Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

aidan

Postby aidan » January 14th, 2010, 12:41 am

SNIPER 3000,yuh decide wat u doing yet orr? I think the place is on Evan's street?lemme know cuz i can pass through,.

AllTrac, u missin it orr lol.

droppa,i saw a black PC* in debe boy, how they getting them thing license so? :|
make d move from suzuki lol. i did.but u go miss the smaller turning radius.

droppa

Postby droppa » January 14th, 2010, 9:46 am

think he was a returning resident....but deisel have a lil older time fram than petrol in roro....afaik :roll:

i wanna make the jump from zuki to surf bad. small thing bout the turning radius, and the damn good off road capability, frikkin jimny does go and fit um place, ppl does bawl jed....

but i does do like 800km avg per week, so i feelin that $300 in premium in this ya hard times, i really need a deisel vehicle....

$300weekly prem bill/ $4per litr prem = 75l per week

75l x $1.5 per litr deisel = $112.5

$300 - $112.5 = $187.5 :shock: :shock:

thats almost $200 a week i go save, :roll: :shock:

aidan, ur surf is 2l turbo, how u find it pulls to ur last ride, any complications, problems... :?: :?:

Postby AllTrac » January 14th, 2010, 11:28 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:aidan,

like the rims.
MR.AllTrac, we will talk :)

waiting on your call.

aidan

Postby aidan » January 14th, 2010, 4:19 pm

droppa wrote:think he was a returning resident....but deisel have a lil older time fram than petrol in roro....afaik :roll:

i wanna make the jump from zuki to surf bad. small thing bout the turning radius, and the damn good off road capability, frikkin jimny does go and fit um place, ppl does bawl jed....

but i does do like 800km avg per week, so i feelin that $300 in premium in this ya hard times, i really need a deisel vehicle....

$300weekly prem bill/ $4per litr prem = 75l per week

75l x $1.5 per litr deisel = $112.5

$300 - $112.5 = $187.5 :shock: :shock:

thats almost $200 a week i go save, :roll: :shock:

aidan, ur surf is 2l turbo, how u find it pulls to ur last ride, any complications, problems... :?: :?:

Lol. U sure right bout that. Diesel ftw!

Yea is a 2L turbo, the suzukis (samurai+vitara) was faster in terms of accleration, and honestly more offroad capable due to the lighter weight and smaller. The surf on the other hand has wayyyyyyyy more power,more stable on the road and a much more comfortable in terms of ride quality,more interior space :lol: ,if was manual it would have been more fun to drive lol. but it handles "offroad" conditions pretty good, didnt try goin tru any mud yet, cuz i scared i stick and don't have a winch. I drove through a cocoa field up in my area normal, in 2WD. All in all,i like it, and best of all fuel consumption is the best!

Some things I dislike that I found thus far:
1. Front has velocity joint and axle setup. IMO bad idea for a vehicle that made to go almost anywhere. But it's pretty solid, and reduced the turning radius if it was a solid axle (full diff). Suzukis had solid axles in front.

2. Breather for rear diff not vented properly, it's just on the diff (on top),so crossing some flood or stream or sumtin cud be bad for prolonged period. They probably thought by placing the breather on top it would allow enough clearance for water.

-Easy fix - buy toyota Part No. 90404-51319 and replace original diff breather and connect a hose from the breather to above the body somewhere. The vitara diff breather was vented to the body, so if was near impossible for water to get in unless you submerge it. Even the new Jimny's have that system. They built for offroading!lol

If you wana know anything else just ask!

but deisel have a lil older time fram than petrol in roro....afaik :roll:

BTW.. How does one import a diesel vehicle?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 14th, 2010, 4:47 pm

droppa,

I saw one in marabella, but they asking alot for it...........

PBC series they guy wanted 85000.

aidan

Postby aidan » January 15th, 2010, 12:28 am

Here's the Owners Manual for those who may need it: Click here> <a href="http://uploading.com/files/78fb284d/ToyotaSurfOwnersManual.pdf/">Surf Manual</a>

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 16th, 2010, 3:15 am

Always liked these but wondered why TTTL never brought them. If they did, this would be a nice upgrade from the SR5 in terms of a more family friendly vehicle. (Prado too expensive)

If anyone need any OEM filters (fuel and oil) or rubbers/bushins feel free to PM.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 16th, 2010, 11:15 am

sweeks,

I did not forget you man, thanks for your help when i was looking around.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 16th, 2010, 4:07 pm

No problem Sniper. Glad I could've help.

aidan

Postby aidan » January 16th, 2010, 4:35 pm

SNIPER 3000,check PM.

sweeks,u have access to 2LTE parts? I was going through the Trucks and Pickup forum, looks like we need to join the 3NE2NR diesel boys on a run! :mrgreen:

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 16th, 2010, 5:59 pm

GENERAL SERVICING INFO.

DRIVE TRAIN

Standard rear diffs GL5, SAE 90 for above 18 deg C or 80W or 80W-90 for below 18 deg C. 2.2 Liters

LSD rear diffs just use specific LSD gear oil.

