6th order bandpass...

gladboy

6th order bandpass...

Postby gladboy » February 3rd, 2018, 11:01 am

Good day, i was wondering if anyone on this forum have tried a single 12 6th order bandpass, I was thinking of trying ah ting with a Orion hcca 12...

Re: 6th order bandpass...

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 3rd, 2018, 3:00 pm

just curious - what are you hoping to accomplish from this build?
6th order is ported front and back, so it's a pretty huge enc. You'd get less thump than two drivers for the same space requirements.

gladboy

Postby gladboy » February 3rd, 2018, 5:21 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:just curious - what are you hoping to accomplish from this build?
6th order is ported front and back, so it's a pretty huge enc. You'd get less thump than two drivers for the same space requirements.

Ah hear what you are saying bro but i already have the driver and i was just thinking about trying something different, that's if it makes any sense... thanks for sharing your thoughts...

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » February 3rd, 2018, 6:07 pm

My suggestion would be no, don't go with a 6th order BP for that driver. The vents will have to be pretty large to avoid compression effects at higher output levels, and large vents will basically screw up the response at higher bass frequencies.

If you want to try something different, look into offset-driver mass-loaded transmission line designs. I've got two examples under my Projects page on my website.

gladboy

Postby gladboy » February 3rd, 2018, 7:38 pm

Thank you sir I will look into it...

Zetski

Postby Zetski » February 3rd, 2018, 8:07 pm

Orrr yuh could try it with ah 8th order...

gladboy

Postby gladboy » February 3rd, 2018, 10:50 pm

Zetski wrote:Orrr yuh could try it with ah 8th order...

I believe an 8th order is the same as a 6th order but it has a port in the baffle...

Zetski

Postby Zetski » February 4th, 2018, 12:10 am

"8th order is the same as a 6th order" :lol: :lol:

Listen to Brian and check out some of his offset-driver mass-loaded transmission line designs..

gladboy

Postby gladboy » February 4th, 2018, 12:25 am

Zetski wrote:"8th order is the same as a 6th order" :lol: :lol:

Listen to Brian and check out some of his offset-driver mass-loaded transmission line designs..

Yes I'm looking into it, have to do some calculations...

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 5th, 2018, 9:43 am

Zetski wrote:"8th order is the same as a 6th order" :lol: :lol:

gladboy wrote: but it has a port in the baffle...

cherry picking the man words to make fun of him yes :lol: :lol:

Postby Rainman » February 5th, 2018, 5:15 pm

Hey man, I thought you were terminally ill.

gladboy

Postby gladboy » February 5th, 2018, 9:44 pm

Rainman wrote:Hey man, I thought you were terminally ill.

Yea bro 9 months to go :lol:

Postby Rainman » February 6th, 2018, 5:54 am

lolol

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 6th, 2018, 10:27 am

Brian Steele wrote:My suggestion would be no, don't go with a 6th order BP for that driver. The vents will have to be pretty large to avoid compression effects at higher output levels, and large vents will basically screw up the response at higher bass frequencies.

If you want to try something different, look into offset-driver mass-loaded transmission line designs. I've got two examples under my Projects page on my website.

How come larger vents screw up the response at higher frequencies?

==============================================================================

I just modeled the hcca 122 in Winisd there, Wasn't getting any good responses with 4th/6th order boxes. You're better off using the recommended ported enclosure (1.5cuft @40Hz) or the one winisd recommends (1.3cuft @29Hz) (which is smaller and digs wayyyyy deeper)

They really engineered this sub good boy

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » February 6th, 2018, 8:41 pm

How come larger vents screw up the response at higher frequencies?

Vent "pipe resonance" gets down to midbass frequencies and introduces a big null where you don't expect to see one when you're using a "iumped-mass" modelling tool to sim your enclosure. You can see these effects if you use something like Hornresp to sim it.

A great example of this is those badly-designed transmission line enclosures you see people using from time to time, where the the "line" is a constant cross-section from start to end and the driver is placed all the way to one end of the line. Basically one big vent with the driver at one end and the exit for the vent at the other. That's absolutely the worst way to make a transmission line enclosure.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » February 6th, 2018, 8:44 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:or the one winisd recommends (1.3cuft @29Hz) (which is smaller and digs wayyyyy deeper)

You're going to have a lot of fun trying to shoe-horn a vent into that small box that's long enough to hit an Fb of 29 Hz but large enough to reduce gross compression effects at higher volumes.

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » February 7th, 2018, 10:40 am

Brian Steele wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:or the one winisd recommends (1.3cuft @29Hz) (which is smaller and digs wayyyyy deeper)

You're going to have a lot of fun trying to shoe-horn a vent into that small box that's long enough to hit an Fb of 29 Hz but large enough to reduce gross compression effects at higher volumes.

Port it down the middle of the car, two birds, one stone... Arm-rest AND lows = win/win situation. :lol:

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 7th, 2018, 2:12 pm

Brian Steele wrote:

oh flick, forgot this sub moves a lot of air too :oops:

Would it be a good idea to use a lot of folding with rounded corners then?
Design the port then just slap on a chamber of the desired volume after?

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » February 7th, 2018, 10:59 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Would it be a good idea to use a lot of folding with rounded corners then?
Design the port then just slap on a chamber of the desired volume after?

Another thing with long vents is that Fb can end up being lower than the builder expected it to be. How many box builders you know actually tested their build to see if they hit the Fb that they were targetting?

Instead of going with a vented box box for this driver, I'd be looking at a design that offers a larger vent exit CSA, like an OD-MLTL or maybe something with a bow-tie / nozzle vent. A tool like Hornresp will be needed to design it.

gladboy

Postby gladboy » February 8th, 2018, 9:58 am

Guys is there any one here with experience using this driver...

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » February 8th, 2018, 1:26 pm

gladboy wrote:Guys is there any one here with experience using this driver...

here.