COROLLA AE100, AE101 MEN UNITE, THIS PAGE IS FOR YOU

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

siwel

Re: COROLLA AE100, AE101 MEN UNITE, THIS PAGE IS FOR YOU

Postby siwel » July 5th, 2014, 1:39 pm

100/101 tuners, This is a long post, bear with me, I need allyuh help.
Since I put in the f/used tranny I felt like the car was forcing a little, I had to press the X a lil more to go, especially with the a/c on. The idle was a lil stronger than normal too. I did a lil reading and it seemed like i needed to clean the throttle body and iac valve. (Note: my tacho not working.)Went to the mechanic this morning armed with my Penray Gumsolve. The mechanic took off the tb and spray down and brush the whole thing. The whole thing! Then he took off the IACV and spray it down some more. There are two parts where some electrical connectors go. One on the TB, one on the IACV. Both of them get a good washing. I asked the man if them ting supposed to get contact cleaner and not carb cleaner? He say contact cleaner is for electrical parts :? While he was washing the IACV he showed me that the valve was opening and sticking. He spray and spray and it start to open and shut. So he put back on the IACV and put up the TB. Car idling high like a kite. He tell me the valve not working and I need a new throttle body. (Like the man trying to get sales for Toyota). I say but it was working before, he say no it wasnt.
Anyway he put a piece of cloth in the TB????? and the idle gone down, not to the normal quiet, but to the way it was when I came in the shop.
He tell me go and check the electrician and see if the connectors that hooking up to the pins on the IACV getting current. I went and they were getting current and the electrician sounded disappointed in my mechanic.
So my fellow tuners, any advice?
Can the IACV be repaired?
Whats the price of a TB? can I buy an IACV alone?
What about this pc of cloth in my TB?
Should I fire my mechanic?
Was the TB the prob in the 1st place?

juggernaught

Postby juggernaught » July 5th, 2014, 3:07 pm

hook i got the kit from Faiz in marabella, got it for $80 you can pay them a visit if you like.

Postby Hook » July 5th, 2014, 8:18 pm

juggernaught wrote:hook i got the kit from Faiz in marabella, got it for $80 you can pay them a visit if you like.

Did you ask specifically for an AE101 Corolla rear disc brake kit, or is it from another vehicle?

Postby Hook » July 5th, 2014, 8:23 pm

Siwel, did you reset the ECU after all that tb and iscv cleaning?

juggernaught

Postby juggernaught » July 6th, 2014, 10:48 am

Yeah i did, all the guy asked me is if it was local used or foreign used, and its the ae100/ae101 caliper kit, i even brought along the caliper so he can make sure.

clmcarlyle

Postby clmcarlyle » July 6th, 2014, 4:13 pm

hey guys,

i have a ae101. it got hit on the left side. i got everything to repair it except the centre door post. all d parts place saying that i have to buy a half to get it. if anyone here has it pm me.

Postby Hook » July 6th, 2014, 4:51 pm

juggernaught wrote:Yeah i did, all the guy asked me is if it was local used or foreign used, and its the ae100/ae101 caliper kit, i even brought along the caliper so he can make sure.

The REAR DISC caliper?
Forgive the questions. I not driving to Marabella if is something else they have. I wasn't even aware that local AE101 corollas came with rear disc brakes :lol:

juggernaught

Postby juggernaught » July 6th, 2014, 6:33 pm

its the rear, but my car is the ae100 im not sure if the kit or rear brakes would be different for the 101 but they have the caliper kit im sure buddy. im from POS and i drove all the way down there for it.

hyperdude

Postby hyperdude » July 6th, 2014, 7:57 pm

my 101 has rear disc brakes and I recently changed the pads
just took them off and carried them and got a set,the box just said new model corolla
Chaguanas has everything...

Postby Hook » July 7th, 2014, 2:07 am

juggernaught wrote:its the rear, but my car is the ae100 im not sure if the kit or rear brakes would be different for the 101 but they have the caliper kit im sure buddy. im from POS and i drove all the way down there for it.

Excellent.

