Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Re: Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 17th, 2018, 9:51 am

Adoni did u buy back an original or generic? ..how much u paid for it?..

Taking off the entire bumper to change fog lamps seems a bit extreme...how bout just removing the shield below..and taking it out from the back...

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 17th, 2018, 10:41 am

The first was a generic cabin filter by Dollar Savers for $60 and well the second was original by ROC for $300. I does take the filter out after a 6 months so and give it a blow out, then use back. Then change after a lil while again.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 17th, 2018, 11:59 am

Hmm 5 star cooling charge me 150 yes...i know tha was kinda soundibg expensive....but it should last a year so thats ok plus i didntbchange tha in 4 years so...

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 17th, 2018, 4:37 pm

I use Fram fresh breeze filters... But I'm going to the generic ones once my small supply is finished

Postby *KRONIK* » May 17th, 2018, 4:57 pm

kamakazi wrote:I use Fram fresh breeze filters... But I'm going to the generic ones once my small supply is finished
Is it a OEM fit or does it require modification?
Post part # plz.

I saw them online, but wasnt sure of the fitment.
If possible, we can order a case/box and we can split it up amongst ourselves.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 17th, 2018, 5:09 pm

Cf10285
Let me make sure...

Yep, this is it. No modification required
Also works in some other Toyota vehicles.

Depending on how the local aftermarket looks when I need replacements, will determine what I purchase... But for right now I have enough

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 17th, 2018, 8:20 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
kamakazi wrote:I use Fram fresh breeze filters... But I'm going to the generic ones once my small supply is finished
Is it a OEM fit or does it require modification?
Post part # plz.

I saw them online, but wasnt sure of the fitment.
If possible, we can order a case/box and we can split it up amongst ourselves.
How much for the fram fresh breeze....if yall ordering in bulk ...gimme the unit cost and ill take one or two...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 17th, 2018, 8:22 pm

Bdw...could anyone tell me if the 2013 hilux 2.5 is obd 2?....diagnostic....saw somr cool Hud's....but would only operate thru obd2 ports....

Postby pugboy » May 17th, 2018, 9:02 pm

I change cabin filter every 6m or so, mainly for air flow
Tried the fram fresh breeze but didn't really notice any diff

My vehicle doesn't have any scents though,
I don't use air fresheners and use seat covers which I wash regularly
You would be surprised at how dirty seat covers get...white bucket of water turns black

I plan to do a seat shampoo and wet vac soon too.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 17th, 2018, 9:31 pm

pugboy wrote:I change cabin filter every 6m or so, mainly for air flow
Tried the fram fresh breeze but didn't really notice any diff

My vehicle doesn't have any scents though,
I don't use air fresheners and use seat covers which I wash regularly
You would be surprised at how dirty seat covers get...white bucket of water turns black

I plan to do a seat shampoo and wet vac soon too.
Yea
When i had my swift, which i had from new, seats looked clean still. When i did a shampoo and extract clean out on it...water was brown. I couldnt believe it was so bad.
Investing in a bissell spot clean auto was a good decision after cleaning 3 vehicles with it, it paid for itself.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 21st, 2018, 3:51 pm

Fellaz

What are the options for brake pads and brake rotors?

Also, do the 2.5 and 3.0 carry the same rotor?
I tried "googling" it and noticed 2 different sizes rotors: 1 for 17" wheel and another for 16" wheel.
Are there any aftermerket options; slotted/crossdrilled etc?

Mad Antz

Postby Mad Antz » May 21st, 2018, 3:57 pm

The 2.5 rotors are smaller than the 3.0. Should have aftermarket available in the Australian market.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 21st, 2018, 4:13 pm

Mad Antz wrote:The 2.5 rotors are smaller than the 3.0. Should have aftermarket available in the Australian market.
Larrrrdddd....shipping from australia does be more than the cost of the item

*exhales painfully*

Mad Antz

Postby Mad Antz » May 21st, 2018, 4:16 pm

Yup bought a cabin glass for my Prado from Australia. Paid 150us for it and it cost $2500tt by the time I checked the cost of the item and shipping

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 22nd, 2018, 8:34 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz

I tried "googling" it and noticed 2 different sizes rotors: 1 for 17" wheel and another for 16" wheel.

