Audio installation on Honda Vezel Hybrid (?)

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 9th, 2018, 11:53 am

This is a fact finding thread for now.

Getting a Vezel, want to do a good audio build.

1. Replace HU (or install a processor on factory HU)
2. Replace 4 Door speakers with good 6.5 components. Morel Maximo's any good?
3. Install a powerful 5 channel (like the DD 1000.5) or two amps (want 1000RMS on sub amp at 1 ohm )
4. Install 3 shallow or small enc 10" subs. I like the ID10, each sub will get 0.5 cuft. Amp will run at 1.33 ohm load, but that's ok.

Anybody did a similar upgrade? Any installers you'd recommend familiar with this platform? Will the stock electrical system cope? Not sure about hybrid and current loads.

Re: Audio installation on Honda Vezel Hybrid (?)

Postby SR » January 10th, 2018, 9:12 pm

Why do you need 1000rms on a sub at at 1 ohm??

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 11th, 2018, 9:34 am

Because I want 3 4 ohm 10's sealed. each 10 is 350w rms.
The load will be ~700-800 rms at 1.33 ohms which is a decent match for 3 x 350RMS subs.

Math correct?

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » January 11th, 2018, 5:37 pm

Looks like a good project.. I would recommend coax for the rears instead so the install would be simpler so the tweeter is down low.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 12th, 2018, 8:55 am

kavaninho wrote:Looks like a good project.. I would recommend coax for the rears instead so the install would be simpler so the tweeter is down low.
Thanks. My last three systems have had coaxials in the rear doors but the fronts always sounded noticeably better. Bear in mind it's not about "gallery". I just like clean music with some oomph just for me. My current system in my truck is decent but lacks the kind of bass I like.

Alpine 149bt
Skar audio comps and coaxials
Jl xd700/5
Rf p3 shallow in a sealed enclosure

These days I generally prefer how subs respond in a sealed enclosure vs ported. Dunno why. In my gallery days all my systems were ported. I think sealed enclosures are more predictable across the frequency range. I'm not an expert, but it could be a placebo

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » January 12th, 2018, 5:41 pm

The reason for putting the coax to the back is such that the soundstage is not pulled to the rear by placing tweeters near to your right ear. (High end vehicles has this and most sounds terrible) Generally people with rearfill in SQ type systems run them at very low amplitude or even low pass them so they are not so easy to localize.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 13th, 2018, 2:53 pm

kavaninho wrote:The reason for putting the coax to the back is such that the soundstage is not pulled to the rear by placing tweeters near to your right ear. (High end vehicles has this and most sounds terrible) Generally people with rearfill in SQ type systems run them at very low amplitude or even low pass them so they are not so easy to localize.

Great point. Didnt think of that at all, lol - but it makes legit sense.

Coax for it then :)

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 13th, 2018, 5:17 pm

Subbd for good sq

Postby Rainman » January 15th, 2018, 11:15 am

Sub'd. Does the hybrid vehicle have a conventional belt driven alternator? Interested on one of those hybrid Xtrails, but I need my boodong boodong as well.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » January 15th, 2018, 5:16 pm

^ Not sure about your xtrail but I'm pretty sure the electric motor is doing the regenerating.

Postby X_Factor » January 15th, 2018, 10:45 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
kavaninho wrote:Looks like a good project.. I would recommend coax for the rears instead so the install would be simpler so the tweeter is down low.
Thanks. My last three systems have had coaxials in the rear doors but the fronts always sounded noticeably better. Bear in mind it's not about "gallery". I just like clean music with some oomph just for me. My current system in my truck is decent but lacks the kind of bass I like.

Alpine 149bt
Skar audio comps and coaxials
Jl xd700/5
Rf p3 shallow in a sealed enclosure

These days I generally prefer how subs respond in a sealed enclosure vs ported. Dunno why. In my gallery days all my systems were ported. I think sealed enclosures are more predictable across the frequency range. I'm not an expert, but it could be a placebo

Whilst sealed does have better dynamic response, accuracy etc...if you dont have enough flexibility on what processor you plan to use to boost under 35hz region, sealed will lack the low end punch over a low tuned ported (under 30hz)
you could consider using a pair of 10's ported around 28hz to compensate

Postby Ted_v2 » February 12th, 2018, 9:09 am

those ID10 are lovely sealed, ran 4 on 600rms off one of those directed 5 channels. Real smooth.

mcj12831

Postby mcj12831 » March 7th, 2018, 10:15 am

Can anyone recommend an audio installation person that has dealt with these hybrids ?

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » March 7th, 2018, 5:59 pm

mcj12831 wrote:Can anyone recommend an audio installation person that has dealt with these hybrids ?

They are not much different from regular vehicles when adding aftermarket sound. Any competent installer should be able to assist you.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 7th, 2018, 8:12 pm

spoke with a couple installers.

Looking at some options.

Some notes:
Not a lot of space under front seats (odd shapes)
Not a lot of space under rear magic seat. (we'll see if something can work here, maybe narrow amps)
Trunk has limited usable usable space, battery pack takes up where traditional spare wheel is.

Plan has evolved because common sense kicking in.

