CY lancer (08 lancer)

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » April 10th, 2009, 6:44 pm

ditto on the bumper!!!

two weekends ago, i witnessed in horror, a botched attempt to reverse, when this middle-aged lady literally sank the tail corner rear bumper of her B12 Sunny right onto the front bumper of the Lancer, just below the front lamps.

i kept yelling - GET OFF MY BUMPER! wtf! watching my bumper sunk in and awaiting the cracked paint, dent, damage, etc.

as she pulled off and came out the car, i was saying - man oh man...
she said - let's see the damage...

and as we peered onto the bumper, not a scratch, dent, dimple, sink, NOTHING! I went over the area for minutes and couldnt find a single flaw.

so i endorse this point, this car's build composition appears ROCK SOLID!

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » April 10th, 2009, 6:57 pm

neckto wrote:
anyonw find the auto wipe sensor a bit iffy? WRT sensivity adjustment?

did you know that there is sensitivity adjustment on the same lever? take a look @ the +/- settings which can adjust how sensitive the blades are to rainfall, pace, etc. i usually keep it at the centre tho...happy with the overall response.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » April 13th, 2009, 10:39 pm

bumpers seem tough but oh gorm man people opening doors and hitting the side of the car left me with quite a few dents

neckto

Postby neckto » April 14th, 2009, 9:55 am

yes i know about the sensitivity adjustment, but go out in rain and even when the rain stop to a mere scattered drizzle sometimes it keeps wiping too frequently or non stop even if you adjust the sensitivity to the minimum setting

JUS4SHO
yea it hurting me bad too i have two dings on my left broadside from that same sheit, got it on the ferry, transit parking in dem boats too damn close esp for these broader models, rel painfull to look at

btw at the risk of getting bashed, the seatbelt alarm for the drivers side is quite easy to disable, just look under the driver seat you will find the connector just unplug it

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » April 14th, 2009, 7:10 pm

^^^ thats there for your safety bro... but blasted trini again nah

neckto

Postby neckto » April 16th, 2009, 4:00 pm

yea ah know......

i went looking for rims first week i got the car n my tyre man buff the sheit outa me for trying to get rid of those factory rims which he say much stronger than those aftermarket ones....but i thinking bout this again too hehe

nsmitsu

Postby nsmitsu » April 17th, 2009, 10:17 am

I was thinking about swapping out rims as well, but with the "excellent" roads in Trini I sticking with factory set for now. Anybody know where I can get a Evo X hood? I thinking of replacing the stock one....any ideas??

neckto

Postby neckto » April 17th, 2009, 12:56 pm

i guess the firm for now
good luck with that n thier prices
if you get the hood let us know how much it cost

i found the K & N drop in at S.A.S racing in sando (Sherrifs) on cipero St
the girl say a 485 or something so i confirmed the part number with her thati got on the K & N site which is 33-2392

http://www.knfilters.com/search/appsearch.aspx

i see it have a typhoon kit on thier site (though rec for the 2.0 ) i wonder if this can work on the 1.5L and how much performance increase you will see if any
SHO?
Venum?
what r your thoughts on this?

also i thinking about disabling the delimiter who know how to go about doing this?

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » April 19th, 2009, 7:00 am

the angle of the trottle body is different between the 2.0 & 1.5 so it will not work also a lot of people complain about the typhoon set up

trvs

Postby trvs » April 19th, 2009, 11:21 pm

how complicated is it to install the K&N drop-in? :roll:

so do you all use the gears 3,2 & L

and what for

:? :?:

nsmitsu

KN drop in

Postby nsmitsu » April 21st, 2009, 10:17 pm

the filter is pretty easy to install, took like 2 minutes to install and I have noticed a marked improvment in my mileage. Maxing out at 182-185 therabouts, which is fast enough thanks much...I don't drive at speed though, not enough road and some idiots does see u coming up and just cut in front!!

make mines lancer forever!!!

