lf 1" thickness MDF tube

Postby 88sins » November 29th, 2018, 6:50 pm

anybody know where I could get this? making some enclosures for 3 pairs of 8" mids.

Re: lf 1" thickness MDF tube

Postby Rovin » November 29th, 2018, 8:50 pm

mdf comes in tube shape ?

i know of ppl in d usa using cardboard form tubes for pouring concrete footings

otherwise locals make those hexagon or octagon mdf mids boxes ....

Postby 88sins » November 29th, 2018, 10:31 pm

yeah saw it in tube form some years back, but not here.. was kinda hard to source back then, but I was hopin it was more available today. and here too.
look like I go hadda revise the plan for this project and just make a single big enclosure for the entire rear dash and use shallow angles. go hadda partition it too. more wuk aand weight that I was hopin to avoid.

what a sheet for 3/8 MDF nowadays?

Postby Rovin » November 30th, 2018, 12:18 am

havent had cause to buy 3/8 mdf in a while but shud be about 125ish\sheet

not sure if this will work for ur application but my store has precision cut ready made mdf riser rings , 3\4" thick

fairly cheap iirc 6.5" $35\pair , 8" around 40\pair ...

Postby 88sins » November 30th, 2018, 6:57 am

Rovin's Audio wrote:havent had cause to buy 3/8 mdf in a while but shud be about 125ish\sheet

not sure if this will work for ur application but my store has precision cut ready made mdf riser rings , 3\4" thick

fairly cheap iirc 6.5" $35\pair , 8" around 40\pair ...

It would work but wouldn't be cost effective, need to seal & conceal the backs of 6 speakers that are just short of 5" height, that's like 5 risers each + mdf to close the base, so each speaker gonna cost ^$200 just to enclose. not practical for me

Postby Rovin » November 30th, 2018, 11:26 am

if u have a router with a flush cut bit & u dont mind d ton of mdf dust u cud always make them too ...