Jl tw3 12 or sundown SD3 12 for shallow box SQ?

altec

Postby altec » June 19th, 2018, 11:36 am

I came down to either the Jl tw3 12 or sundown SD3 12 for shallow box SQ to fit in spare wheel. Who has either of these? What is your view of their sound in terms of sound quality and comparative volume per watt? The only JL I have heard is a jl 10w6v2 so how do they compare to this sub?

Re: Jl tw3 12 or sundown SD3 12 for shallow box SQ?

Postby nervewrecker » June 21st, 2018, 5:14 pm

Wont believe just today I was looking at the JL subs as opposed to the Image dynamics, depth is an issue. But no demo vehicle anywhere.

Carfreak and crew proved what the image dynamics subs can do. They are tried tested and proven ultra low freq drivers that can double as street beaters. Wuck an idmax till suspension buckle.

Do retailers still have demo vehicles? and I dont mean box on hood one note wonders

Postby Rovin » June 21st, 2018, 7:24 pm

never used\owned either but a lil piece of general advice - b4 buying any sub no matter what brand : model it on a box building program , u will be surprised at what u think it shud\can\cannot do & d size of enclosure & tuning u think it needs vs reality

save urself plenty $$$ & a TON of frustration ......

Postby nervewrecker » June 21st, 2018, 9:06 pm

Most manufacturers keep ts parameters hidden it seems. Not available online.

Some reputable ones like dd and kicker provide some decent spec boxes.

I demoed stuff in your car and your shop. Called a person that advertised these subs today and nothing of that sort. Person seems to not know anything about it either. She seems to feel that is just buy thing, advertise and it go sell. Have to know about what you selling in order to sell it.
I sure you know about every piece of equipment you have.

Postby X_Factor » June 23rd, 2018, 10:40 am

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » June 23rd, 2018, 11:48 am

nervewrecker wrote:Wont believe just today I was looking at the JL subs as opposed to the Image dynamics, depth is an issue. But no demo vehicle anywhere.

Carfreak and crew proved what the image dynamics subs can do. They are tried tested and proven ultra low freq drivers that can double as street beaters. Wuck an idmax till suspension buckle.

Do retailers still have demo vehicles? and I dont mean box on hood one note wonders
Have a padna that's selling a 10w6v3 in box ...u can also get a demo.. 3863362

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 23rd, 2018, 1:29 pm

Op ive been hearing nothing but good reviews about the T1 slim Rockfords but they are dam near impossible to get locally and they are price af... I want to get a pair soo bad

Postby nervewrecker » June 23rd, 2018, 8:55 pm

I take local reviews with a pinch of salt..
What sounds good to most sound like garbage to me. Not doubting its capabilities though eh. I used Rockford already and was very pleased..

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 24th, 2018, 1:08 am

nervewrecker wrote:I take local reviews with a pinch of salt..
What sounds good to most sound like garbage to me. Not doubting its capabilities though eh. I used Rockford already and was very pleased..

same experience, daz like kicker, have men give up on the subs and bash them.. yet honestly I've had nothing but successful and accurate bass when i used them..

Back on track tho, OP the sound of a image dynamics IDv3 in 1cuft sealed box is hella accurate and smooth. You could consider that also

Postby X_Factor » June 24th, 2018, 3:57 pm

^^ was my best sub set up ever!

but you need a bit of eq in the 20-35 ish range to really bring it to life

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » June 25th, 2018, 1:00 am

X_Factor wrote:if u wanna try something diff

http://stereointegrity.com/product/bm-m ... subwoofer/

I've been keeping an eye on that particular one, waiting for actual performance measurements from 3rd party users. The motor, if I'm not mistaken, is designed by, or based on one designed by Dan Wiggins, who gave us the XBL^2 motor design.

Postby nervewrecker » June 25th, 2018, 5:59 am

I'd still prefer hear something before buying.