rpm on 1nzfe

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

ilovebeti

rpm on 1nzfe

Postby ilovebeti » March 25th, 2007, 10:19 am

aye fellaz.....i was comin home on d highway early mornin las nite in moms Yaris and i tried driving wit d overdrive off.....now i realise d rpm is go up to 6000 and stay dere 4 quite some time.....does this damage d engine? doh laff at meh eh,i eh no engine man....but plz help...

Coolieboy

Postby Coolieboy » March 25th, 2007, 10:45 am

it does cause you to burn excess gas if the OD is off because the 3rd gear will be stretching wayyy out. It would also cause more wear on the engine . If u running it on 6000 rpm all the time for the entire trip then you can damage the engine since they are not designed to run at high rpms for long periods. So in conclusion jus use the woman Overdrive gear. :lol:

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » March 25th, 2007, 10:47 am

aite man..cool tanx....guess i'll rely on power:weight wen dem sunny dem all up on meh bumpa lol!!!

V2NR 3.0

Re: rpm on 1nzfe

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 26th, 2007, 7:34 am

ilovebeti wrote:aye fellaz.....i was comin home on d highway early mornin las nite in moms Yaris and i tried driving wit d overdrive off.....now i realise d rpm is go up to 6000 and stay dere 4 quite some time.....does this damage d engine? doh laff at meh eh,i eh no engine man....but plz help...

Partner, i was wondering the exact same thing. I had to ease off the gas to allow the RPM to drop back....hmmm...Good question

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » March 26th, 2007, 11:19 am

yeah boi.....another ting when the car had d stock muffler and i floor it,it used to rev and kick back down in a fairly reasonable time....since it have d aftermarket barrel(and barrel alone eh)....when ya floor it revving long......is d barrel causin da? and again doh laff at meh.... :oops: :oops:

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 4th, 2007, 11:29 pm

when ya floor it revving long......is d barrel causin da?

yea iz d barrel that causing that, bcause now u hearing more Exhaust than engine noise, and b4 u only hearin engine. so u go feel like it revvin long bcause of the noise..

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » April 4th, 2007, 11:37 pm

aite man...cool...tanx 4 d info....

Terran

Postby Terran » April 5th, 2007, 8:51 am

The overdrive is what allows the engine to be more economical by relaxing it at lower rpms... that way, whether you are cruising or speeding (not flat out), the rpm is likely to remain within a safe range that balances power and economy. High revving will simply put out greater effort and you will burn more gas.

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » April 5th, 2007, 9:01 am

it wud be safe to say d car doesn have no rev limiter cuz it is go to redline?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 5th, 2007, 9:28 am

nope.........redline in my 122 is at 6400rpm......revlimiter would cut in at 7000rpm

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 5th, 2007, 9:46 am

it wud be safe to say d car doesn have no rev limiter cuz it is go to redline?

Probly bcause u never reached the limiter :wink:

Terran

Postby Terran » April 5th, 2007, 10:24 am

And the engine doesn't sound too happy when you reach the rev limiter... so don't go trying to find out. Stay below the redline before you start burning transmission fluid.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 5th, 2007, 10:26 am

below the redline before you start burning transmission fluid.

Could high revvin damage ur transmission?

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » April 5th, 2007, 11:24 am

i don't think we shud be doing da with econoboxes...lol.....

Terran

Postby Terran » April 5th, 2007, 12:01 pm

Dragsta wrote:
below the redline before you start burning transmission fluid.

Could high revvin damage ur transmission?

Well, based on my personal experience... ultimately, yes.

I used to rev my old tranny pretty high (over rev, in fact), and I did it regularly for a couple of years. Some time later, the gears started to "slip", especially while the engine was still relatively cold after start-ups. My mechanic found that the fluid had actually burned - turned black, smell burnt, the whole works... I may be wrong to assume this, but as a result, I believe the fluid itself had lost its properties. Considering that the fluid endures rigours and passes through very narrow passages in its regular form, the burnt fluid could no longer endure this treatment and shifting from gear to gear put more stress on the transmission.

art n motion

Postby art n motion » April 12th, 2007, 10:41 pm

yeah boi.....another ting when the car had d stock muffler and i floor it,it used to rev and kick back down in a fairly reasonable time....since it have d aftermarket barrel(and barrel alone eh)....when ya floor it revving long......is d barrel causin da? and again doh laff at meh....

it's possible that your new aftermarket barrel is not offering the engine enough compression so it over revs in order to compensate :|
in other words it to free flow :!:

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » April 12th, 2007, 11:43 pm

art n motion, always hearin bout d free flow exhaust system.....whaz dis about? costly too?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 13th, 2007, 10:16 am

Free Flow exhaust is more for performance and turbo applications, not for eco cars.. a too small exhaust will decrease power also a too large exhaust will also Decrease power... for turbo apps a 3" exhaust is suitable....but it depends on how much mods is done to the car...

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 13th, 2007, 10:18 am

did it regularly for a couple of years. Some time later, the gears started to "slip",

So how often do u change Tranny oil,.. every couple of years?

art n motion

Postby art n motion » April 14th, 2007, 8:19 pm

art n motion, always hearin bout d free flow exhaust system.....whaz dis about? costly too?

Free Flow exhaust is more for performance and turbo applications, not for eco cars.. a too small exhaust will decrease power also a too large exhaust will also Decrease power...

you question was answered :wink:
they're really more suited for high HP cars and not your econobox :mrgreen:
you would actually loose power and burn more gas with a free flow on your econo car :shock:
My opinion is to stay stock as possible with all aspects of your car and just do proper and regular tune ups and maintainance :idea:
You would have a reliable and dependable car...you want performance....buy a fast car :twisted:

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » April 14th, 2007, 8:28 pm

have to get a J-O-B first.......lol............jus here to learn man......tanx 4 d info

art n motion

Postby art n motion » April 14th, 2007, 8:36 pm

^^^no probs man :!:
we here to help each other...that's how I learned as well :wink:
I'm sure you can help me out or teach me something about cars that I may not be aware of :lol:

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » April 14th, 2007, 8:39 pm

:wink:

Return to “TOYOTA”