin » December 18th, 2017, 11:51 am

nice to still see others tuning in d 20s in this day\age where 45-50tuning is d norm ......

Postby X_Factor » December 18th, 2017, 3:29 pm

yeah, what matters is how it sounds inside the car
I Would have gone sealed but the deck's eq is limited to 50-12k
so i cannot boost under 40hz to balance the sealed box limitations of the really low frequencies so ported was the only option to gain lower end spl

Postby sMASH » December 18th, 2017, 3:36 pm

Why decks do dat for, whyyyyy?

Postby X_Factor » December 18th, 2017, 5:08 pm

, i got accustom to touch screen business and i settled for pio 2700 dvd deck
otherwise i would have re used the alpine 9887 and would have no probs

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 19th, 2017, 10:03 am

1 ohm

Once you set your levels appropriately you can limit the amp to max out at 750wrms at full volume
Whereas if you wire at 4ohms you can only hit 600wrms.

Just don't drink and drive...... the sub too hard.
Someone on this forum said rum and gain knob doh mix

Postby sMASH » December 20th, 2017, 7:20 pm

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » December 24th, 2017, 6:42 pm

If I was in that situation,

I'd run it at 1ohm, more power is always a good thing. I doubt you would discern the difference in damping factor. I know I won't be able to.

Postby SR » December 24th, 2017, 10:54 pm

4 ohm.......

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 25th, 2017, 7:15 pm

SR wrote:4 ohm.......

yeah this make sense too lol, the extra 150W won't make that much of a difference on a 750W speaker

so is really up to you boymanboydanboy

Postby SR » December 25th, 2017, 7:56 pm

Running your class d amp at full load for daily playing with stock electrical system can lead to inaudible clipping which can eventually damage the sub as well as the amp. In many cases the cheaper amps when clipping and fhe sub damages the amp will also damage. Those amps do not like power voltages below 12.8v. Do a full load test of your electrical system ie ac and all.lights on with car in a gear (assuming auto) so engine rpm.is down and see what the voltage is after 5 minutes as an indication

SQBOY

Postby SQBOY » February 7th, 2018, 11:01 pm

OP what configuration did u end up using?

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » February 7th, 2018, 11:19 pm

SR wrote:Running your class d amp at full load for daily playing with stock electrical system can lead to inaudible clipping which can eventually damage the sub as well as the amp.

Why will inaudible clipping eventually damage a subwoofer or amplifier?

vct17inch

Postby vct17inch » February 8th, 2018, 3:50 am

Brian Steele wrote:
SR wrote:Running your class d amp at full load for daily playing with stock electrical system can lead to inaudible clipping which can eventually damage the sub as well as the amp.

Why will inaudible clipping eventually damage a subwoofer or amplifier?
Because of the nature of what clipping is. Amplifiers send alternating current to speakers to drive them. These alternating current moves in waves which then translate into motion of the subwoofer. A clean alternating signal would result in smooth woofer movement. Clipping is when the amplifier begins to send direct current to the subwoofer. This direct current heats the speaker's coil and if prolonged will melt/burn the adhesive which holds the coil to the former. Or even burn the insulation off the coil. Both of which results in the infamous subwoofer smoke. Most men out here who burn subwoofers, even the budget subwoofers are clipping the hell out of their subs. And all of them would say "those speakers are sheit..... I have too much power". I sure if u put their amps on an oscilloscope they would have huge square waves. Clipping like mad.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » February 8th, 2018, 7:10 am

vct17inch wrote:Clipping is when the amplifier begins to send direct current to the subwoofer.

Um, no. It's a clipped waveform, which basically consists of a fundamental and odd-order harmonics, not direct current. Most amps have protection circuitry that shuts the amp down if it starts to pass DC anyway (usually caused by one or more of the output transistors failing).

And bad clipping is definitely audible. SR referred to "inaudible clipping".

vct17inch

Postby vct17inch » February 8th, 2018, 9:24 am

Brian Steele wrote:
vct17inch wrote:Clipping is when the amplifier begins to send direct current to the subwoofer.

Um, no. It's a clipped waveform, which basically consists of a fundamental and odd-order harmonics, not direct current. Most amps have protection circuitry that shuts the amp down if it starts to pass DC anyway (usually caused by one or more of the output transistors failing).

And bad clipping is definitely audible. SR referred to "inaudible clipping".
Moving from a sine wave of normal operation to a square wave when clipping; Can't the peaks of the wave when clipping be akin to a momentary DC input?

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » February 8th, 2018, 5:21 pm

vct17inch wrote:Moving from a sine wave of normal operation to a square wave when clipping; Can't the peaks of the wave when clipping be akin to a momentary DC input?

Maybe if the frequency was VERY low. In any case, if a good amp's circuitry was under the impression that it was passing DC, the amp's protection would engage :)