BAss guitar cabinet

Postby timelapse » August 12th, 2019, 12:42 pm

I know is car audio, but I figure allyuh fellas good. I want to build a speaker cabinet for a 12 inch WOOFER, not a sub for my bass guitar. The amp is 300 watts x2, so I can always build a second box or put the 2 12s in one box. Thing is that I dont want a gigantic box because I will have to be moving it around a lot, From my research, these types of enclosures are tuned from 40 Hz upwards and they often will add a tweeter to play the upper ranges of the Bass guitar. Your thoughts?

Oho, before I forget, I good at woodwork so is not scene to build it

Re: BAss guitar cabinet

Postby Rovin » August 12th, 2019, 3:01 pm

u might quicker get more responses in this thread .... viewtopic.php?f=4&t=281327&p=9936581&hilit=home+theater#p9936581

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » August 12th, 2019, 5:09 pm

You have the woofer already? I know Eminence has good stuff for guitar cabinets.

Postby timelapse » August 13th, 2019, 9:03 am

Celestion Pulse 12

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » August 13th, 2019, 6:15 pm

Woofer seems to be very well up until 2KHz
You can maybe pair this with a 1" horn/driver and get a passive xover for the cabinet. I wont tune this woofer as low as 40hz. Ill aim for high 40's maybe into the 50Hz area.
What shape box you were aiming at?

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » August 21st, 2019, 1:33 am

Are you certain about needing a tweeter for the dedicated bass cabinet? I’m uncertain about needing that

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 23rd, 2019, 8:55 pm

eminence is the choice for guitar speakers

what is the purpose of the cabinet though? Just personal playing or high quality recording?

I doubt anyone has 12inch woofers locally, you'll find a lot of subs though. BUT, check sham's/ steve's/acres

I know for sure you'll get 10 inch woofers. (dotish people does use it for mids locally)