1az rebuild jk

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Re: 1az swap/replacement?

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 13th, 2013, 12:07 pm

Vid of knock at startup up

Re: 1az rebuild *knock vid added pg2*

Postby Hook » October 13th, 2013, 3:03 pm

Ugh...bearing knock. Sry to hear that.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » October 26th, 2013, 8:43 pm

sound like a piston slap to me. is it consistent or quiet of after startup

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 27th, 2013, 9:01 am

After start up it is normal, if I rev past 2.5k rpm it knocks when I let off the ex briefly.

Still smoking a lot

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 28th, 2013, 1:54 pm

Sooo my mech is now suggesting i get a new block rather than scrap out my engine and deal with whats in there.

Should I? My current block wasnt cut previously, it was honed, never overheated so it should be fine right?

Postby Hook » October 28th, 2013, 2:09 pm

Mech want yuh out he garage dan.
It's up to you to cut your losses, but personally, I'd wanna leave there with a rebuilt engine for all the trouble.

Postby Team Loco » October 28th, 2013, 2:27 pm

From the time your mech said you dont need a thermostat, yuh gone wrong one time

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 28th, 2013, 2:32 pm

Figured he was trying that.

Ill have to accept that $4000 a loss :lol:

Waiting for a next mech to call me back.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 28th, 2013, 2:36 pm

Team Loco wrote:From the time your mech said you dont need a thermostat, yuh gone wrong one time

This get me vex , the man just pull it out and throw it away and i watching wondering why something missing :|

Re: 1az rebuild jk

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 5th, 2014, 8:52 am

Sooooooooo I got an engine out of a picnic doing 100k from seenath in the bamboo with a discount so I ran with it :lol: I kinda regret the rebuild but at least now I have a fair knowledge behind the 1az motor and a big box of spares.

Things I have learnt:

Do not trust family members who say their mechanic good but only changes oil by them.

Do not go to a mechanic and choose convenience over peace of mind. Ill post pics later of the utter mess that was done.

So I have the van at home, running, I have to organize the thermostat as well as a rad cap.

SNIPER 3000

Re: 1az rebuild jk

Postby SNIPER 3000 » November 2nd, 2016, 9:25 pm

Kurpal, did you have any transmission problems?
Currently my 4th gear is not shifting looking like the over speed sensor.
Any suggestions?

Return to “TOYOTA”