WTK: Fielder CVT

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

eg8

WTK: Fielder CVT

Postby eg8 » January 26th, 2014, 5:03 pm

Hey toyota fellas, I have a 2008 fielder which has CVT transmission, one of my friends who works toyota suggested that I install an oil cooler, he said it helps on saving the transmission. Have anyone of you heard this or tried it before?

2.0VW

Re: WTK: Fielder CVT

Postby 2.0VW » January 26th, 2014, 5:09 pm

Yea I heard about it also read about installing a oil cooler online to help preserve the tranny life .
I also have a fielder with cvt tyranny but haven't installed an oil cooler yet.
What I do is change my oil regularly.

eg8

Postby eg8 » January 26th, 2014, 6:55 pm

How often is regular? was told once a year should be fine

2.0VW

Postby 2.0VW » January 27th, 2014, 9:54 am

Well regular can be both checked by mileage and by date.
From what I've read on the net and what I've been told by some transmission ppl some recommend 20k/km, 40k/km,50k/km.
Some recommend 6 months, 8 months, 1 year.
It's all due to your driving habits.
Long high speed driving.
Plenty Maracas.
Plenty stop n go traffic.
So that's where you decide what regular is and how it applies to you.
(My opinion)the addition of the oil cooler is the best option.

eg8

Postby eg8 » January 27th, 2014, 10:12 am

Yeh i was thinking that...I'll look around and get some prices etc...thanks alot

eg8

Postby eg8 » January 28th, 2014, 2:27 pm

ok here my problem cant find my transmission lines in the 1.8 engine? where it gone lol

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » January 28th, 2014, 3:15 pm

interesting talk here..where to buy of those i was tinking the same about that..my driving is long..very long..i drive arima to sando for wrk..i have the 1500 version and i really noticed it has threadings for like bolts in there..eg8 hoss u have a bes engine there,,heard is rel power

eg8

Postby eg8 » January 28th, 2014, 5:13 pm

yeh it does respond much quicker than the 1500....peak performance on tuner has mishimoto the transmission cooler for 650 and the heavy duty mishimoto with fan for 1099...he said they also have other chinese frands for 5** up.....

I thought I could have installed myself but i still looking for my transmission lines...not seeing it coming to the radiator like my other vehicles

outrider

Postby outrider » January 28th, 2014, 9:22 pm

ok.....the transmission has a cooler already.......look for the coolant lines going from the engine to transmission and back.....

eg8

Postby eg8 » January 29th, 2014, 10:12 am

found it ...thanks alot outrider just have to figure out return side shouldnt be too hard

For anyone else who's looking for them....go under the car look at the sump pan on the passenger side that's the transmission oil sump (i think they call it)...ne ways the 2 lines are easily seen
Last edited by eg8 on January 29th, 2014, 10:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » January 29th, 2014, 10:14 am

lil more info to this big topic here..gud reading
http://www.pakwheels.com/forums/d-i-y-p ... ansmission

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » January 29th, 2014, 10:16 am

oh tanx guys for the info on the cooler..

trinimark

Postby trinimark » March 4th, 2014, 3:31 pm

I recently bought an '08 1.5 141 Fielder and would like to know it there are any symptoms when the trans fluid needs changing, because while driving I sometimes hear an indistinct "woooo" inside the car. Has anyone found a service centre capable of doing a proper change procedure on the trans fluid?

eg8

Postby eg8 » March 7th, 2014, 6:40 pm

Just an Update:
To change cvt oil (Flush)
Chaguanas Atuo $950 Labour + Oil
Autonation $550 + oil
Jenton $230 + Oil

trinimark

Postby trinimark » March 10th, 2014, 1:27 pm

Thanks for the info. I don’t mean to belabour the point but do they ensure that the fluid doesn’t exceed the correct level, and have you personally used any of them?

eg8

Postby eg8 » March 11th, 2014, 7:02 am

I used autonation already....will try Jenton this month
The machine ensures the exact amt of fluid that goes in is the same amt that comes out....

trinimark

Postby trinimark » March 11th, 2014, 7:53 am

I read somewhere that the fluid capacity is between 3.8 and 4.0 litres, and that if it's overfilled it can do irreparable damage to the trans. Where do you get the fluid to buy and is it the Toyota CVT-TC fluid?

eg8

Postby eg8 » March 11th, 2014, 8:08 am

yeh its the toyota CVT-TC......can get it by auto village in el socorro

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 10th, 2014, 2:48 pm

Hey did any of u fielder me installed a oil cooler yet? Jus thought I would bring back up this thought..also anywhere does do this or is diy

trinimark

Postby trinimark » April 10th, 2014, 4:33 pm

I haven't installed one, but up to today the thought crossed my mind to do it. A good mechanic can do it for you, but if you're so inclined you can diy, it will help you to connect more with your ride.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 11th, 2014, 10:14 am

Tanx for the info dats gonna be nex mth ptoject n changing my air filter to k n air filter..

trinimark

Postby trinimark » April 11th, 2014, 11:41 am

Where you getting the K&N to buy? I want to replace the OEM with one.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 11th, 2014, 1:06 pm

Ohh I not buying d cone I buy the stock box filter at sheriffs in sando or either orderin it frm amazon I saw it for around 40 usd online

striver

Postby striver » April 11th, 2014, 2:02 pm

what ive seen is that water from the engine is used to cool the oil cooler

so im wondering how an oil cooler will be installed

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 12th, 2014, 12:07 am

Hmm I feel with d use of the radiator coolant which will circulate around d the cooler..also I saw some with a fan similair to a radiator fan..

eg8

Postby eg8 » April 12th, 2014, 9:00 am

oil cooler will mount infront the radiator, n the tranny oil that goes to the vehicles (factory oil cooler) can then leave that oil cooler and enter the aftermarket oil cooler....comes like double cooling......some oil cooler (heavy duty) comes with a fan....some dont

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 12th, 2014, 4:26 pm

So wait the nze 141 1.5 cc comes wit a tranny cooler already?

eg8

Postby eg8 » April 13th, 2014, 7:32 am

i can speak for the 1.8 but i think the 1.5 as well....however it is still recommended to install an aftermarket

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 13th, 2014, 8:53 am

Ohh scene..I gonna see abt that as my driving does be long.by chance u installed any?

eg8

Postby eg8 » April 13th, 2014, 3:41 pm

have plans of doing it this upcoming weekend...a dyi...
besides the oil cooler will have to get a male to male connector...not sure if i will get any down here

something like this

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Hayden-392-Oil- ... 1163523150

Return to “TOYOTA”