Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

SNIPER 3000

Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 8th, 2009, 4:34 pm

Any Surf owners in here?
All type 1 gen. 2gen. 3gen 4runners
Share your views and help others. :D
Last edited by SNIPER 3000 on May 30th, 2011, 6:21 am, edited 2 times in total.

rx80

Postby rx80 » December 8th, 2009, 9:14 pm

Nice vehicle! If yuh have a link to a diff check meh!

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 8th, 2009, 9:56 pm

rx80, Auto man on the fourm said he will be getting parts for the surf soon.

What modle surf you have?

rx80

Postby rx80 » December 8th, 2009, 10:27 pm

Don't own a Surf just want a diff. Drove in a couple already very rugged SUV.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 9th, 2009, 7:01 am

K.......

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 9th, 2009, 10:40 pm

:( :(

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 10th, 2009, 8:34 am

i looking to get one if u know of any selling under a 100k

Postby AllTrac » December 10th, 2009, 9:58 am

be wary of blown headgaskets and cracked heads. Check the oil for froth and smell it for radiator water, check the radiator water for oil, take the radiator cover off and rev the engine to see if you are getting lots of bubbles (compression escaping).
I had to replace an entire engine because of it, its common on the 2lte and the 1kz surf. Reason being the tranny cooler is inside of the radiator, when put under load, like towing and going up hill with a full vehicle this causes the tranny to heat up in turn heating up the raidator beyond its cooling capacity. To fix this install and external oil cooler before the radiator oil cooler so it would cool it down a bit more, some people have gotten rid of the tranny radiator cooler altogether and put a large external transmission cooler. Another thing to do when you now get your surf is to change the clutch fan oil, it has been known to lose viscosity over the years and leak out causing the engine to overheat because the clutch fan was not engaging. While doing this you can add a modification one time, I upgraded to the LandCruiser fan which is quite larger and has more pitch, when going uphill like maracas with full load you could hear that LC fan engaging like a beast and cooling stuff down. All this helped the cooling issues I had and after those stuff i did in addition to changing the thermostat, i never had over heating problems. Ask any surf owner about the dreaded head cracking issue, almost all know of it.

Follow those things I outlined and im sure you would not suffer the 12K faith i did.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 10th, 2009, 3:08 pm

AllTrac,
Thanks for you input, The surf i have has a toyota 5l engine.
Thanks for the info. on the tranny cooler, where can i get an external oil cooler?
About the clutch fan oil i did not know about that, does the 5l have that?

At the moment i have changed the rear and front diff. oil and all the drive belts.
Next in line is the tranny oil and timing belt.

I am looking for shocks, but the parts place wants me to take them off and bring it in, I would prefer to just go buy them and replace onetime
Do you know if the shocks are a standard type for the LN130?

Thanks again

Postby AllTrac » December 10th, 2009, 7:11 pm

oh you have de 5l? then you safe, what i outlined there only applies to the the AUTO 2LTE and 1KZ

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 10th, 2009, 7:41 pm

The 5l works great it as real power, it's non turbo.
AllTrac, did you ever changed your diff. and transfer case oil?
What body oil did you used i used the bel ray 140 body on the diff, i did not change the transfer case yet any idea what body oil to used?
Is it 90?

Postby AllTrac » December 12th, 2009, 8:33 am

hey in the transfercase i used 75w-90 GL-4 Belray, it took 1 1/2 liters.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 12th, 2009, 8:51 am

AllTrac,
Thanks for the info. you are just in time.I am just about to begin.

I located the shocks from this Guy who is the rep. for ironman 4X4, he has the lift kits for the surf and shocks, joints ect.
He is setting up shop at Dansteel compound in south.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 13th, 2009, 9:20 am

AllTrac,Where is that filling hole for the front diff?
I seeing one but that real difficult to get to, the next one is a sensor i will have to remove?

Postby AllTrac » December 13th, 2009, 10:37 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:AllTrac,Where is that filling hole for the front diff?
I seeing one but that real difficult to get to, the next one is a sensor i will have to remove?
your surf has the aircon radiator at the bottom?

