THE OFFICIAL MITSUBISHI Q & A THREAD (NO BUY OR SELL POSTS!)

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Re: Ask ANY QUESTION HERE!! (NO WTB posts!)

Postby rollingstock » January 3rd, 2012, 10:20 am

^ Which engine? Head and block may be the cheaper route.

kjs32

Postby kjs32 » January 3rd, 2012, 10:57 am

it's the 2.0 GDI (i believe).

is head and block as effective for the long term as opposed to gettin a new engine all together???

Postby rollingstock » January 3rd, 2012, 11:09 am

4G94 then?

A lot of persons buy misc parts off the engines, especially throttle body & intake, High pressure pump etc, so usually for these engines you can get a good head and block for a reasonable price.
Just have a mechanic check the block before purchasing. Once everything else on your engine was working properly to start of with shouldn't be a problem.

kjs32

Postby kjs32 » January 3rd, 2012, 1:43 pm

Ok thanks man.

wud definitely look into the type of engine (4G94)... im still fairly clueless. never had mechanical problems on any of my vehicles.

i'm guessing my 1st stop wud be somewhere in the Bamboo to source that head and block!

Cheers

Postby rollingstock » January 3rd, 2012, 2:23 pm

^ btw what do you mean by engine went? Problem exactly?

kjs32

Postby kjs32 » January 3rd, 2012, 2:31 pm

Well the i was gettin some overheating then was told by a mechanic the gasket blew.

subsequently got that changed and the head shaved. the engine however was releasing "back pressure" and smoking (if im using those terms correctly) and i was told it wasnt gonna last very long. also one of the cylinders was completely burnt out and the others was damaged so it was producing enough power to run the car properly.

as of yes/day it isnt moving period... jus revees. wen i place in drive or reverse it violently shakes the car and cut off.

mechanic came and check it and said the engine was "gone thru" and needed to be replaced.

kjs32

Postby kjs32 » January 3rd, 2012, 3:16 pm

rollingstock wrote:^ Which engine? Head and block may be the cheaper route.

Someone is suggesting i use... A 1.8 GDI (4G93) from a Lancer is a good economical substitute. No wiring necessary, uses same harness as the 4g94.

not sure if it is practical or makes sense for my model. Any advise?

Postby rollingstock » January 3rd, 2012, 3:53 pm

^ From a Lancer?
If i remember correctly the lancer didn't come with the 1.8 gdi (4g93), however there is the turbo charged version 4g93t which is a nice swap for the galant.

kjs32

Postby kjs32 » January 4th, 2012, 9:07 am

Seems like something i need to look into.

Question... the SuperSaloon Galant... is the engines different from the VRG???

Postby rollingstock » January 4th, 2012, 1:33 pm

^ If you're referring to the local galant Supersaloon, that has a 4g63na

kjs32

Postby kjs32 » January 4th, 2012, 3:25 pm

rollingstock wrote:^ If you're referring to the local galant Supersaloon, that has a 4g63na

Man... i wish i knew more about these things so i wont have to be so inquistive BUT what does all that mean and whats the difference between the 4g63na and the 4g94

Postby rollingstock » January 4th, 2012, 3:41 pm

^ NA means natural aspiration, both engines are, the biggest difference is the 4g94 is gdi and incorporates a lot more technology than the 4g63 sohc found in the local galant.

bastec

Postby bastec » January 4th, 2012, 9:11 pm

hi i have a pajero io 4g94 burning gas, can you advice how to fix this.

Postby rollingstock » January 4th, 2012, 9:19 pm

^ When was the last time you did a complete service, proper cleaning of the throttle body and injectors (injectors have to be removed to clean properly). Are there any engine check lights on?
Do a diagnostic and check that all sensors are working, injectors firing properly and ensure you use the proper spark plugs.

btw is this the one parked up in front the business in enterprise?

ligahoo

Postby ligahoo » January 5th, 2012, 1:47 pm

When you say burning gas, can you be more specific? My iO had a problem with a fast idle, dirty injectors from a rusty gas tank and my throttle body needed to change! I did some more work with my brakes and rotors and also changed spark plugs. How many km's can you do to a full tank? Is your right foot heavy?

trinivampire

Postby trinivampire » January 6th, 2012, 9:12 pm

Hi, I am serious considering buying a 2006 roro cs2a lancer. Wanted to get some reviews from current owners on the cs2a. My other options are a tiida/wingroad, advan(if i get desperate), 2005/2006 corolla nza/fielder(might need a loan) or a local used corolla/nze. Most ppl said toyota>nissan>mistsu, but I really like lancers. Pros and cons will be very much appreciated. Thanks

p.s would really like to know how much km per tank(super/premium)

