20 Valve

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

EarthQuake

20 Valve

Postby EarthQuake » June 3rd, 2008, 10:31 am

i did some reading up last night, to be brought to the realisation that these engines only putssout 165-175 HP stock considering is a 1.6

Although it may be impressive to some, to me it isnt jed. More like it hurtful.

The SR16 puts out 175 stock and thats a 16 valve, also a high compression engine

The SR20VE (VVL) puts out 175-180

And the SR20 (the one that comes in the Autech primera, which has upgraded cams and some other mods) puts out 180HP

steups

i was of the opinion that the 4AGE 20 valve was indeed a SR killa, but not there are some thoughts of doubt in my mind jed

Convince me different nah

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » June 3rd, 2008, 4:14 pm

3sgte no more

tte

Postby tte » June 3rd, 2008, 6:26 pm

First of all the sr20 vvl has variable valve timing with lift and its a sr20 vvl de stroked to 1.6. A stock sr20 only puts out 150hp and its 2 litres. The 2zzge is 1.8 and puts out 192 hp with vvtl-i and it will ruff up a sr20 vvl. Lets compare apples with apples, the 4age 20v should be compared to non lift engines as it only had vvt not even vvt-i.

EarthQuake

Postby EarthQuake » June 3rd, 2008, 7:57 pm

or ok

yea but the SR20 vvl puts out 180hp

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » June 3rd, 2008, 8:14 pm

ok hp is good but how much torque doEs a 20v put out vs these EnginEs

EarthQuake

Postby EarthQuake » June 3rd, 2008, 11:53 pm

i would get back to you on that one ;)

Postby Hook » June 4th, 2008, 12:58 am

EarthQuake wrote:or ok

did u even READ what tte wrote?

tte wrote:First of all the sr20 vvl has variable valve timing with lift and its a sr20 vvl de stroked to 1.6. A stock sr20 only puts out 150hp and its 2 litres. The 2zzge is 1.8 and puts out 192 hp with vvtl-i and it will ruff up a sr20 vvl. Lets compare apples with apples, the 4age 20v should be compared to non lift engines as it only had vvt not even vvt-i.

but why do ppl even TRY to compare a 1.6l with a 2.0l? I've seen 20V cars put SERIOUS t**** on SR20 cars, but thas not the point..even if u talking valvetrain technologies, displacement is also a factor

if u want a more fair comparison, try comparing a sr16VE, a B16a, a 4G92MIVEC and a 4A-GE 20V..the displacement is similar and hp output is comparible
and for an engine to put out >1hp per <10cc displacement is actually pretty damn impressive, so when we talking this in relation to other bigger engines, these 1.6l monsters are actually more efficient at making power straight out of the box...think about that

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » June 4th, 2008, 7:00 am

Hook,is trinidad EvERybody know about sr20 an i peRsonally find in the 1.6 class nothing bEats a 20v, closest thing is a b16a

Terran

Re: 20 Valve

Postby Terran » June 4th, 2008, 9:02 am

EarthQuake wrote:i was of the opinion that the 4AGE 20 valve was indeed a SR killa, but not there are some thoughts of doubt in my mind jed

I'll agree with the other guys - compare apples with apples, etc..

However, taking the nature of your argument, I will try to address it based on that alone.

A stock 20V puts out 120 ft. lbs. of torque and 165HP.

A stock SR20 puts out 152 ft. lbs and 175HP.

On paper, the SR20 delivers more output.

On the street, it boils down to the driver.

At the risk of boasting, my stock auto 20V has clipped wings on the MIVEC, the B16a, the SR20, the Audi 1.8T and even a few of our 4EFTE brethren. All these engines (and their owners) attest to being superior to the 20V with respect to torque and HP, but none have lived up to their claims when running against ME. I'm not reckless, but I will take my licks when I get it, if I get it. On paper, I understand some of the differences between the engines, but yuh see this thing we call "belly"? :lol:

Ask Strauss about belly... his stock 4AGZE (1.6 16V supercharged, 152 ft. lbs of torque, 170HP) takes on the likes of 4G63s, SR20DETs, RB20DETs, the STi and even the 3SGTE. On paper, that engine sucks in comparison. On the quarter-mile, it's another story.

rolling_hard

Postby rolling_hard » June 4th, 2008, 10:15 am

At the risk of boasting, my stock auto 20V has clipped wings on the MIVEC, the B16a, the SR20, the Audi 1.8T and even a few of our 4EFTE brethren.

this is so true :lol:

EarthQuake

Postby EarthQuake » June 4th, 2008, 12:00 pm

Hook wrote:
EarthQuake wrote:or ok

did u even READ what tte wrote?

tte wrote:First of all the sr20 vvl has variable valve timing with lift and its a sr20 vvl de stroked to 1.6. A stock sr20 only puts out 150hp and its 2 litres. The 2zzge is 1.8 and puts out 192 hp with vvtl-i and it will ruff up a sr20 vvl. Lets compare apples with apples, the 4age 20v should be compared to non lift engines as it only had vvt not even vvt-i.

but why do ppl even TRY to compare a 1.6l with a 2.0l? I've seen 20V cars put SERIOUS t**** on SR20 cars, but thas not the point..even if u talking valvetrain technologies, displacement is also a factor

if u want a more fair comparison, try comparing a sr16VE, a B16a, a 4G92MIVEC and a 4A-GE 20V..the displacement is similar and hp output is comparible
and for an engine to put out >1hp per <10cc displacement is actually pretty damn impressive, so when we talking this in relation to other bigger engines, these 1.6l monsters are actually more efficient at making power straight out of the box...think about that

food for thought

thanks mih brethren

well i really made the comparison based on the fact that i used to own a primera with a SR20 with small mods and raced the same BZ touring wagon that i have now and got lixx. But back then i based the lixx i got on lack of experience

But lookin at it now. The 20 valve is really a lovely piece of work for what it is.

Postby Hook » June 4th, 2008, 12:26 pm

zeen

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » June 4th, 2008, 1:04 pm

For clarity:

SR16VE 175ps 119lb-ft
SR16VE N1 200ps 134 lb-ft
SR20DE 140hp (1st Gen) 165PS with VTC
SR20DE Autech 175PS (N15), 180PS (P10)
SR20VE 190PS 144lbft
SR20VE 205PS (P12)

And I agree with Hook....compare the SR16VE to the B16A/B, 4G92MIVEC and 4A-GE 20V

EarthQuake

Postby EarthQuake » June 4th, 2008, 3:30 pm

safe

Return to “TOYOTA”