The sad news is that some idiot hit my front right corner last night, denting my fender, smashing my corner light, breaking my park light clips and rubbing the bumper, so I'll be sending ye olde hookmobile in the body shop sooner than planned.
Dunno if I wanna just repair the damage or do the entire car one time, but I'm also studying that it's rainy season and I ain't able travelling for too long if every other day is rain.

hyperdude

Postby hyperdude » July 7th, 2014, 7:33 am

i guess chit happens eh....:evil:

sherif

Postby sherif » July 7th, 2014, 7:40 am

What about dx wagon and L touring lolx

Postby Hook » July 7th, 2014, 7:51 am

sherif wrote:What about dx wagon and L touring lolx

What about them?

siwel

Postby siwel » July 7th, 2014, 2:05 pm

Hook wrote:Siwel, did you reset the ECU after all that tb and iscv cleaning?

No boy Hook. I was hoping the mechanic would do everything necessary.
I just now went by Steve Changa in McBean and I did a diagnostic test (I actually went to reset the ECU, after I saw your reply, but they said that would do no good now). The scan came up with Throttle Position Sensor and Idle Control Valve. His advice - need a new throttle body.
And I still have a piece a cloth in my engine, too funny yes. If I dont laugh I might cry. So is off to the Bamboo tomorrow... Dont know where that $500 coming from yet...

siwel

Postby siwel » July 9th, 2014, 2:04 pm

Right so I'm back in order. Steve Changa garage, good service. So Hook, who is your straightener?

Mr.wowzer

Postby Mr.wowzer » July 24th, 2014, 3:55 pm

Hey doz any 1 know d size of d toyota ae111 4a timing belt????

hyperdude

Postby hyperdude » July 24th, 2014, 4:02 pm

some of the belts have different sizes
I usually take mine out and carry it
when I want to change
the guys check the no of teeth
and give me a belt to match...
Gates is a good brand...

Mr.wowzer

Postby Mr.wowzer » July 25th, 2014, 4:04 am

Tanx hyperdude[VICTORY HAND]️

trinimanic

Postby trinimanic » August 3rd, 2014, 11:53 pm

Pressure fellas. Bought a left apron for my ae100 and now the straightener telling me it not going to work. Thing is when I bought it from the parts ppl the man tell me it go work. I real fed up of parts dealers down here yes. Doubt I getting back my money cause by the time straightener tell me it not going to work ah month done pass. Wasteing time and money. So back to the bamboo sighs. Thank God I love my Rolla cause this is pain

trinimanic

Postby trinimanic » August 3rd, 2014, 11:53 pm

Just needed to vent :x lol

Postby Hook » August 4th, 2014, 12:29 am

What reason did he give for why it won't work?

trinimanic

Postby trinimanic » August 4th, 2014, 4:49 pm

He said that it was a little longer than the apron that is on the car. I was under the impression that all ae1xx models could interchange. I am going to see for my self tomorrow so i would be able to give the specifics on why it not working

trinimanic

Postby trinimanic » August 4th, 2014, 4:52 pm

Public transport FTW

trinimanic

Postby trinimanic » August 6th, 2014, 11:48 am

Have an update. So it seems that my Rolla has one of the transmission mount bracket on the left apron so that is why the apron I bought Cannot work. To make matters worse I tried 3 other parts place and all the aprons they have don't have this mount bracket. Still attempting to look but might have to machine it. The pressure continue

trinimanic

Postby trinimanic » August 8th, 2014, 2:31 pm

Some more info. So it seem that the apron I got was for an AE103. Which does not carry the transmission mount bracket which Is needed for the Ae100. The small details that are over looked can cause the most problems. Now is just to get my money back. Would place pic for you all to see

myname2

Postby myname2 » August 15th, 2014, 6:02 pm

Moderator edit.
Please post your items for sale in the parts and accessories classifieds forums, or the fs thread stickied at the top of this forum.

juggernaught

Postby juggernaught » August 21st, 2014, 12:06 am

anyone knows where i can get a ae100 rear disc pair of spindles to buy??i bought a pair of disc brakes and the spindles different to my application the arms not working back.

Postby Hook » August 21st, 2014, 12:40 am

O rly? Post pics of what you bought.

juggernaught

Postby juggernaught » August 21st, 2014, 8:14 am

yeah hook boy, i found out that when you do the conversion the wheels are sent 10mm more inside than when you had on drums and that have the rim rubbing on the coil over shaft and then other than that i had to cut and join the toe arm because the knuckles on the spindle different, it has rose joints instead of solid bushings.
IMG_0644.jpg
IMG_0644.jpg (30.08 KiB) Viewed 16725 times

juggernaught

Postby juggernaught » August 21st, 2014, 8:17 am

a set up like this i needed
10202110.jpg

Return to “TOYOTA”