CY lancer (08 lancer)

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Re: CY lancer (08 lancer)

Postby Team Loco » October 4th, 2011, 8:10 am

a frien of mines changed his plugs onhis gt at 50000kms. claimed it made a huge difference. old plugs were basically done

trvs

Postby trvs » October 4th, 2011, 11:09 am

Hey Anthony, I'm about 17K away from 100K.

We inspected the plugs and it's still good but I still want to change them. I was looking at some NGK iridium plugs.

You can use a normal spanner to remove the torx screw. Just be careful.

Someone will be doing the tranny flush for me as well as the coolant.

It didn't sell it as yet... Have a few ppl interested, but first come first server.

:)

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » October 4th, 2011, 5:42 pm

my car at 57K i want to change the plugs, point to note the 1.5 & 2.0 carry different plugs
stock for the 1.5 is MN176628 ( bosch - FR7S130) , however check online reveal that Denso IKH20 will work I am not sure of this.
at DM its $1200 for a set i heard
what you guys using

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » October 4th, 2011, 6:47 pm

never looked at the plugs myself bit according to my service manual both vehicles carry iriduum plugs, the gaps may be different...by the way as I asked where did you purchase your rear sway bar set up ?

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » October 4th, 2011, 6:47 pm

never looked at the plugs myself bit according to my service manual both vehicles carry iriduum plugs, the gaps may be different...by the way as I asked where did you purchase your rear sway bar set up ?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 4th, 2011, 7:05 pm

anthony, you see what I was saying bout Valpark gas station?

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » October 4th, 2011, 7:34 pm

yes just saw it a while ago on the news, I almost filled up their 2day.
As I said the length of time i dealing with them i had no issues except for the shady old man and the scruffy fat boy.

trvs

Postby trvs » October 5th, 2011, 12:01 am

sho used a cusco rear sway bar iirc

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 5th, 2011, 11:28 am

I used to deal with them for a long time too. Until I was bitten badly..
Imagine having to buy a new fuel tank pump, flush and clean the engine fuel pump, and drain the gas from the tank. And all this happened when I was green about fuel delivery in my GDI.
But you live, move on and warn all...

Postby Team Loco » October 5th, 2011, 1:03 pm

i using autolite plugs in my car.

guys, some advice, i've never really opended the hood at night but lat night i did. i realised the entire front left and right wheel well was well lit due to light emitting from the fogs. they work fine but at the rear of the fog unit, light brightens the whole engine bay. am i missing a cover or something behind those lights? the bumper was replaced on my car so the fogs were once removed. thinking the straightener forgot a cap or something.

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » October 8th, 2011, 7:05 am

Postby Team Loco » October 8th, 2011, 5:30 pm

btw guys:

viewtopic.php?f=55&t=399368

she's officially for sale

nsmitsu

Postby nsmitsu » October 9th, 2011, 9:16 am

Hey guys, I'm officially at 105000Km, so warranty done...ouch.. Plug changeover makes a huge difference..got mines from pepboys in miami...as for gas (was reading the previous posts)..since medford on flyover converted to unipet..I've been getting 600k to a full tank of gas..daily run is chag to pos, ac all the way...

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » October 9th, 2011, 12:35 pm

Hey nmitsu, congrats ,but how old is the car .... is it more than 3 yrs ?
DM told me my warranty is 3 yrs or 100K which ever comes first ... I will do 3 yrs way before I make the 100K mark.
Did you do your 100K service as yet?
As your warranty is done and you doing 100K are you planning to sell and upgrade now ?
600k on a full tank of gas , is that when the car tells you to " refuel now" or light comes on ?
But 600K is very very good, my driving includes ac right thru and lots of traffic , I refuel every 7 days and from gas light to full is at times 500k or less and cost around $170 - $190 premuim.
Did you order those plugs from pep boys off the net ?
Any issues ie parts changed during warranty period at DM?

Postby Team Loco » October 9th, 2011, 2:38 pm

hey were the plugs autolite? cause i walked in and bought those for my car. kinda sceptical to use them

trvs

Postby trvs » October 9th, 2011, 3:12 pm

Mine will be 3 Years April next year. I'm sure I will make 100K on or before then..

