Sub choice advice-Limited parameters

brakefluid

Sub choice advice-Limited parameters

Postby brakefluid » February 28th, 2018, 7:53 am

Hi all.
I need help on choosing a pair of subs but i have some parameters.

Summary:
A pair of D4 10s 500rms min to work in an enclosure max internal 2.2 cube, 37.5hz and <7" mounting depth.

Details
1. It must be a pair.

2. It would be nice to be D4

3. Max mounting depth is a fraction less than 7 inches. I could put a riser to compensate a bit.

4. Max diameter is 10 inches....not even 11 inches.

5. Enclosure total internal size is approx 2.2 cubic. Port displacement will account for .09 cube. Sub displacement is still unknown but both port and sub displacement would have to be deducted from the 2.2 cube. The enclosure could be increased slightly to possibly 2.5 cube but as a last resort. I dont mind a very slight sub underperformance in the existing 2.2 cube space

6. Tuned for approx 37.5hz using a pair of 3" pvc ports.

7. Has no cabin build. Subs are going in a pickup.

I have heard the Sundown Sa-8s (approx 600rms@ $1500) and they are very impressive so i can imagine how the SA 10s would sound. $ is not a problem but they seem a tad bit overpriced to the other options.

i have heard the 10" db drive wdx (approx >600rms @ $900) which is equally impressive.

The massive gtx 10s ($650 @ >700rms) seems like a good choice but i just heard them in a store and did not sound impressive maybe because of lack of power but i dunno. I would like to hear them in full bloom.

The following is NOT the point of discussion whether true or false: I am not at all interested in skar (had the sd line and the rms rating was not true and very disappointing), image dynamics ( had the id line and rms is not much but true and just way overpriced per rms rating), or pioneer (had them works great but needs cabin build to really sound good in my application).
Of course many of the arguments are the build of my enclosure, the power and who did what so instead id just like a demo of the product to replace arguements lol but still not the focus

Re: Sub choice advice-Limited parameters

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 28th, 2018, 11:00 am

Sundown E10 V.3 . 500W . $1000 by kaizen
(lower line than the SA)

recommended ported box
1cuft @32Hz (each, so just multiply the volume by two)

2cuft (ideally) plus it will play from 32Hz up, covering your target frequency of 37.5Hz
Inna gear

http://www.sundownaudio.com/index.php/p ... ev3-series

Postby X_Factor » February 28th, 2018, 1:36 pm

re se series would also be pretty decent

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » February 28th, 2018, 5:18 pm

I'll recommend the sundown E as well for that volume you have available

Zetski

Postby Zetski » March 2nd, 2018, 10:44 pm

I think yuh will love an xtr 10 :D

Postby nervewrecker » March 3rd, 2018, 9:40 pm

I could give a demo of mine if you from south despite the fact that last person I gave a demo to talk a set of crap after. He was one of them "I just turn a set of knob until thing sounding good" type so you know the kinda intelligence one dealing with.