Front diffs without ADD (not Surfs) are same as rear diffs above. 1.6 Liters

Front diffs with ADD (all 2nd gen Surfs) are GL5 SAE 75W-90. 1.86 Liters

Planetary T/case (Automatic and most manual Surfs) needs GL4 or 5 SAE 75W-90 1.1 Liters

Reduction gear T/case (MK1 Surfs, and manual 4Runners) as above but 1.6 liters.

Manual Gearbox......3.0L Multipurpose Gear oil API GL-4 or GL-5, SAE 75W-90

Automatic Gearbox......Up to 4.5L Dexron II ATF fluid.

Wheel bearings....Lithium base wheel bearing grease NLGI No.2

Propshafts....
Spiders and slide yokes..Lithium base chassis grease NLGI No.2

Double cardan joint......Molydbenum-disulfide lithium base chassis grease NLGI No.2

Ball joints......Molydbenum-disulfide lithium base chassis grease NLGI No.1 or No.2

Front drive shaft drive bushings....Molydbenum-disulfide lithium base chassis grease NLGI No.2

Clutch fluid...SAE J1703 or FMVSS No.116 DOT 3

Anti Roll bar
Stabilizer Bush, part No Y48815-20200
Stab. Bush Bracket, part No Y48823-35060

BRAKES

Minimum pedal floor clearance when depressed...60mm
Pedal freeplay.....3-6mm
Parking brake adjustment.....13-19 clicks
Brake fluid...SAE J1703 or FMVSS No.116 DOT 3

LN130 (bought for 1990 truck)Genuine Toyota pads, Part No.04465-YZZAF (Fit Hilux 8/88-current, LC70 1/90-current.

KZN185 (bought for 1996 truck) Genuine Toyota pads, Part No. 04465 35280.

STEERING

Wheel free play....>30mm
Power Steering fluid..... ATF fluid Dextron-II.

TYRES

265/70 R15 110S....
Front 29psi, rear 29psi Loaded or unloaded
215 R15 100S....
Front 28psi, rear 33psi Loaded or unloaded

ENGINE

3VZ-E
Engine oil.........4.2L (4.5 inc filter)

1KZ-T
Engine oil.........7L (8L inc filter)

A102 Oil Filter Toyota Part No. T90915-30002

2L-T
Engine oil.........5.8L (6.8 inc filter)

Oil Grade.
Petrol.....
API SG or SH multigrade, or ILSAC multigrade.
Recommended viscosity....
Diesel.....
API CD or better

Filter Cross Referance Numbers

Oil Filters (all diesels)....
Toyota 90915-30002
Fram PH5123
Fiaam FT5429
Tecnocar RD1216
Unipart GFE328
Mahle OC275
Purflux LS895
Mann WP928/80

Fuel Filters (all diesels)....
Toyota
Unipart GFE5316
Mann WK828
Mahle KC83
Fram P4922
Fiaam FP5091

Air Filters...

2.4TD...
Mahle LX606
Mann C20189
Fram CA3688
Fiaam FL6806

3.0TD (2nd Gen KZN130)...
TBA

3.0TD (3rd Gen KZN185)...
Toyota 17801-67030

V-Belts

3.0TD 3rd Gen KZN185....
Fan/Alt belt 90916-02385 x2
aircon belt 90916-02397

Fault Codes

To get the basic diagnostic codes, find the grey box marked Diagnostics, and join connections TE1 and E1 together. Then turn the ignition on and count the flashes of the check light.
2 figure codes have a small gap between flashes, longer gaps between individual codes, continuous flashes means all clear.

Pull the ECD fuse for 10 sec or so to clear old codes.

Diagnostic fault codes for the 2LTE diesel engine.

1 - Normal
2 - Turbo boost pressure sensor
4 - Coolant temperature sensor
5 - Correction resistance (Pump)
6 - Pump speed sensor (Pump)
7 - Throttle position sensor
8 - Intake air temperature sensor
9 - Vehicle speed sensor
10 - Starter switch
11 - Switch sign (Vehicle not in P or N or A/C on)
12 - Timer control valve (Pump)
13 - Crank position sensor

1KZ/TE codes....

Vacuum pump rotors......Toyota Part 29331-56070
'89-'91 cars use four and the '91-'94 cars with the later type of alternator use three.

Starter Motor.....

Plunger, Magnet Switch (Solenoid) Part No. 28235-17030
Fits 2LTE, 3L..LN13# IKZTE, 2L#, KZN130, LN108,112,85..4FC

Starter Kit, Motor Terminal (The bit the plunger hits and connects the starter motor) Part No. 28226-54220

Starter Kit, Battery Terminal (The other bit the plunger hits) Part No. 28226-54320

Cooling........

1KZ/TE 71*C thermostat 90916-03121

Coolant...