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » April 22nd, 2009, 1:32 am

a filter.... in one weekend i burnt 250 in preminum in the CY... that was b4 the gas went up!

that 2.0 is a guzzler... yes my foot heavy :lol:

How the CY SHO?

trvs

Postby trvs » April 22nd, 2009, 12:15 pm

lol 250 damn...

I remember the first time i fill up my tank from almost empty.. the dollars on the pump was just going up and up when it cross $180.00 I was like wdf lol

Anyhows I guess the install for the K&N drop in for the CY is just opening the two clips and pulling the original and replacing it with the K&N.

So no one answer meh question about the use of gears D3,2 & L ??

nsampath

Does the engine sound different with the K&N?

nsmitsu

Postby nsmitsu » April 22nd, 2009, 5:18 pm

Correct on the replacment procedure...and no, no difference in sound with the filter, that would only occur if u swap exhaust and intake piping, which makes no sense on a new ride...can u say bye bye warranty :)

The lower gears are for more power on inclines and such...and are not recommended for normal driving..leave it in D and be happy!

Ps guys, the best station for gas in north is the one by Valpark...i would have never thought so, but damn...i get like 600 on a full tank...worst so far..medford on the flyover...they have water contaminated crap (that from a brethern in NP!!!) - mine is the 1.5 btw...

nsmitsu

Postby nsmitsu » April 22nd, 2009, 5:21 pm

Ay neck..almost forgot...this guy in bamboo have the hood...frak...doh have meh phone so i can't put the number...will do so at a later date...

trvs

Postby trvs » April 23rd, 2009, 9:39 am

thank you for the response.

So i get a lil dent on my bonnet. a stone came out from no where and hit meh bonnet. Chipped the forkin paint i seeing silver lining :x plus it have a lil dent.

its less than an inch in size (the dent) and a couple of chips within that dent.

Any suggestions on fixing this? :(

boost11

Postby boost11 » April 23rd, 2009, 10:39 am

dat happen to me yesterday..except it didnt dent..dotish big truck n dem

trvs

Postby trvs » April 23rd, 2009, 11:23 am

yea that sucks, I was by grand bazzar lights waiting for it to turn green, heard a noise I was like wtf...

ignored it.. only to realize when i reach home was a stone or something hit my car. did your paint chip?

i need to put something on that chip so it would not get bigger.

I am thinking if I should buy one of those touch up paint kits/pens and fill the chips.

Anyone had any experience with those kits/pens? Any recommendations? :(

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » April 23rd, 2009, 4:04 pm

i was looking at the touch up paint on japanparts.com about $89TT

what about installing the GT rear sway bar anyone intrested costing about $250 US for every thing bar , bushing, bracket, endlink, nuts bolts... just checking as i wanted to save on the shipping

trvs

Postby trvs » April 24th, 2009, 2:33 pm

sounds good sho. will PM you if i make up my mind..for the bars

but the touch up paint sounding good.

If you ordering the bar tell me so you can group the touch up paint as well.

PM me and we will organize color etc. :P

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » April 24th, 2009, 2:59 pm

jadez wrote:sounds good sho. will PM you if i make up my mind..for the bars

but the touch up paint sounding good.

If you ordering the bar tell me so you can group the touch up paint as well.

PM me and we will organize color etc. :P

I'm with you guys on touch up paint Group Buy....

Also smiling to myself about you guys and your paint chips from random highway stones. It took me about 12 months to get over the sick feeling in my stomach everytime something went "PAX" on my CY's body or windscreen. I actually kept a log of all the chips on the bumper and body due to stones.

you'll get over it eventually because there's basically NOTHING you can do to prevent it (INCLUDING driving slowly or away from other vehicles) and to fix it all requires paint over.

touch up paint tho, sounds like a plan!

SHO! Let's talk bout the Power Foam throttle clean out - it's long overdue!

trvs

Postby trvs » April 24th, 2009, 3:22 pm

yea i was at a stand still by a traffic light when my dent occurred.

