DIY powered sub? or Budget options

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 14th, 2018, 12:49 pm

Wife wants a little bass in le corolla.
Not gonna do a whole system, was thinking adding a powered sub in the trunk.

Then it got me thinking - can a better quality powered sub be built DIY using various components (eg micro amp, converter, half-decent sub) and what would it cost vs a proper powered sub?

I'm looking at something close to the RF-P300-12 rather than the underseat options. Can prob tap a signal from the rear speakers to convert to sub out.

First of all, where sells good quality powered subs locally?
If I can score the RF P300-12 or similar for a good price I'd prob go that route.

kavaninho

Re: DIY powered sub? or Budget options

Postby kavaninho » June 16th, 2018, 8:21 am

Powered subs and the regular sub/amp combo would be the same amount of work and wiring needed. There are alot of micro amplifiers that accept high level input and can be hidden away anywhere and the sub box will therefore be smaller.

Postby Rovin » June 16th, 2018, 11:23 am

just 10 mins ago i explained this to someone in my store ^^^ , u still have to wire it up & go thru d install process

it may cost a lil less for a small self powered sub but i sure it will not sound as good or have u wanting more as something properly well designed & executed ...

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » June 16th, 2018, 1:06 pm

Powered sub = all eggs in one basket.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » June 16th, 2018, 2:46 pm

a powered sub is no different to a guy with his amp mounted behind his sub box

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 16th, 2018, 2:54 pm

Op it have alot of micro amps out there doing 400-600rms... Pair that with the average joe champion series in a lil sealed box and you get a Decent lil knock

Postby nervewrecker » June 16th, 2018, 2:57 pm

Jbl msa 5001 and a good 12.
If the wife eh complain you eh do it right

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » June 16th, 2018, 8:16 pm

nervewrecker wrote:If the wife eh complain you eh do it right

Yup, isn't that always the case? :)

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 16th, 2018, 8:20 pm

Thanks dudes, it's not my kinda vibe, but it's ideal for her purpose.

keeping most of the usable trunkspace, not touching the factory stuff (aside from a high-level tap), the only addition is a fused power cable.

Given the feedback, the buy option might be better; but I'll not rule out a build since I can probably score better quality stuff and a good enc builder to incorporate the design.

This system will not be stressed at all She just wants a little more bass than factory for when she on the road.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 16th, 2018, 10:14 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Thanks dudes, it's not my kinda vibe, but it's ideal for her purpose.

keeping most of the usable trunkspace, not touching the factory stuff (aside from a high-level tap), the only addition is a fused power cable.

Given the feedback, the buy option might be better; but I'll not rule out a build since I can probably score better quality stuff and a good enc builder to incorporate the design.

This system will not be stressed at all She just wants a little more bass than factory for when she on the road.

Total budget? Maybe we can get you closer to the finale

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 16th, 2018, 11:47 pm

For her purposes buy, don't diy

But if you like a challenge, a flat 10" or a good 8" in a slim wedge box on the back of the back seat. Pair that with a nano amp and you'll have a system you'll be proud of.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » June 17th, 2018, 8:42 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:For her purposes buy, don't diy

But if you like a challenge, a flat 10" or a good 8" in a slim wedge box on the back of the back seat. Pair that with a nano amp and you'll have a system you'll be proud of.

Agreed

Postby Ted_v2 » June 17th, 2018, 9:28 am

Get a amp with a manual remote for the bass, thats key with doing these type of systems, hi level inputs would be fine, stock speakers with a bit of mat sounds good also.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 17th, 2018, 3:03 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Thanks dudes, it's not my kinda vibe, but it's ideal for her purpose.

Total budget? Maybe we can get you closer to the finale

1700 seems to be an average for a powered sub, so I'll start there. prolly no more than 2k.

I see there's the stetsom iron/vision monoblocks for cheap. 800 or so.
A decentish sub can be had for 500.
Given the fact that it's a small enc, I say 300 for the box and then a couple hundred for wires.

Installation separate.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 17th, 2018, 3:04 pm

When I say DIY, I meant buy the components and carry it to a good installer, lol.
I stop digging up around with installations since 2006

Postby gastly369 » June 17th, 2018, 4:20 pm

Trunk space..gotcha
CT sounds messo 6.5
Skar evl 6.5
DD 506 6.5
Ds18 elite z6 6.5

Postby nervewrecker » June 17th, 2018, 4:23 pm

Highlevel input amp makes things easy..
The msa5001 is my vote for ease of install. I have no remote wire on mine self.
Just splice, connect to provided rca and bam. Just hook up a power and ground now. Install like angela hunt song, done. When yuh see me in de street, install done! Install install done.

Postby nervewrecker » June 17th, 2018, 4:24 pm

Oh, and it has rips

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 17th, 2018, 4:35 pm

Ooooh gonna check that out. Thanks nerve.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » June 17th, 2018, 5:53 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Wife wants a little bass in le corolla.
Not gonna do a whole system, was thinking adding a powered sub in the trunk.

Then it got me thinking - can a better quality powered sub be built DIY using various components (eg micro amp, converter, half-decent sub) and what would it cost vs a proper powered sub?

I'm looking at something close to the RF-P300-12 rather than the underseat options. Can prob tap a signal from the rear speakers to convert to sub out.

First of all, where sells good quality powered subs locally?
If I can score the RF P300-12 or similar for a good price I'd prob go that route.
Not sure if I missed where it was mentioned, but what year and model corolla do you have?

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 17th, 2018, 6:34 pm

2014 model year

Postby nervewrecker » June 18th, 2018, 12:00 am

Pashaww! And I am a very small person. The apline pdx5 is bigger.
Paid $150.00 usd for itImage

Postby black start » June 18th, 2018, 12:21 am

gastly369 wrote:Trunk space..gotcha
CT sounds messo 6.5
Skar evl 6.5
DD 506 6.5
Ds18 elite z6 6.5
The dd 506 is nice

In my legacy wagon, I had the 508 in factory recommended enclosure paired with a rf mini pbr 300.1 that was installed under the driver seat.

Sounded great and didnt not really take up much space. Probably 2 sq ft footprint. The 506 enclosure (dimensions available on dd's site) is even smaller.

The rf mini also has high level inputs if you could get one

Postby nervewrecker » June 18th, 2018, 5:48 am

Did I mention the msa 5001 has digital xovers? -12 and -24 db low pass and subsonic? And in very small increments. Also output level and gain iirc. So long I havent played with it.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 18th, 2018, 8:49 am

nervewrecker wrote:Did I mention the msa 5001 has digital xovers? -12 and -24 db low pass and subsonic? And in very small increments. Also output level and gain iirc. So long I havent played with it.

Selling or wah?

Postby nervewrecker » June 18th, 2018, 10:05 am

Nah, lookong to throw it in the new truck and throw the pdx in the car. Weight is an issue for the car

Postby nervewrecker » June 18th, 2018, 10:06 am

$179.95 on amazon right now. Buy and dont look back

Postby gastly369 » June 18th, 2018, 1:29 pm

nervewrecker wrote:$179.95 on amazon right now. Buy and dont look back
Guess what
IMG_20180618_110344.jpg

Postby rollingstock » June 18th, 2018, 3:09 pm

I have just the thing for you sub wise.
Brand new Image Dynamics idq8 dual 2. In factory recommended enclosure. Pretty small enclosure. Decided to go a totally different direction with my build.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 18th, 2018, 3:40 pm

rollingstock wrote:I have just the thing for you sub wise.
Brand new Image Dynamics idq8 dual 2. In factory recommended enclosure. Pretty small enclosure. Decided to go a totally different direction with my build.

price/box size?