Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Re: Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 24th, 2018, 6:21 pm

ADONI wrote:I used Mobile 1 for the drive-train.... $100 a qt....
I go have to pass around a few places to make sure i getting it and that i getting the correct stuff.

If i get thru this week i'll post some details.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 26th, 2018, 10:40 am

It having rell thing on the outside

So far: i found 75w90 belray gl5 for lsd
Liquimoly gl4/gl5 75w90
NP gl5 for lsd
Castrol 75w90 gl5 for lsd
Kendall 75w90 gl4/gl5
Valvoline 75w90 for lsd

Prices varying from 85qt to 170qt.

I eh buy nuttin yet....

Postby *KRONIK* » April 30th, 2018, 6:55 am

Update

I got valvoline 75w90 gl5 lsd for the rear and front diffs
Also got 75w90 amsoil gl4/gl5 for the transfer case.

Looking to do that plus transmission fluids this week

Don Mohammed

Postby Don Mohammed » April 30th, 2018, 9:39 am

Toyota surf 2nd gen (1993). Clack sound in back when switching between reverse and drive ( or drive to reverse). Someone told me that it’s normal?? Don’t know just asking

Postby *KRONIK* » May 1st, 2018, 5:40 pm

Mih horn not working when i driving straight.
Only on corners. It so annoying.

I was told it was the spiral cable.
I was quoted 2800 to replace it.

Wth!

Don Mohammed

Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

Postby Don Mohammed » May 1st, 2018, 7:24 pm

Last edited by Don Mohammed on May 1st, 2018, 7:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Don Mohammed

Postby Don Mohammed » May 1st, 2018, 7:25 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Mih horn not working when i driving straight.

Wth!

It is the spiral. What vehicle. If you have other steering functions ( ie radio controls) a technician can switch one of them with the horn.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 1st, 2018, 7:27 pm

Don Mohammed wrote:

Wth!

It is the spiral. What vehicle. If you have other steering functions ( ie radio controls) a technician can switch one of them with the horn.
2011 hilux
No other controls on steering

Don Mohammed

Postby Don Mohammed » May 1st, 2018, 7:40 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
Don Mohammed wrote:

Wth!

2011 hilux
No other controls on steering

Most likely it would have the harness and jacks for the other controls. Check Boodoo’s electrical in Montrose Chaguanas. He did mine for me about $60.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 1st, 2018, 7:41 pm

Ok

I seeing new ones online for like 15US
I think i'll buy 1 and just change it

Postby pugboy » May 2nd, 2018, 5:18 am

what is the spiral cable ?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 2nd, 2018, 8:50 am

Bought my clock spring/spiral cable from Amayama about three years ago. Landed was TT$1,100.
FU was TT$1,400 and by ROC was TT$1,800 new.
I saw the US$15 one, but was skeptical and the original I bought was a PN change, guess it was a revised one.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 2nd, 2018, 1:03 pm

pugboy wrote:what is the spiral cable ?
Thats the thingy behind the steering with the wires for the horn/radio/airbag

Btw: i was hailing u out just now...by the caroni bridge.
Lol

Postby *KRONIK* » May 2nd, 2018, 1:06 pm

ADONI wrote:Bought my clock spring/spiral cable from Amayama about three years ago. Landed was TT$1,100.
FU was TT$1,400 and by ROC was TT$1,800 new.
I saw the US$15 one, but was skeptical and the original I bought was a PN change, guess it was a revised one.
I bought one of the 15US ones.
Waiting for that to arrive.

Located an OE in thailand. But will cost around 1700 landed

Postby pugboy » May 2nd, 2018, 3:19 pm

Was real traffic on highway so went behind but still took longer

*KRONIK* wrote:
pugboy wrote:what is the spiral cable ?
Thats the thingy behind the steering with the wires for the horn/radio/airbag

Btw: i was hailing u out just now...by the caroni bridge.
Lol

Postby *KRONIK* » May 3rd, 2018, 7:27 am

2 things:

1) how come it 2 hilux threads. This 1 and another tech thread?
Which is for which?

2) i got some of the fluids changed yesterday. Transmission fluid/strainer/gasket. Plus diffs and transfer case.

On a side note: i met a guy with a 2012 hilux 1kd 4x4 auto doing almost 300,000kms.
He said he never changed and of the fluids except the coolant and transmission. And not the strainer, just drain and refill.
I was amazed.

Looking to do coolant, brake fluid and power steering sometime soon.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 8th, 2018, 2:23 pm

20180508_142151.jpg

Clock spring/spiral cable reach.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 8th, 2018, 4:45 pm

Don Mohammed wrote:Toyota surf 2nd gen (1993). Clack sound in back when switching between reverse and drive ( or drive to reverse). Someone told me that it’s normal?? Don’t know just asking

Used to get that when in 4x4 mode. Other thing could be a play in the axle and transfer box. Go under and turn the axle with your hand see how much play you are getting before the axle engages.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 8th, 2018, 4:48 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:2 things:

1) how come it 2 hilux threads. This 1 and another tech thread? this was originally a surf thread, then the original guys sold their surfs and got Hiluxs
Which is for which?

2) i got some of the fluids changed yesterday. Transmission fluid/strainer/gasket. Plus diffs and transfer case.

On a side note: i met a guy with a 2012 hilux 1kd 4x4 auto doing almost 300,000kms.
He said he never changed and of the fluids except the coolant and transmission. And not the strainer, just drain and refill.
I was amazed. yep sometimes I wonder if I do too much, some people do the basic oil change and their vehicle working best.

Looking to do coolant, brake fluid and power steering sometime soon.

Postby pugboy » May 10th, 2018, 6:51 am

going to install a torsion bar tail gate assist today $500
fedup with heavy tailgate

Postby *KRONIK* » May 10th, 2018, 7:40 am

pugboy wrote:going to install a torsion bar tail gate assist today $500
fedup with heavy tailgate
Dont forget to put up pics

Postby pugboy » May 10th, 2018, 3:50 pm

$500 30min install
I think they cost around $40-50 on amazon so worth the $500tt
also need a couple guys to install to remove the tailgate

IMG_6592.JPG
IMG_6593.JPG
IMG_6594.JPG
IMG_6595.JPG

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 10th, 2018, 8:50 pm

I have a tailgate assist on my van but its just a strut..installed myself in 5 mins...no need to remove tailgate....i bought two...but only need one....i have it for sale...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 10th, 2018, 8:56 pm

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:I have a tailgate assist on my van but its just a strut..installed myself in 5 mins...no need to remove tailgate....i bought two...but only need one....i have it for sale...

This is it there...asking 550...i have a video of it in operation...real cool..but it not loading
tapatalk_1526000062872.jpeg

Postby *KRONIK* » May 10th, 2018, 9:12 pm

Does it help with up and down? Or just with down?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 10th, 2018, 9:20 pm

It opens down for itself ..
To go up not much effort needed

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2018, 5:32 am

you should take it, not a bad price at all and easy install as no removal required.
I woulda install long time if I had knew about them lol

*KRONIK* wrote:Does it help with up and down? Or just with down?

Postby *KRONIK* » May 11th, 2018, 6:36 am

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:It opens down for itself ..
To go up not much effort needed
Reason i asked is that one of the powersellers here have the GT pro down assist kit for 350.
Similar install by using factory bolt points.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 11th, 2018, 10:31 am

Well 550 was my actual cost price per strut....but regardless it works really well...

Postby *KRONIK* » May 11th, 2018, 11:30 am

Hmmmm....

Return to “TOYOTA”