I also have another retarded question.

would 18" x 8.5" 5x114 rims fit well on the CY?

or 18" x 7.5" 5X100

these things new to me. :roll:

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » April 24th, 2009, 4:04 pm

the offset (100 vs 114) is the problem there. the stud bolt pattern needs to be identical. the width of the rims is subject to tolerances inside the fender wall area.

CY rims arent universal (carrying both 100/114 bolt patterns) so it wont work - unless (subject to confirmation), the CY GT rims are 114 pattern - then you'd need to swap out the hubs, front and rear.

trvs

Postby trvs » April 24th, 2009, 4:28 pm

okay...make my life easy nah lol tell me what will work without modification..

I saw a couple CY with aftermarket rims. I don't want to be swapping out hubs.

I just need the bolt pattern and offset or whatever else...

SHO?

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » April 25th, 2009, 6:08 pm

ok here we go again :lol:
you can safely go from my research up to a 8.5" wheel

now if you have a cy2a you have 16" oem wheels these are 5x114.3 (114.3 is the pcd or pitch center diameter) offset is 46 mm and the wheel is 16x6.5
now the 18" wheel on the GT models are 5x114.3 offset is 46mm and the wheel is 18x7 the hub outer diamet is 67mm
if you are going with a wider rim like a 18x8 or 18x8.5 you must change the offset to about any where between 35mm to 40mm so that the inside of the wheel maintains a safe distance from the inside of he control arm and so that you dont change the geometry of the suspension to much

as for the paint check out the link below

http://www.japanparts.com/db/partslist. ... ey=&page=1

trvs

Postby trvs » April 25th, 2009, 9:15 pm

thanks for the response SHO.

so what you think about these?

http://www.rotawheels.com/wheels.asp?wheelid=30

I checked Garvin's Performance Shop for ENKEI for $9000.00 + Tires $5000.00 <-- :shock:

Also Checked Mileage Mack for some AXIS Hiro for $8500.00 + did not even bother to ask for tire price.

So i stepping down to rota's lol I saw a couple posts about someone who sells them here...Will call them on monday.

I looking at this design.

Specs: http://www.rotawheels.com/wheels.asp?wheelid=30

their specs seem to match your recommended specs.

Tell me what you guys think. car is white btw :roll:

Thanks for the link on japan parts.. btw

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » April 25th, 2009, 9:22 pm

JUS4SHO wrote:ok here we go again :lol:
you can safely go from my research up to a 8.5" wheel

now if you have a cy2a you have 16" oem wheels these are 5x114.3 (114.3 is the pcd or pitch center diameter) offset is 46 mm and the wheel is 16x6.5
now the 18" wheel on the GT models are 5x114.3 offset is 46mm and the wheel is 18x7 the hub outer diamet is 67mm
if you are going with a wider rim like a 18x8 or 18x8.5 you must change the offset to about any where between 35mm to 40mm so that the inside of the wheel maintains a safe distance from the inside of he control arm and so that you dont change the geometry of the suspension to much

as for the paint check out the link below

http://www.japanparts.com/db/partslist. ... ey=&page=1

good stuff. i didnt realize that both models carry same pcd. that's a nice piece of info - runs to browse rim options...

Group buy on touch up? Shipping shouldnt be that expensive...

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » April 26th, 2009, 6:26 pm

i dey waiting on all yuh
brian i hink we need to include the rest of the fellas who running the K & N on we little cleaning info what you think?
i tried it just a few short bursts while the engine off and WOW !!!!!!

but as usual u need a second person to apply the trottle so it will open up

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » April 26th, 2009, 8:57 pm

One question. I see that this lancer is tough and its probably better than the new sedans by toyota, honda, nissan etc.

But which is better between this and the Mazda 3 and Mazda 6?

trvs

Postby trvs » April 27th, 2009, 9:53 am

wrong forum padna... :P

try asking here http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewforum.php?f=35

Return to “MITSUBISHI”