If it does, then drop the mounting brackets, it (ac radiator) would just hang on the connection giving you about 2" extra space to see the filler hole and enough space to fit an extension for a ratchet

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 13th, 2009, 10:58 am

AllTrac,
What oil you use in the front diff?
140 or 90body bel ray i have both

Postby AllTrac » December 13th, 2009, 11:04 am

use the 90 body

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 13th, 2009, 1:13 pm

Thanks, just finished.

Postby AllTrac » December 13th, 2009, 2:16 pm

post pics of your surf Sniper, or a model like yours on the internet.
If i kept my surf I was going to intercool it and add a subaru gc8 scoop. Then repaint, this is the look I was going for:

I hope aiden is reading this :mrgreen:

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 13th, 2009, 2:25 pm

AllTrac,
I will post pic. later.
But it looks like that without the scoop and my needs painting over.

aidan

Postby aidan » December 14th, 2009, 4:45 pm

AllTrac wrote:post pics of your surf Sniper, or a model like yours on the internet.
If i kept my surf I was going to intercool it and add a subaru gc8 scoop. Then repaint, this is the look I was going for:

I hope aiden is reading this :mrgreen:

hahaha.yuh spell my name rong! yuh cooda do it before u sell!.
was lookin into a TMIC, but space real limited.best fit so far was one from a jimny turbo, but i was worried it might be too small. might have to get a slimmer large one, or do some other interesting fabrication. or try something like this http://www.toyotasurf.asn.au/forum/viewtopic.php?t=19709

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 14th, 2009, 8:52 pm

aidan,

Nice, i will post pics. soon having camera probs.

Postby AllTrac » December 14th, 2009, 10:52 pm

aidan, i read the skyline one could fit without a lift, so would the starlet intercooler.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 29th, 2009, 6:56 pm

For info. the front shock number for the surf is 37030 and the back is 37033

i got mines at bobby in the bamboo monroe $345 for one front.

They took the number and used the chart to get the mach for monroe shock.

rippitt

Postby rippitt » December 30th, 2009, 11:44 pm

For all you diesel surfers if wantin to put bonnet scoop for COOLIN purpose install with d vent towards ur winscreen. it pulls out de hot air quicker than forcin cool air in. also helps defrost frosted winscreens quicker an keeps dem defrosted.
trusted an tried advice from de aussies lord of 4x4. :D :D :D :D :D :idea:

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 31st, 2009, 2:22 pm

rippitt,
Did you try this yourself?

I am thinking about installing a scoop.

aidan

Postby aidan » December 31st, 2009, 9:48 pm

rippitt wrote:For all you diesel surfers if wantin to put bonnet scoop for COOLIN purpose install with d vent towards ur winscreen. it pulls out de hot air quicker than forcin cool air in. also helps defrost frosted winscreens quicker an keeps dem defrosted.
trusted an tried advice from de aussies lord of 4x4. :D :D :D :D :D :idea:

what SNIPER3000 said.

I in the process of going through with sumtin like this now. any more info, etc.? I heard, hot air + rain = cracked windscreen from some guys who raised their hood hinges to leave an opening (that was cars though).

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 31st, 2009, 10:11 pm

aidan,

You doing it? installing a scoop.

I heard the same thing about it cracking the glass.

aidan

Postby aidan » January 1st, 2010, 11:30 pm

yea, i want to put in an intercooler. i got a few to try out now, just waiting to get some time to try out and see which is the best fit. Thinking to get a spare bonnet to do the cutting for the scoop as well in case i do sheit lol. I gonna try and do it myself.

Postby AllTrac » January 2nd, 2010, 1:24 am

its always better to get hot air out the engine bay than cold air in. Good example is the Mitsu Evo, all their bonnets never had scoops but vents so when air passes over it creates a vacumme affect and it sucks hot air out. The Toyota GT-4 RS/CS version also has a bonnet vent where as their toned down version has a bonnet scoop.

Return to “TOYOTA”