Updates to follow, but the gist is two 10" sealed, avg 0.8 cuft ea.
Comps front
Coaxs rear
either one decent 5 channel with 500-700rms on sub, or a pair of smaller footprint amps (4 channel and mono)

Head Unit to be determined.
Thinking about a line driver purely because I've never had one, and in my head a high signal and low gains on the amps would mean less risk of clip/distortion/noise when I want to turn up.

I've spoken to a couple vendors and some want to sell me the highest line everything (fuckno). Some actually listen to what I want and are making great suggestions/feedback.

I'll be going with my gut (and crowdsourced feedback) on that.

I also like to buy all my gear in the same place, in the hope that I can get a package deal as well as some sort of warranty/guarantee on the work. This narrows down the options somewhat, but I've narrowed it down to about three or four installers/shops.

I'll update when I get some numbers from a couple of 'em.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » May 8th, 2018, 1:04 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:spoke with a couple installers.

Looking at some options.

Some notes:
Not a lot of space under rear magic seat. (we'll see if something can work here, maybe narrow amps)
Trunk has limited usable usable space, battery pack takes up where traditional spare wheel is.

Comps front
Coaxs rear
either one decent 5 channel with 500-700rms on sub, or a pair of smaller footprint amps (4 channel and mono)

Thinking about a line driver purely because I've never had one, and in my head a high signal and low gains on the amps would mean less risk of clip/distortion/noise when I want to turn up.

I've spoken to a couple vendors and some want to sell me the highest line everything (fuckno). Some actually listen to what I want and are making great suggestions/feedback.

I also like to buy all my gear in the same place, in the hope that I can get a package deal as well as some sort of warranty/guarantee on the work. This narrows down the options somewhat, but I've narrowed it down to about three or four installers/shops.

What wrong with this angry dog ? Apart from saving a few dollars I would think to install the best money can buy and do a good job one time instead of wanting to upgrade soon. My 4 channel amp is RF power series instead of the punch.Do it proper and done, budget permitting of course.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 8th, 2018, 3:27 pm

randolphinshan wrote:

Looking at some options.

Some notes:

Comps front
Coaxs rear

What wrong with this angry dog ? Apart from saving a few dollars I would think to install the best money can buy and do a good job one time instead of wanting to upgrade soon. My 4 channel amp is RF power series instead of the punch.Do it proper and done, budget permitting of course.

Cost/Benefit.
Do I need audiophile grade equipment, such as a $10k amp, $4K subs and $8K dsp?
Nope.
I'm not buying absolute garbage like pyramid, but there is a reasonable limit to the quality I want and am willing to spend. If the seller can't wrap their heads around that, hard luck.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 8th, 2018, 9:27 pm

Looking at some options.

Some notes:

Comps front
Coaxs rear

Id subs! I managed to get a demo of a single 10 sealed... Didn't know they played that well tbh

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 17th, 2018, 4:00 pm

No major updates yet.
I have the budget, I just haven't found an installer that I can mesh with.
For me that's important.

My issue is that I want to buy all my equipment in the same place that's gonna do the installation. It's either the shops have their own agenda and refuse to acknowledge what I want; or some of them try to bamboozle me as if I don't know anything at all about car audio. That's a HUGE turnoff for me.
I'm not an idiot, and if you tell me that there's only one amp in the world that can work in my car - well you're a special kind of BUGWAAANAAA, no matter how talented you are with installations.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » June 17th, 2018, 9:19 pm

https://www.facebook.com/KRENTech/

Check it out if you like

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 18th, 2018, 8:55 am

I'll send you a message on FB!

Postby SR » June 20th, 2018, 9:02 pm

New install garage and product lines will be available soon

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 20th, 2018, 9:28 pm

kavaninho wrote:https://www.facebook.com/KRENTech/

Check it out if you like

I must give you credit for being the fastest to respond with most professional quote I've had to date.
waiting on a couple other shops / brands for comparison and I'll holla soon.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 20th, 2018, 9:29 pm

SR wrote:New install garage and product lines will be available soon

any previews? :)
I remember getting some gear from you a few years ago.
A LONG LONG LONG TIME AGO actually.

Postby SR » June 21st, 2018, 10:12 am

Na not tipping my hat both will be sq related one will be more high end than the other one will be geared towards the everyday person with good quality the other more towards the audiphile. Both can be used in competition however i will not be building any competition vehicles for anyone

Postby nervewrecker » June 21st, 2018, 3:17 pm

Audiofrog oh wah?

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » June 23rd, 2018, 7:35 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
kavaninho wrote:https://www.facebook.com/KRENTech/

Check it out if you like

I must give you credit for being the fastest to respond with most professional quote I've had to date.
waiting on a couple other shops / brands for comparison and I'll holla soon.

great, thanks :D

Postby SR » June 23rd, 2018, 6:55 pm

Na frogs too pricey to keep in stock for this market

Postby nervewrecker » June 23rd, 2018, 8:53 pm

:(

I'd really like to demo a set if anyone has..

Postby SR » June 25th, 2018, 10:41 am

Great speakers nice versatility for installation in american cars and they have thier own pro audio line as well.....as in pa pubs and clubs not gallary