QG

Postby QG » January 6th, 2012, 10:35 pm

trinivampire wrote:Hi, I am serious considering buying a 2006 roro cs2a lancer. Wanted to get some reviews from current owners on the cs2a. My other options are a tiida/wingroad, advan(if i get desperate), 2005/2006 corolla nza/fielder(might need a loan) or a local used corolla/nze. Most ppl said toyota>nissan>mistsu, but I really like lancers. Pros and cons will be very much appreciated. Thanks

p.s would really like to know how much km per tank(super/premium)

I use my mom cs3a, it's a very great car, body is very strong, and the suspensions do not disappoint.
However the parts are pricey even foreign used parts, and if it's the cvt version be sure to take care of it. About $6000 for foreign used cvt transmission if yours gets busted up and $6000 can get u a good nissan engine with transmission and wiring harness...full works :lol:

I decided to buy the Tiida instead due to reasonable price to maintain.
At the end of the day it's all up to YOU the buyer and how your budget runs.
The lancer is really a good car! But it's a headache when seeing high price for body parts.

ruffnek

Postby ruffnek » January 7th, 2012, 1:06 am

quick question...

i recently bought the matte red ck4 with the 4g93t from vipervega airflow disconnected,he say it bad....
getting a couple problems
hearing like boost leaking....but the noise coming from the air filter...

this normal?

anyways,
goin to sell baby comin,

fwape

Postby fwape » January 7th, 2012, 11:51 am

fwape wrote:
rollingstock wrote:BrotherHood de man location is St. Lucia dan, how yuh go tell him go DM? :lol:

fwape the fluid for the cvt is DiaQueen ATF-J1, if it's not cvt use teh DiaQueen SPlll

Fellas thanks alot for the info, meant to say that sooner but only got the chance now. Question though, would either of the fluids you listed really matter in realtion to if it is CVT or not? I called the local dealer (JQ Motors) and they told me it is CVT but did not tell me the brand of fluid for whatever reason at $150+ per 4quart bottle, is that a good price or am i getting ripped off by the dealer?

It would matter which fluid you use especially as you have teh cvt.

I'm guessing that price is quoted in EC which isn't bad but ensure it is original mitsu fluid, or a reputable brand that is compatible with your transmission.

It should be as it was the Mitsubishi dealership i checked for the fluid. But since then i have had to change my transmission mount which made a big difference and stopped alot of the rattling. A garage told me that i also have to change the rear engine mount as it is going or gone by now since the rattling came back recently and that i should probably change the front mount as well. All this expense is making wonder if i should still keep the car. Funny thing is that my Mechanic to me that the transmission fluid was good and didn't need changing or topping up but that i had a minor leak, about a drop a week or so but i need to reseal the transmission pan. Can a bad engine mount or leak of that nature cause erratic shifting?

Postby rollingstock » January 7th, 2012, 9:17 pm

The bad engine mounts can feel like an erratic shifting as the tranny and engine will rock too much and cause a lurch.

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » January 8th, 2012, 3:44 pm

2006 1.8 lancer cedia wagon how good is this vehicle engine wise i heard there are problems with it

QG

Postby QG » January 8th, 2012, 4:47 pm

IvanTerrors wrote:2006 1.8 lancer cedia wagon how good is this vehicle engine wise i heard there are problems with it

4G93 GDI in this vehicle...nice engine, just need to care it.
That's the Direct Injection engine.
(4G93 comes multi port injection or Direct Injection)

Is it the cvt model or tip tronic?

You can also find out more in the CS Lancer thread, a couple users has experience with them.

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » January 8th, 2012, 4:56 pm

tip tronic

QG

Postby QG » January 8th, 2012, 5:08 pm

Okay not bad!

Ivan, these CS models are fun to drive hoss, just a few complaints on the GDI's from Mitsubishi users, but it all comes down to how the driver takes care of it and what's the condition you are getting it in...Used!

Idlemind on the forum has a 1.8 CS...message him and he can tell you the do's and dont's. etc etc.

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » January 8th, 2012, 7:21 pm

foreign used pm me your email nah

QG

Postby QG » January 8th, 2012, 10:20 pm

Okay done!

kidlex

Postby kidlex » January 11th, 2012, 8:36 am

Need some advise on a potential purchase, Have a friend selling a ck2 with a 4g13 transmission slipping bad, body have work to do roof have some rust spots, needs shocks bushings and change axels and tires, interior in good condition. Is 17k a fair price to pay???

ligahoo

Postby ligahoo » January 11th, 2012, 9:17 am

17k is too much. There are CK2's which have been properly maintained for 30k or less. You wont fix all those problems within a 13k budget.

kidlex

Postby kidlex » January 11th, 2012, 9:32 am

What would have been a better price to pay if i were to purchase it

douglaking

Postby douglaking » January 11th, 2012, 9:34 am

Hey I'm a new Mitsu driver and I just want to ask a couple questions
I have a CS3
Yesterday the transmission kept sticking when trying reverse, the car kept moving like it was on neutral.

Also what kind of care do I have to take of the vechile? I don't want any problems

Return to “MITSUBISHI”