do i need resistors or condensers

dominick1669

do i need resistors or condensers

Postby dominick1669 » February 27th, 2018, 9:00 am

i doing a system ,my processing consist of a taramp dtx 2.4s a matts preamp head unit is a pioneer 80prs and amp is a rockford p600.4. i will be running a pair of rcf 8'' with a pair of n450 drivers would i need to put condensers or resistors on the drivers

Re: do i need resistors or condensers

Postby Rovin » February 27th, 2018, 10:29 am

preamp & crossover with a 80prs - ooookkkk then ...... :|

Zetski

Postby Zetski » February 27th, 2018, 11:28 am

80prs is more than enough processing for one amp :lol: :lol: ... Preamps is for low end head units that have weak rca signals.. last time I check 80prs have enough EQ and rf amps have built in crossover so just run the RCA from head unit to amp and you good to go.

Use resistors for the drivers.

Postby skylinechild » February 27th, 2018, 12:10 pm

dominick1669 wrote:i doing a system ,my processing consist of a taramp dtx 2.4s a matts preamp head unit is a pioneer 80prs and amp is a rockford p600.4. i will be running a pair of rcf 8'' with a pair of n450 drivers would i need to put condensers or resistors on the drivers

Rovin's Audio wrote:preamp & crossover with a 80prs - ooookkkk then ...... :|

rovin ..low the man nuh... the man probably dunno.

OP you dont need a preamp or cross over.

read the manual thoroughly - set switch to 3 way network mode...wire everything up and make your adjustments accordingly.

Postby nervewrecker » February 27th, 2018, 5:42 pm

Bai, watch meh, pre amp and crossover to the worl. Add about 4 more preamp if you can.

Who advised you btw? So we will know not to send people there...

Postby Rovin » February 27th, 2018, 6:20 pm

i remember a few yrs back had a pic of 2 pwm20 used with a 80prs ...

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » February 27th, 2018, 8:02 pm

OP read your 80prs manual please.

Rovin's Audio wrote:i remember a few yrs back had a pic of 2 pwm20 used with a 80prs ...

I saw at least 3 "deck boxes" that has more volume than my sub box :lol: stacked pwm20 ftw

dominick1669

Postby dominick1669 » February 28th, 2018, 7:35 am

ok thanks just resistors ... no condenders and is 3 amps in total a 1000.1 a 800.4 and a 600.4 all rockford

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 28th, 2018, 11:16 am

According to RCF the minimum crossover frequency is 1khz

So put a 20uf capacitor (aka condenser) in series with it.

(if you set your amp/crossover correctly you don't need resistors or capacitors, but it's good for safety incase the amp fails and sends a large spike to the driver)

And yeah, forget about the preamp. That deck and those amps have all the control you need. You just wasting money. Keep it simple and you will have less headaches.

dominick1669

Postby dominick1669 » February 28th, 2018, 1:27 pm

kk thanks for the input....

Postby nervewrecker » February 28th, 2018, 9:33 pm

dominick1669 wrote:ok thanks just resistors ... no condenders and is 3 amps in total a 1000.1 a 800.4 and a 600.4 all rockford

did you read and understand what we wrote?

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 28th, 2018, 11:29 pm

yuh go kill a man for hitting the key next to "s" boy? :lol:

Zetski

Postby Zetski » March 1st, 2018, 12:19 am

dominick1669 wrote:ok thanks just resistors ... no condenders and is 3 amps in total a 1000.1 a 800.4 and a 600.4 all rockford

Oh gyad OP! :shock: rf eh cheap yuh know........Godspeed with your system 8-)

Postby sMASH » March 1st, 2018, 6:41 am

Rovin's Audio wrote:i remember a few yrs back had a pic of 2 pwm20 used with a 80prs ...
Wtaf!

Postby Rovin » March 1st, 2018, 11:13 am

there are ppl who buy a 3rca out deck because according to them it does give a clean signal yet they still using a preamp or 2 on it

a customer tell me he does use a clarion pre on his driverack , he said its just so that he cud turn d vol control faster than on d deck

to me all pio decks have a ATT feature that cuts d vol level down to 1\2 & if ur remote doesnt have it u can use a remote from another pio deck it will work ...

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 1st, 2018, 8:55 pm

Men using preamp when they have a driverack yes.

Meanwhile all I have is a bass and treble knob so I have to re-master my songs to suit my system specifically.

When men have money to throw at a problem they can't solve that problem efficiently.

Postby sMASH » March 2nd, 2018, 10:02 am

They don't understand the problem and don't understand the equipment so don't understand their solutions.

Postby Rovin » March 2nd, 2018, 11:56 am

indeed

is like ppl who keep buying different subs , they just throw it in a box they have laying around or get\buy\copy from somebody that hear it sounding good in their car & expect d same sound from theirs

or they build a "standard" 2cuft with whatever tuning for a 1 12 & expect whatever sub they throw in it to sound good , when it dont they get rid of it & buy a next brand

sometimes they dont even set d ssf or lpf filters in their system properly or allow whatever sub to break in good

ppl do same with decks , preamps , crossovers , processors , amps etc ...

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 2nd, 2018, 12:09 pm

It's relatively easy to install music so people who don't understand the basics do it
It's basically legos at this point.

The hardest part is choosing the right equipment, so they just go off of recommendations. The second hardest part is tuning, so they turn knob till ting start to sound 'good'.