what is a "best bang for your buck" 6.5 speaker?

altec

what is a "best bang for your buck" 6.5 speaker?

Postby altec » April 16th, 2019, 7:24 am

time to replace door speakers and I am looking for the "best bang for your buck" 6.5 speaker to replace the bass/midrange speaker in a two way. I will be active and have the tweets already. Frequency 60Hz-2500Hz, Max depth 3 inches. Music preference sound quality...real SQ ie tonality, imaging etc. Recommend something that you have heard or have link to online reviews. Bang for your buck means cost to sq ratio, not the cheapest and certainly not the expensive.

Brian Steele

Re: what is a "best bang for your buck" 6.5 speaker?

Postby Brian Steele » April 16th, 2019, 9:54 am

I've used the Silver-Flute 6.5s and I'm now using Dayton Audio RS170s. The latter is basically a 6.5" driver with a wider mounting flange. Both are great for the price, particularly if you're going to use them in an active system crossed over at 2.5kHz.

For my car, below about 160 Hz or so the doors stop being particularly good enclosures for speakers. And that's with the use of CLD within the doors. Then there's the issue of a 6.5" driver's power-handling when run in what is basically a large lossy enclosure. How are you treating the doors to be able to get down to 60 Hz?

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » April 16th, 2019, 5:35 pm

roger have some image dynamics midbasses in the classified for dog price if you interested.

altec

Postby altec » April 16th, 2019, 6:25 pm

it will be a minimalist type install. 25 to 50 percent deadening coverage in each door. Door cards would get a little around the switches. Oh it will be paired with the tweeters from the KAXBLTWT group buy on diyma from a few years ago...

Postby X_Factor » April 16th, 2019, 6:35 pm

Silver flutes

Exodus anarchy

Postby gt4tified » April 17th, 2019, 1:17 pm

Focal Access are great bang for buck, but since you have tweets and not using passives, I'm not sure if it would be economically feasible for you. Image Dynamics Chameleons are very mid bassy, but also quite deep...not sure if they would meet your depth requirements. Boston Acoustics has some nice 6.5's for a relatively good price as well.

Re: what is a

Postby nervewrecker » April 18th, 2019, 10:16 pm

X_Factor wrote:Silver flutes

Exodus anarchy

ent you have a set for sale?

Postby rollingstock » April 19th, 2019, 10:16 pm

Digital designs dda-w6.5

May not be the brand you think of when mentioning sq but these sound amazing. The older model are made in Germany and rebranded.
Triple r may have a few in stock still. Wouldn't hurt taking a listen if you're in that area.

I have a pair I took out from the old car, wish I could afford another pair.

Postby Rovin » April 20th, 2019, 11:36 am

powerbass S series 6.5" components , i sell them for $450\pair ....

Postby nervewrecker » April 20th, 2019, 2:09 pm

Thats a good deal.
Never underestimate those cheaper brands

Re: what is a

Postby gt4tified » April 23rd, 2019, 3:45 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Thats a good deal.
Never underestimate those cheaper brands

I rather put my faith in the low-to-mid line of better brands...just from my personal experience.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 8th, 2019, 6:04 am

good info

Postby SR » May 11th, 2019, 7:27 am

Best bang for your buck is what you are willing to spend.

Are you in the under 500 price range
Under 1000 price range or under 1500 price range....once you figure that out then you can look at options in the range you want to spend

altec

Postby altec » May 19th, 2019, 11:38 pm

1000.00 and under.... could pop over a bit....

Postby nervewrecker » May 20th, 2019, 7:56 am

Morel, hybrid audio, focal, digital designs and JBL all have stuff within that price range give or take a bit.
Me, id get the exodus anarchy from x factor and the image dynamics tweeters from roger.
Have real shiz does be for sale in here at piper price that I picked up over the years.

Postby X_Factor » May 20th, 2019, 10:17 pm

Generally speaking
Unless you really want particular brand name set..and any decent set of comps will cost at least 1500 and up
If you have a deck that can do active do
Raw drivers are the best option
Silver flutes are best bang for buck
Sbs acoustics have some awesome options but would be a bit more costly

Postby gt4tified » May 23rd, 2019, 11:18 am

altec wrote:1000.00 and under.... could pop over a bit....

I might be upgrading from my Focal Access comps soon. PM me if you serious.

sofmeright

Postby sofmeright » August 19th, 2019, 11:58 pm

I just want to say I can also share my praise of the Silver Flute 6.5" I have had oh so many systems and heard just as many and I can tell you my current system in my tdi jetta wagon ran about 250 for all the speakers in 4 doors. 2 way passive and with some time alignment and EQ it's already better than anything I heard roll past me. As SQ as can be had on a budget, super loud, super clear! Edit: I forgot to add the door speakers were a stealth install.
Most of my parts are dirt cheap the most expensive item in my system is the deck which I splurged on for Android Auto.
I have been staging my upgrades, I plan on adding mids (currently my eyes are set on the PERFECT 300M from Infinity @ 149.95 for a single pair for my front stage), going full active with the dayton audio dsp408 (very budget and functional dsp @ $149.90) and I want to add an extra amp (6 channel for front stage) some time soon but I honestly do not feel that I am missing out in the time being...
This post is meant to hopefully help anyone who dreams of ballin' on a budget achieve that by selecting high cost to performance parts!

