Bass in mids question

SYKO

Bass in mids question

Postby SYKO » January 29th, 2019, 7:58 pm

Fellas i crossed my mids (b&c 8pe21) between 500hz and 1200hz but getting distortion when i raise the 50hz band on my preamp. Any suggestions?

nick639v2

Re: Bass in mids question

Postby nick639v2 » January 29th, 2019, 8:07 pm

What you using to set crossover levels? Head unit or amp??

500hz boy, yuh wasting d speaker inno

SYKO

Postby SYKO » January 29th, 2019, 8:26 pm

nick639v2 wrote:What you using to set crossover levels? Head unit or amp??

500hz boy, yuh wasting d speaker inno
Using the amp. Everything flat or off on the deck. Thing is, is trial and error in getting the speaker just right especially at high volume.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » January 30th, 2019, 5:07 pm

i presume something is connected wrong 500-1200Hz is a super small bandwidth and I am pretty sure will not sound pleasing

Postby Rovin » January 30th, 2019, 6:33 pm

u say deck on flat & u using d amp to play d speaker at 500hz to 1200hz - i guess ur not using a crossover so d amp has bandpassing abilities ?

what amp is that ? , how do u know its actually being played at that range u hoping for ? ...

SYKO

Postby SYKO » January 30th, 2019, 8:47 pm

Ok guys, my bad it was 500hz - 3000hz. I double checked it. And yes its no external crossover. I bandpass the mids using the on board crossover. Amp is a SS TN4.900D.
I really wanna start the speaker at say 250hz but at high volume that 50hz messing me up. Only processing i have between hu and amp is a massive eq7. Will be changing that to a db drive speqp as i got it online real cheap.
Screenshot_20190130-160913_Samsung%20Internet.jpeg

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » January 31st, 2019, 3:28 am

pioneer 80 prs :roll:

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » January 31st, 2019, 8:56 am

fatboy slim wrote:pioneer 80 prs :roll:

Not even this. The newer lower end pioneers are cheap and have great DSP capability, similar the the PRS but not as extensive as.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 31st, 2019, 9:18 am

kavaninho wrote:

Not even this. The newer lower end pioneers are cheap and have great DSP capability, similar the the PRS but not as extensive as.

Yea?
I need a replacement for meh old van. I just about ready to pelt the 149BT away.
What's good?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 31st, 2019, 10:48 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
kavaninho wrote:

Yea?
I need a replacement for meh old van. I just about ready to pelt the 149BT away.
What's good?
S5000bt

SYKO

Postby SYKO » January 31st, 2019, 12:10 pm

Wish i cud, but dvd deck to accommodate back up camera for wifey and to keep me occupied when i waiting for her after classes

SYKO

Postby SYKO » February 1st, 2019, 9:10 pm

Guys straying from my topic a bit here. My mids amp is a soundstream tn4.900, with a pair of loudforce drivers and a pair of B&C 8".
Currently wired
Ch 1 - driver
Ch 2 - driver
Ch 3 & 4 bridged - speakers.
Is this ideal to get the most out of the amp ?
Or shud i do
Ch 1 & 2 speaker and driver (with resistor)
Ch 3 & 4 same?

Postby 88sins » February 2nd, 2019, 6:04 am

SYKO wrote:Guys straying from my topic a bit here. My mids amp is a soundstream tn4.900, with a pair of loudforce drivers and a pair of B&C 8".
Currently wired
Ch 1 - driver
Ch 2 - driver
Or shud i do
Ch 3 & 4 same?

since no sub on the amp & u eh say what b&c 8"
wire b&c's in parallel to ch 1-2 bridged with a 22uf condenser.
same wiring for ch3-4 with the drivers, but only if in parallel they not below 4 ohms.

Postby Rovin » February 2nd, 2019, 11:38 am

how much more ole noise u want , i wuda leff it as is ...

Postby 88sins » February 2nd, 2019, 4:22 pm

plenty lol
don't hadda constantly ring out, but it good to know you can if you want/need to. as long as the whole system tuned and set properly a lil noise does be nice sometimes

SYKO

Postby SYKO » February 2nd, 2019, 11:48 pm

SYKO wrote:Guys straying from my topic a bit here. My mids amp is a soundstream tn4.900, with a pair of loudforce drivers and a pair of B&C 8".
Currently wired
Ch 1 - driver
Ch 2 - driver
Or shud i do
Ch 3 & 4 same?

since no sub on the amp & u eh say what b&c 8"
wire b&c's in parallel to ch 1-2 bridged with a 22uf condenser.
same wiring for ch3-4 with the drivers, but only if in parallel they not below 4 ohms.
Its the 8" pe21. So basically switch around the wiring and add the mentioned resistor. Will play around with it and see. Thanks

SYKO

Postby SYKO » February 2nd, 2019, 11:50 pm

Rovin wrote:how much more ole noise u want , i wuda leff it as is ...
Is for wen i home or liming with my co workers. Once it loud and not distorted we good to go.

Postby 88sins » February 4th, 2019, 9:20 am

np just keep in mind to not crank the gains on the amp all the way up & mind your crossover freq. settings.

As an additional step if you can, to try to match your signal voltages as evenly as possible, idk what sort of signal processing system you using (crossover vs preamp eq) but some units give you the ability to adjust their output voltages. if yours does allow for this, try to keep the voltages of your head unit & signal processor as evenly matched as possible. This helps reduce the potential for distortion & electrical noise at higher volume levels. providing you use quality components.
I personally prefer to go with a max of 50% of the HU vol for this with the HU eq set on flat, but I know that some ppl that do this go as high as 75% of HU vol.

Postby Rovin » February 4th, 2019, 6:32 pm

^^^care to explain that HU vol 50% suggestion , what u leaving back d remaining 1\2 of d vol level to do ?

find a reputable shop with a O scope or SMD DD1 to set ur gains , for crossover points : SMD CC1

or there are numerous vids on youtube on how to set gain with a DMM

as for setting ur EQ : u set it to ur personal taste , try not to over boost stuff ... imo : less is more

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 4th, 2019, 9:08 pm

Rovin wrote:^^^care to explain that HU vol 50% suggestion , what u leaving back d remaining 1\2 of d vol level to do ?

find a reputable shop with a O scope or SMD DD1 to set ur gains , for crossover points : SMD CC1

as for setting ur EQ : u set it to ur personal taste , try not to over boost stuff ... imo : less is more
So I cud tell men daz only on volume 10 outta 50 boy.. I still have real power

stark_007

Postby stark_007 » February 9th, 2019, 5:04 am

[/quote]So I cud tell men daz only on volume 10 outta 50 boy.. I still have real power[/quote]

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » February 22nd, 2019, 11:02 am

nick639v2 wrote:
Rovin wrote:^^^care to explain that HU vol 50% suggestion , what u leaving back d remaining 1\2 of d vol level to do ?

So I cud tell men daz only on volume 10 outta 50 boy.. I still have real power

Ah weak! I remember them days... Dan, daiz just volume 2 and hear how that hittin'.