My 93' Corolla from New Zealand (JDM AE100)

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

crazeedude

Re: My 93' Corolla from New Zealand (JDM AE100)

Postby crazeedude » July 14th, 2012, 3:26 pm

wow Scott these fresh piics are crazy man.

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » July 14th, 2012, 5:19 pm

Car is friggin sweeeeeeeet

kual

Postby kual » July 16th, 2012, 2:55 pm

Looks immaculate. i wonder if when i come up to nz if i would get a tush in december

Kiwi-Corolla

Postby Kiwi-Corolla » August 12th, 2012, 3:00 am

Thanks guys! :D. Yeah sure kual. Just let me know when you're over here ;)

Some new shots from me:

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » August 12th, 2012, 4:55 am

very cool my friend, never gets old :)

Kiwi-Corolla

Postby Kiwi-Corolla » August 31st, 2012, 10:35 pm

^ Thanks mate :)

I took a whole bunch of photos yesterday, and one this morning. The last one is from today and the first 7 are from yesterday :)

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » September 1st, 2012, 8:07 am

yuh killing me here :(

Kiwi-Corolla

Postby Kiwi-Corolla » September 27th, 2012, 3:04 am

I bought and installed a new radiator today as I discovered a hairline crack in the top tank of the original copper radiator which was causing the coolant to dribble out and spray all around my engine bay.

I was thinking about going for a brand new aftermarket copper radiator, but for a similar price I managed to find a full alloy radiator and luckily snapped up the last one they had in stock. It's more than double the thickness of the original copper radiator and looks a lot better too :)

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 28th, 2012, 1:42 pm

car looks good.....nice backgrounds :mrgreen:

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » September 29th, 2012, 8:16 pm

Just ensure that the thermostat in the cooling system operates well.
A new, oversize radiator (without a thermostat or one that is not closing properly) can have the engine operating below optimum temperature, diminishing smoothness, and increasing gas consumption.
Regards,
RR.

paviya

Postby paviya » October 8th, 2012, 5:57 am

Really nice sharing....

znoj

Postby znoj » November 26th, 2012, 1:08 am

very nice and neat corolla, hope my 101 will look clean and glozzy
got a very mesy engine bay need to do some minor repair with the ST

Kiwi-Corolla

Postby Kiwi-Corolla » January 19th, 2013, 10:04 pm

Hey guys, it's been a while since I updated this thread. I've done quite a few things since then, including a 4A-GE 20v Blacktop engine swap which I've been wanting to do for years :)

The complete list of new mods since last time is:

* 4A-GE 20v Blacktop engine conversion with C56 5-speed gearbox.
* 110mm trumpets for the ITB's.
* Techno Toy Tuning ITB splash guard.
* AE111 Toyota Sprinter Carib BZ Touring OEM sideskirts.
* Changed 180kph speedometer to 240kph version.
* Installed rare OEM A-pillar map light (optional extra).
* Installed rare OEM Conlight (optional extra).

If anyone would like me to post photos of any of the recent mods above just let me know as I've already taken photos after installing them.

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » January 19th, 2013, 11:06 pm

wow,not only the look but the muscle to go with it, I'm officially jealous :(

Kiwi-Corolla

Postby Kiwi-Corolla » January 19th, 2013, 11:25 pm

reddo_tuner wrote:wow,not only the look but the muscle to go with it, I'm officially jealous :(

Thanks bro :D

Here's some videos of me revving it after installing the trumpets and also a video of me driving it at full throttle 8-)

Revving: http://youtu.be/sbXTAI_guvk

Driving: http://youtu.be/9BtZLpzcong

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » January 20th, 2013, 1:00 am

wow!!!!

where did you get the 240kph speedo to buy.....?

Kiwi-Corolla

Postby Kiwi-Corolla » January 20th, 2013, 1:10 am

Monster 101 wrote:wow!!!!

where did you get the 240kph speedo to buy.....?

The 240kph version is OEM for the local market here. Japanese market only came with 180kph.

Here's some pics:

Postby Hook » January 22nd, 2013, 11:09 am

Nice! Will it read correctly though?

Kiwi-Corolla

Postby Kiwi-Corolla » January 22nd, 2013, 2:28 pm

Hook wrote:Nice! Will it read correctly though?

Thanks. Yeah it reads perfectly, in fact I was surprised to see that it was more accurate than my 180kph speedometer. When compared to the GPS my 180kph speedometer was 4kph out after the engine swap (so I was actually doing 96kph at an indicated 100kph), but after swapping in the 240kph speedometer the difference is only 1kph out (99kph and an indicated 100kph). The AE101 uses an electronic speed sensor so there was no calibration required :)

Kiwi-Corolla

Postby Kiwi-Corolla » January 26th, 2013, 2:13 am

I bought and installed some TRD spark plug leads today:

Also bought an FGK header set and spent the afternoon polishing it up (only the parts that are visible when installed). Will probably chuck it on in a couple of weeks:

Postby Hook » January 26th, 2013, 7:08 am

Nice! What length and diameter are those primaries?