Well here's the build not gonna go too much more into detail because I figure I'm probably already overboard!

Pioneer avh-w4500nex + Maestro ADS-MRR Universal Radio Replacement and Steering Wheel Interface
Pioneer GM-D8604 (bought used 100)
Pioneer GM-D8601 (bought used years ago $70)
4 x Silver Flute W17RC38-04 6.5" Woofer Wool Cone 4 ohm (29.80 each)
4 x Peerless OX20SC02-04 20mm Fabric Dome OX Tweeter 4 Ohm (12.11 each)
2 x Rockford Fosgate P3D4 in a bassworx box (I know they are underpowered but its not worth the money for the small spl gain, came with a car, before I had P2s which I sold)
300 Watts 2 Way Crossover - (4 Pack) Passive Car Audio Speaker Tweeter Mids and Highs CRX-203 (39.95)
As a bonus I wanna share this overkill true 0 gauge welding wire for cheap, cause everyone I know overpays for their "fancy" highly marketed and overrated stranded copper lol ($76.80)
And some super cheap hardware as well
InstallGear 0/2/4 AWG Gauge Power Distribution Block 1/0 Gauge In to (4) 4/8 Gauge Out ($9)
InstallGear 0/2/4 Gauge Ga ANL Fuse Holder + 300 Amp ANL Fuses (2 Pack) ($13)

Postby Ted_v2 » October 16th, 2019, 8:40 pm

as of recent, anyone else came across something locally?

my doors are properly well done, but the output is very limited, currently running a pair of CDT woffers at 75RMS per speaker, system sounds very poor without the sub.

Postby rollingstock » October 16th, 2019, 10:18 pm

Morel tempo, go active.

Postby X_Factor » October 17th, 2019, 9:53 am

Will sell my pair of exodus audio anarchy for 1000

Postby Rovin » October 17th, 2019, 7:21 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:as of recent, anyone else came across something locally?

my doors are properly well done, but the output is very limited
, currently running a pair of CDT woffers at 75RMS per speaker, system sounds very poor without the sub.

not enough midbass ? , try some EQing

around march\april i did some work on my doors & i got even more midbass , goes down to 50hz like normal , ppl think my sub was on ...

Postby Ted_v2 » October 18th, 2019, 9:48 pm

already active, not enough midbass. Evolution7tt and i did some eq changes with his Mike, it improved from the first install to now, i guess my ears get so accustomed to it. Ill try another little adjustment on the tune and see if it improves, if not ill get in touch with you xfactor for those exodus. as i heard them already in this same install and it was good.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » October 28th, 2019, 8:29 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:already active, not enough midbass. Evolution7tt and i did some eq changes with his Mike, it improved from the first install to now, i guess my ears get so accustomed to it. Ill try another little adjustment on the tune and see if it improves, if not ill get in touch with you xfactor for those exodus. as i heard them already in this same install and it was good.

Are your doors deadened?
I had some CDTs a while back and while I was testing my neighbour was asking me if I had a hidden sub in the car. It was just the door comps. Feel like ah shilling one time. :mrgreen:

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 30th, 2019, 9:32 am

Pirate wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:already active, not enough midbass. Evolution7tt and i did some eq changes with his Mike, it improved from the first install to now, i guess my ears get so accustomed to it. Ill try another little adjustment on the tune and see if it improves, if not ill get in touch with you xfactor for those exodus. as i heard them already in this same install and it was good.

Are your doors deadened?
I had some CDTs a while back and while I was testing my neighbour was asking me if I had a hidden sub in the car. It was just the door comps. Feel like ah shilling one time. :mrgreen:

Door dampening can make a cheap speaker sound better than an expensive speaker poorly installed.
Heard it first hand :/

Postby nervewrecker » October 31st, 2019, 12:19 pm

Ha has two layers of second skin and two layers of dd material.
I did those doors.
I think it's the amp..
Had experiences with some lower end amps lacking the thump on the lower end and the crisp on the high end

Postby rollingstock » October 31st, 2019, 2:14 pm

What amp he using?
I might have a 4 channel or 2 lying around

Postby Rovin » October 31st, 2019, 5:55 pm

not to sound like a know it all but a few times b4 on here i have posted what vexx dogg said & also what nerve is saying about econo amps not sounding "full" but sounding "hollow" with some budget amps

something difficult to explain to ppl especially when u own a car audio store since ppl feel u trying to sell them something more expensive .... like said a million times b4 u get what u pay for

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » November 1st, 2019, 2:43 am

Just a question: do any of you use REW or something similar to track down the resonances in the door and deal with them specifically, or do you just "brute force" the install and try to damp everything?

Postby rollingstock » November 1st, 2019, 1:52 pm

The latter in my case lol