Repair or Replace? Alpine 149BT

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 17th, 2019, 11:23 am

Have an alpine 149BT in my van since 2013.

A couple years ago the sub pre-out started making distorted noises, then eventually stopped playing altogether.

I did a workaround at the amp level, and switched to balanced 4ch inputs, but I lost the sub control function of the deck. Overall don't like how the music sounds now, so I want back my 3 pairs of preouts and I'll rehash this system.

Does it make sense to try to repair the unit, or should I just get a new deck like the Pioneer 1DIN with solid audio quality capabilities.

Thoughts?

Re: Repair or Replace? Alpine 149BT

Postby SR » May 17th, 2019, 8:43 pm

Replace. For the price of a brand new deck these days and finding a reliable repair shop.....

Postby Ted_v2 » May 26th, 2019, 11:45 pm

Repair. the newer pioneer stuff is good, for like 1400, Yuh getting some real proper audio features.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 11th, 2019, 10:18 am

Bought this to replace the Alpine.
https://www.kenwood.com/usa/car/excelon/kmm-x503/
Features look solid. 5v preouts are decent in my book and crossovers look capable.

Considered DDIN, but dash kits for my van are expensive.
Going to do a budget audio refresh of the system that was installed 6 years ago.
The Skar Comps I originally installed were shot and replaced with "Nakamichi", but I don't care for how they sound.

Gonna grab some budget Orion components, and re-use the Skar crossovers - but only if the orions come with those shitty inline crosses.
Those should be good from 60hz up.
The "Nakamichi" will be installed in the rear because the Skar components have given out and only the tweets play now :/ I'll put the Nakamichi on bandpass duty for 120-400hz since they don't have a nice bottom depth.

Leaving the JL XD 5 channel in place and the RF sub.

should restore some half decent quality for the weekend duty.

Postby Rovin » July 11th, 2019, 10:58 am

imo what is equally important to what speakers u choose is how ur doors are prepped [dampened] can make a $500\pr sound like something way more expensive

of course EQing & crossover points ....

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 11th, 2019, 11:27 am

Was thinking about some basic damping on the front doors.
I guess something is better than nothing. Could prob grab a could sheets of buzzmat