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » January 26th, 2013, 8:38 am

Hook, maybe we should move to New Zealand

Postby Hook » January 26th, 2013, 9:10 am

Hahahaha totally bro!
*high fives reddo*

Tell u what, I'm working on a wormhole project so kiwi could send me stuff, sans shipping costs. If that doesn't pan out, we're moving!

Kiwi-Corolla

Postby Kiwi-Corolla » January 29th, 2013, 12:47 am

I'm not sure of the length/diameter of the primaries sorry man as I haven't checked, but they look like they'll do a much better job than factory :)

Haha yeah, come on over guys!! :D :D

I changed my front lip in the weekend. Decided I wanted something slightly fatter to give the front end a 'fuller' look - The only problem was that the particular front lip I wanted was extremely hard to find. After searching the local junkyards and wreckers for about a year I finally managed to find one a week ago.

The actual lip itself is a genuine Toyota item which was a factory optional extra for the 1997-2001 Toyota Caldina (ST215, JDM). Since they were only available as an option, the vast majority of Caldinas don't have them fitted, which is why it took so long for me to find one. Got one in the end though and did a bit of custom work to make it fit. The fitment was very close but I had to heat it up to adjust the curvature a bit.

Here's some pics that I took today:

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » February 3rd, 2013, 10:22 pm

Hook wrote:Hahahaha totally bro!
*high fives reddo*

Tell u what, I'm working on a wormhole project so kiwi could send me stuff, sans shipping costs. If that doesn't pan out, we're moving!

no problem :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Kiwi-Corolla

Postby Kiwi-Corolla » February 17th, 2013, 1:59 am

Here's some new photos that I took yesterday:

Kiwi-Corolla

Postby Kiwi-Corolla » February 22nd, 2013, 1:21 am

Here's my latest addition which I installed yesterday - A very rare genuine Toyota Graphic Equalizer!! :D. This was only available as an additional option for customers who purchased the Super Live Sound System option when the car was purchased brand new in Japan. The EQ was a rather pricey add-on so there aren't many of these units floating around out there. They were available for all of the AE101 models (this particular one came out of an AE101 FX-GT) and various other models of that same era.

When I found it the plug had been chopped off and it was disconnected, so it was a bit of a gamble as to if it actually worked, but fortunately a guy I know in Australia had also managed to get his hands on one late last year for his AE101 Levin and had already figured out which wires went where and was able to provide me with all of the info I needed to make the installation quick and easy :). I had to convert the factory audio wires to RCA connectors so that it was compatible with my modern day head-unit and aftermarket amplifier, but apart from that everything else was virtually a cut-and-splice type of job.

The equalizer allows you to adjust the audio settings very precisely, ranging from thumping bass to ear-piecing highs, with 3 programmable user presets to select from depending on which genre of music you're listening to so that you can basically 'set it and forget it'. Otherwise you can adjust each individual setting to your liking by going through the frequency tuning screen and moving the levels up or down. As for the visualizations, there are 3 different display settings and 2 display level settings. I personally like the traditional graph-type display, however the drop-type and 'bounce' type display settings are also cool to watch. You can set it to stay on one particular display setting or have it revolve to different settings as you're driving.

The buttons light up when the park lights/headlights are turned on and the display is able to be dimmed both night and day, regardless if your lights are on or not. The 'DEF' button beside the 'DIM' button standards for 'Definition'. When this is pressed/activated it basically helps to make musical instruments sound more defined. Once you've played around with all of the different settings and have discovered what works best for your particular taste, your whole audio experience is enhanced and everything sounds exactly how the producer of the music would have intended it to. It works really well with the four coaxial speakers I have installed and compliments the factory option tweeters superbly.

This is the second one I've ever known of in real-life and the first one I've ever seen anywhere over here so I decided to remove the factory option Multibox and stick this in it's place. It's been a fun little unit to play around with so far :)

Here are a couple of photos that I took today, and also a video that the guy in Australia made who I mentioned earlier (all credit for the video goes to him - Footage of the equalizer in action starts at 59s) -

http://youtu.be/AfMOJdgO59k?t=58s

Postby Hook » February 22nd, 2013, 10:12 am

I am so jelly brah

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » February 25th, 2013, 9:13 pm

bwuh wuh d bloodclot! where you finding these things????

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » February 26th, 2013, 12:34 am

i didn't even know corollas had all them options....

the dealers down here does want to buss yuh throat with high prices for them options yess.......

Return to “TOYOTA”