Speaker adapter

Galvatron

Speaker adapter

Postby Galvatron » January 16th, 2018, 9:54 am

Are there speaker adapters used to install four hole speakers in a three hole space?

ie the stock speakers were three hole....I don't want to drill any holes in the back dash.

Re: Speaker adapter

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 16th, 2018, 10:03 am

Use a wood ring. Screw that down to the dash, then screw in the speaker to the wooden ring.
Idk if you'll be able to reuse the factory grille if it's too tall so you'll have to use an aftermarket grille now. (make sure you put some sort of cloth over it to protect the speaker from sun damage too)
Make sure the ring is thick enough to properly hold down a screw for the speaker too, don't want it flying out if you get in an accident.

The most secure option is drilling 3 more holes and securing metal to metal doh. (reuse a hole)
Drilling holes won't compromise the rigidity if that's what you're wondering. If anything the speaker frame would actually help to brace that gaping 6 inch hole now

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » January 16th, 2018, 10:30 am

I prefer to buy an adapter than get one made....and I would rather not drill any holes (it's a classic car)

I just need someone to provide a link on what exactly i need to buy.

I am seeing adapters online....but not sure if they will work. Hoping someone has experience using them.

Postby Rovin » January 16th, 2018, 11:19 am

not all speaker holes are spaced exactly so even if u find a adapter online to buy & bring in , d speaker holes may not line up perfectly

if u do not want to use wood\mdf , buy a thick cutting board or some sign making stores have a 1\2" thick pvc sheet & get somebody with a router to perfectly cut some circles & u can drill d speaker screw holes exactly where it needs to be ....

Postby SR » January 16th, 2018, 8:44 pm

What vehicle model and year?

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » January 17th, 2018, 1:19 am

1977 Austin mini

Postby skylinechild » January 17th, 2018, 12:27 pm

Galvatron wrote:1977 Austin mini

which model mini....?? 850 / 1300 / 1300GT ??

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » January 17th, 2018, 1:45 pm

It's a 1275....there aren't any 1300 minis

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 17th, 2018, 10:50 pm

Postby X_Factor » January 18th, 2018, 9:29 pm

you could have one 3d printed

Postby skylinechild » January 20th, 2018, 2:45 pm

Galvatron wrote:It's a 1275....there aren't any 1300 minis

ummm u on crack bruh...???

thats a 1300 mini...the GT version is like slightly faster and it carries a 1275 CC engine.
by that analogy lets call a SR20 1999CC and a Qg18 as 1769 cc or 1803cc. :lol: :lol:

i can see why u would cal it a 1275 thou... :lol: :lol:

the non gt version carries a (slightly) lesser output power from the engine

link >>> https://www.uniquecarsandparts.com.au/s ... 300_gt.php

but i digress....

Postby rollingstock » January 20th, 2018, 7:44 pm

Drill new mounting holes on the speaker frame to line up with the original dash 3 holes mounting points.

Postby X_Factor » January 20th, 2018, 7:45 pm

^ good idea

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » January 22nd, 2018, 11:57 am

skylinechild wrote:

thats a 1300 mini...the GT version is like slightly faster and it carries a 1275 CC engine.
by that analogy lets call a SR20 1999CC and a Qg18 as 1769 cc or 1803cc. :lol: :lol:

but i digress....

That's not a Mini fellah

Postby skylinechild » January 22nd, 2018, 3:42 pm

Galvatron wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

but i digress....

That's not a Mini fellah

*sigh... nevermind...

anyway you GT with ur speaker issue ir should i do digging in meh cupboard for u...may hav something for u

EDIT - i checked the crap of old stuff we hav.... no speaker / speaker housing.

Postby Rovin » January 22nd, 2018, 9:05 pm