Check ROC, Inshan in the bamboo.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 22nd, 2018, 8:35 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz

Check ROC, Inshan in the bamboo.
Cool...thanks.

I just exploring my options as i think a brake service may be the next item on the service schedule.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 22nd, 2018, 10:39 pm

How often do u change disc pads?

Postby *KRONIK* » May 23rd, 2018, 8:32 am

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:How often do u change disc pads?
Never changed pads yet.
I only got the van a few weeks ago.
So i just checking out the stuff that gonna need to change.
I was at the tyre shop fixing a tyre and noticed the brake pads are a bit low (even though the previous owner told me changed them) and that the rotors have a lip on the edge.
Seeing that the mileage is under 100k kms and looking at the wear on the rotors, i suspect its on the 2nd set of pads and may require a re-surfacing of the rotor or a replacement if the rotors have passed minimum thickness. Brakes work fine otherwise.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 23rd, 2018, 9:00 am

Under 100k and those issues....nah man....i have never changes pads yet....75000km...and they are still very new

Postby *KRONIK* » May 23rd, 2018, 9:20 am

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Under 100k and those issues....nah man....i have never changes pads yet....75000km...and they are still very new
Are you auto or manual?

Like i said, i'm not sure about anything on this van, it's a used vehicle. So i prefer to just fix it right 1 time.
I'm not even sure if the brake pads are the original set.
But from my experience, automatic vehicles usually call for 1st brake pad change at around 45-50k kms. This was so on all my previous vehicles (swift, grand vitara, rav4, 3.0 ranger). Not sure how its supposed to be on the hilux.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 23rd, 2018, 12:08 pm

Besides the difference in transmission... How you drive and the type of pads determine when they have to be changed.
My father's OEM brakes lasted until 95000kms (2.5 manual). The Bosch replacements only lasted 40000kms but those pads are organic and are not to aggressive on rotors. He is currently on his third set of Bosch pads with the original rotors.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 23rd, 2018, 1:07 pm

My pads are original set ands its automatic....i expwct to get 100000 km from them

Postby pugboy » May 25th, 2018, 5:36 pm

Changed my oil using the fumuto valve for the first time, hooked a hose to nipple and emptied into a plastic container inside of a bigger frying oil container a few times.

No mess, a little slower but no biggie
also punched a hole in oil filter so it dripped very little when removed.

sour thing was my front tire went flat at the end thanks to a nail.
So still ended up getting extra dirty.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 26th, 2018, 5:03 pm

Nice work

Postby *KRONIK* » May 26th, 2018, 5:24 pm

Yes allyuh...turbo timer
Who know the ins and out of installing 1?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 26th, 2018, 5:59 pm

U gonna install yourself...i have a number for an installer if u want

Postby *KRONIK* » May 26th, 2018, 10:20 pm

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:U gonna install yourself...i have a number for an installer if u want

Lol
Not really
I eh know much about auto electricals.
The recomended wiring is simple....came with a diagram
The problem (from what i read on a foreign hilux forum) is to bypass the toyota security so that i can lock the van and the timer will keep the engine running until it counts it down. Apparently if you install as per the instruction, you cant lock the vehicle until the timer is finished and the vehicle switches off.

IMG-20180526-WA0021-1.jpg

Where your installer located?
And does he work neat/proper?
I trying to avoid mango tree electricians who does cut up ur harness and wring wire together and tape up everyting.

I bought some t-tap splicers/solder heat shrink sleeves and terminal ends.
So if i get a lil guide...i dont mind trying my hand.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 26th, 2018, 10:48 pm

He located in cunupia....very neat ...i installed an oem one so it looks original..lock van and leave ..engine cuts off 4 itself....install took less than 30 mins i believe

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 26th, 2018, 10:49 pm

I think he charged 150....cant remember too well.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 27th, 2018, 6:23 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:He located in cunupia....very neat ...i installed an oem one so it looks original..lock van and leave ..engine cuts off 4 itself....install took less than 30 mins i believe

Where in cunupia ?
Number please thanks.

Return to “TOYOTA”