3VZ-E.....10L (9.8 with Auto)
2L-T......9.1L
1KZ-T.....10L

Type......Ethylene-glycol antifeeze/anticorrosive

Thermostat (91' 2.4)..... 88 degree (Toyota part no 16340 54010)
Cap (91' 2.4)..... 0.9 bar (Toyotoa part no 16401 63010)

2LT/E Electric fan temp sender......
Toyota part number T83420-20020

Cylinder Head............

2.4 2LT/E
1st stage 58ft/lb 78nm
2nd stage 90 degree turn
3rd stage 90 degree turn.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 16th, 2010, 6:34 pm

From a Haynes manual for surf....

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 16th, 2010, 9:58 pm

I have more that i got from a site.....but donot know how to get it to zoom out when i post it up.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 16th, 2010, 10:09 pm

aidan wrote:SNIPER 3000,check PM.

sweeks,u have access to 2LTE parts? I was going through the Trucks and Pickup forum, looks like we need to join the 3NE2NR diesel boys on a run! :mrgreen:

Those 2LTE parts move too slow to stock ... sorry.

There's a run on the 24th. Feel free to join.

droppa

Postby droppa » January 18th, 2010, 8:27 am

went and looked at some surf this wekend...

1. 25K, in a total mess, has a 2l, id tag says 3l, the centre console, was auto and they cut it up for manual, alot of rot spots, as i said its in a mess, saw this on a ad in the express....

2. 35K on sale and 45k from today cause the sale ended saturday, recently painted, 2l turbo manual, the tire dry rot...the van was parked up for some good years, so long that the clutch disc stuck, and they had to replace it. The van is in good condition, buh after being parked up so long, real thing will go bad when i start to jam that... its by Ramo in cunupia...

3. 55K now assembled, 1KZ turbo auto, fully powered in real good condition, thisone by prakky in chin chin....

all them van Unregistered..... :roll:

still looking.... :shock:

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 18th, 2010, 10:19 pm

Guy here is a pic. of my surf

Here is the 5L

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 19th, 2010, 1:30 pm

What engine is that?

2LT?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 19th, 2010, 3:45 pm

sweeks,
5L

aidan

Postby aidan » January 19th, 2010, 7:16 pm

SNIPER 3000,your surf looking real bess! i liking the front crash bar!

d yute in the first pic, like he wana take a drive!len im d keys!

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 19th, 2010, 8:00 pm

aidan,

The yute could start the surf, when he is out side i have to make sure it is locked.

Hey, how is your milage on your surf. From 1/4 tank mines takes $60 to fill up and i get 400kms from full to 1/4 tank. So about 15cents a kilo.

aidan

Postby aidan » January 19th, 2010, 8:43 pm

^^lol.

Yea about the same here wit fuel mileage. Sometimes i get a bit more when my school>home run later in the night when it have no traffic.

I forgot to mention. I disconnected the batteries for about a day and a half and left the headlight switch on, last week when I was home since they say that disconnecting the battery for 8hrs or more with the headlight switch in the on position should reset the ECU, so i did a day+ just to be sure. It made a big difference. Engine shutdown was smoother, less smoke on acceleration, smoother acceleration, and generally feeling better (don't know if is mind over matter but give it a try!).

aidan

Postby aidan » January 19th, 2010, 9:33 pm

Check this out!

Suspension:
Full custom 26inch suspension Lift + 4inch BodyLIft, 49 inch SUPER SWAMPER MUD tyres CUSTOM EVERYTHING

Engine:
TRD Supercharger Kit , HKS intercooler, HKS Air intake system , Full Jaos exhaust system , Koyo Radiator

Exterior:
Kaddis Front Bar + Bash Plate, Kaddis Rear Bar, Custom Grille, Bomber Carbon-Fibre over Fenders, Window Tint, IPF Foglights

:shock: :shock: :shock:

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 19th, 2010, 9:38 pm

WOW^

I wonder if i have an ECU still :oops:

droppa

Postby droppa » January 20th, 2010, 10:28 am

MONSTASURF dey star......look at the suspension on that sucker....

droppa

Postby droppa » January 20th, 2010, 1:18 pm

wats the difference in surf between SSR-X/V/Z limited.. :?: :?:

trying to find out this, colour, trim, drivetrain,whels, interior,guages :?: :?:

Postby AllTrac » January 20th, 2010, 1:56 pm

i HATE the red interior surf's thing is the higher end ones come with the red interior :(

aidan

Postby aidan » January 20th, 2010, 2:07 pm

AllTrac,u mean this

:| :| :wtf:

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 20th, 2010, 2:31 pm

What modle came like that^

Postby AllTrac » January 20th, 2010, 2:36 pm

aidan wrote:AllTrac,u mean this

:| :| :wtf:

yup, its to much, i feel i need a fuzzy dice, and pimp stick when i stepping out of that

aidan

Postby aidan » January 20th, 2010, 9:11 pm

^^haha, and a fur coat. SNIPER 3000,i think the SSR-V limited like that, with the sunroof etc, and the cool clinometer on the left side.

Return to “TOYOTA”