Advice needed : cheapest engine for a tercel

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Advice needed : cheapest engine for a tercel

Postby X_Factor » March 20th, 2008, 10:04 pm

a partner has to either do a engine job on his carbed 1.3 engine
and he wants to know whats the cheapest FI engine conversion that can be done?
is it possible for a GA15 to work in the tercel?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 20th, 2008, 11:20 pm

put a 4efe thats thE non turbo version. an why put a GA15 u said cheap. the speedo wouldnt work also the mounts have to be fab i'm sure

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » March 21st, 2008, 12:29 am

^ I agree with Z. The GA will be cheaper but with the cost of doing over the mounts etc. wont be worth it, in the end you will end up spending more and you likely to get real headache. Saw three complete 3e engine+ trannies in ramas this week for small money. They carbie but will fit in bolt for bolt

Terran

Postby Terran » March 21st, 2008, 8:17 am

Get the 4E and done. Don't switch engine brand.

Postby X_Factor » March 21st, 2008, 10:38 am

whats the average cost to do the 4E conversion?

its costing him about 3-4k to rebuild the engine

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 21st, 2008, 11:08 am

how EvER much is thE labor an wireing then EnginE might cost a 800or less to wire up

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » March 21st, 2008, 11:35 pm

What engine the car has currently? unless he carrying it by a real experienced/qualified mech, the rebuild is a waste of time imo.

Postby Hook » March 22nd, 2008, 2:07 am

a partner has to either do a engine job on his carbed 1.3 engine

sounds like a 2E

Terran

Postby Terran » March 22nd, 2008, 7:20 am

I had a 2E in my Tercel before. The cost of changing parts and rebuilding the old engine outweighed buying a used one and replacing it. Of course, I decided to go 4A, which made things a bit more complicated.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » March 22nd, 2008, 12:54 pm

If he looking to go with a 4efe, the engine should be around 4000 -5000, about 2000 to wire and install and about 2000 in misc parts.

Postby X_Factor » March 22nd, 2008, 1:55 pm

cool...soo i guess for the conversion he should cater about 10k?

ne engine conversion that may cost about a 5-6k?
or he should jus buy a 1.5carbed engine and put that back?

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » March 22nd, 2008, 3:03 pm

The most economical solution is to get a 3e, its a 1500, 12 valve so it will be faster than the previous engine and it will fit in bolt for bolt. All the gauges etc will be functional and there are about 3 complete engines in Ramas. I have a 3e in my car for quite some time now and it runs decent.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » March 25th, 2008, 9:09 am

i would say a 4efe would be the best bet. and a full conversion should not cost more that 8k. just make sure the electrition know what he doing. Did i mention before i don't have much faith in Auto electritions.

Postby X_Factor » March 25th, 2008, 9:24 pm

well he decided to go with the 1.5 carbed version engine not sure what engine code they carry...i think he buyin it friday this week to install over the weekend

drivehard

Postby drivehard » March 25th, 2008, 11:31 pm

hmmm. wha bout de 5efe? pretty good engine.latest on the e lines. most go in the region of 4500 - 5000. wiring should be no more than 1000 , labour the same. so in all u looking at a total of 7000. and comin from a dude who did that, best bet than putting back another carb engine. fuel consumption is less for me and i in bago so imagine u in trini.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » March 26th, 2008, 11:28 am

well he decided to go with the 1.5 carbed version engine not sure what engine code they carry...i think he buyin it friday this week to install over the weekend

makes sense

Toyotafreak

Postby Toyotafreak » April 1st, 2008, 12:57 pm

put in a starlet 4EFTE. thats the turbo charged version of the 4E it fits like original no conversions needed. I have two to sell. calle me at 370-5815, 7663239

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » April 1st, 2008, 3:26 pm

Toyotafreak,thE man say chEAp :D

Terran

Postby Terran » April 1st, 2008, 4:07 pm

Zeriam wrote:Toyotafreak,thE man say chEAp :D

And? 8-)

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » April 2nd, 2008, 9:39 pm

4efe does not cost that much $$.

A head and block is about $1500-1800 and labour depends on who you deal with.

If the cost is the same to re-build your current engine, I would go that route. AT least you would know what you have after the rebuild.

Kirk

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » April 2nd, 2008, 11:44 pm

I have a tercel and Iam doing the swap,I paid $5000 for mine, engine and tranny( 4e-fte), end up missing map sensor and a/c step up valve, lemme give you a breakdown of price so far. the old 2e engine has been removed, i need some engine mounts, small thing, starlet axle and brakes ($600 pair), roof scoop(???), 2 1/4 exhaust - ($1200-$1400), wiring ($1000), strut bar(350), Gauges (1200), radiator( 800-1000)....

and more, i cant remember the rest.

AnarkIII

Re: Advice needed : cheapest engine for a tercel

Postby AnarkIII » May 6th, 2017, 9:02 am

Toyotafreak wrote:put in a starlet 4EFTE. thats the turbo charged version of the 4E it fits like original no conversions needed. I have two to sell. calle me at 370-5815, 7663239

Still have this?

Return to “TOYOTA”