Question car audio frequency

vasquez

Question car audio frequency

Postby vasquez » January 14th, 2018, 10:12 am

Good day not sure about this but which is better for a bass amp/mono block a frequency response of 20hz -350hz or 15hz -270hz or 8hz -180hz
Thanks in advance for any info trying to find out which should have me a better control of subs thanks again

Re: Question car audio frequency

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 14th, 2018, 9:19 pm

You wont be able to hear anything lower than 20Hz. Even if your sub/sub box can play it.

So look at the higher frequency, The highest frequency a sub should play is around 80Hz.
Some headroom is okay, but 350Hz is overkill. That's midbass territory.

All three sound like good candidates doh. Maybe we need to judge their other parameters

What are the three amps in question?

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » January 14th, 2018, 9:32 pm

Manufacturers throw in their bandwidth on the specifications sheets very loosely and expect us to take it. How is it measured? -1dB?-3dB? -10dB?

Sub duty is usually around 20hz-80hz

Postby nervewrecker » January 15th, 2018, 12:07 am

As said before, sub duty is about 20hz to about 80hz.

I'd be more concerned about the filters / slopes.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » January 15th, 2018, 11:09 am

Depends on your enclosure, fs, cone area, driver displacement etc etc.. some subs have fs around 12-16.. depends on how you like your bass too.. if you like that subsonic bass then go for 8-180 also you can also function within 20-80 hz so you have more options with the 8-180.

Postby nervewrecker » January 15th, 2018, 9:09 pm

Zetski wrote:Depends on your enclosure, fs, cone area, driver displacement etc etc.. some subs have fs around 12-16.. depends on how you like your bass too.. if you like that subsonic bass then go for 8-180 also you can also function within 20-80 hz so you have more options with the 8-180.

What subs are those?

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 15th, 2018, 11:48 pm

Zetski wrote:Depends on your enclosure, fs, cone area, driver displacement etc etc.. some subs have fs around 12-16.. depends on how you like your bass too.. if you like that subsonic bass then go for 8-180 also you can also function within 20-80 hz so you have more options with the 8-180.

What subs are those?

Hadda be a really big sub with a heavy cone
You got me thinking there , remembered the rediculous MTX jackhammer.

It had an Fs of 20Hz with 1.6kg of moving mass and a 24 inch cone
http://2004.mtxaudio.eu/IMG/pdf/OM-JackHammer24.pdf

Zetski

Postby Zetski » January 16th, 2018, 3:58 am

What subs are those?

I forget the name of it.. it think it discontinued a long time now but it was an 18" that did around 15-16

Postby Rovin » January 16th, 2018, 11:12 am

when u ask about "a better control of subs" , technically u shud be looking at d dampening factor of an amp - google it

also alot of sub amps companies will rate their stuff as "20-300hz" etc but does that really tell how it sounds in real life ... will a boss\power acoustik against a good ole skool rockford or jl amp sound similar even though its bandwidth might be similar ? - hell no

some amps do not sound as equal across their rated bandwidth , some do poorly under 50hz , some can actually make d roll off appear to sound 5-10hz lower than what d enclosure is actually tuned to

choose reputable brands ...