I would really like to hear what DM did at the 100K service.. cost etc. 8-)

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » October 9th, 2011, 5:56 pm

Ok , so I got the led lights I needed for my underdash lighting project.
Had to settle for a multicolor set since I could not get a set of orange ones resonable.
The multicolour set came with a controller so I can select my preferred colour ( orange ).
It also came as a long continious strip wound on a roll.
The strip can be cut at intervals to select your desired length.
The catch is you have to do some very fine soldering to connect the cut strips to the controller.
This involves soldering 4 fine wires to connect the various cut strips.

I intend to undertake this project myself and will post pics if possible.
I have marked out some locations under the driver and passenger side dash where the first install will be.I will also install a strip under the passanger and driver seat.

To make the instal look as soick as possible I see that this install will take me a couple of hours ... about 5 since I will have to figure out how to remove the various trims inside the car without damage. I have already broken off a clip on the trim on the running board moulding.
Did this to see where I can tap a power wire , dont want to go to the fuse box.
After the moulding was removed I saw the harness with lots of wires bundled tightly with tape ...
so I dont plan to go their either. (Too much trouble to remove tape, spread out lots of wires and tap a power wire )
Instead I will tap the wires connecting to the rear park light in the trunk area, harness is small, wires easy to access and splice and trunk trim is easy to remove.( thus led will be on when park light is on)
The catch is removing the trim on the left side of vehicle to pass the wires, I will have to remove the back seat etc.
So from monday I will have to get 16 tie wraps to hold the strips
estimate how much wire I need also purchase some split loom to make the install look stock.
Will keep you all posted.

Postby Team Loco » October 10th, 2011, 8:44 am

my warranty was maintained as DM did my front repair after a front collision (minor)

my weekend project:
new mudflaps.........
and i had help too!!

some drilling was required:
as you can see.......i had professional help from my daughter!

mudguards costed around USD$40 on ebay. didnt come with clips and oem could not work. but i have a box with hundreds of clips i was able to get from

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » October 10th, 2011, 12:10 pm

^^^ nice work..

nsmitsu wrote:..I've been getting 600k to a full tank of gas..daily run is chag to pos, ac all the way...

:shocked!: :shocked!: :faint:
the most i'll get is about 450 on a full tank of gas...and i hav K&N drop in filter an stuff..

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 10th, 2011, 12:16 pm

Eef yuh foot wasnt sooo heavy yuh would geh yuh 600km

Postby Team Loco » October 10th, 2011, 12:24 pm

the 2.0 gives me 420 kms max

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » October 10th, 2011, 12:52 pm

idlemind wrote:Eef yuh foot wasnt sooo heavy yuh would geh yuh 600km

Team Loco wrote:the 2.0 gives me 420 kms max

oooh...mine is 2.0 too so i dont feel so bad cuz thats my kms also...

Postby Team Loco » October 10th, 2011, 1:23 pm

you lucky to get 450. no matter what i try, best i've gotton is 425km, stock everything

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » October 10th, 2011, 3:04 pm

I get 550-560 with my asx regularly........:)

Postby Team Loco » October 10th, 2011, 3:58 pm

i need to get some lighter steel tip boots lol

trvs

Postby trvs » October 10th, 2011, 5:34 pm

I does ensure I get at least 500 Km on my tank. I fill up with premium once per week, usually put like $175-$190.00.

Nice mudflaps Loco, I was looking at the rally Armour ones but this set looks cool and OEMish

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » October 11th, 2011, 8:39 pm

meh tranny service light come on tonight and it's only been 10-12,000 since the last service at the firm.. :?

on the bright side meh alarm came in today...

nsmitsu

Postby nsmitsu » October 24th, 2011, 2:58 pm

Plugs were autolite..straight off the net...took about 5 days to get here..car will be 3 years old in december...100K service included suspension overhaul, tranny flush, replacement of all filters (except the KN) all belts as well...no plans to sell just yet...might keep another year...just to play around with...thinking about upgrading software for engine...makes a difference with acceleration...switching service to masterserv chaguanas now...

Postby Team Loco » October 24th, 2011, 7:41 pm

she's going into the dealership tomorrow. ABS light and engine check light on at 38,000kms. sigh. warranty repair though. once the ABS light comes on the engine check light comes on 5 mins later. i will let you all know whats wrong

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » October 25th, 2011, 2:37 pm

Called diamond motors monday to get some info.
The zombie I spoke to told me they do not stock the cy front strut brace and dont know if they ever will.
He/ It also said they do not stock the rear sway bar , the only thing they have is the link ie the part that connects the sway bar to the lower control arm and ready for this ..... the link is $ 1200.00 for one.
They also have the bushing , the part that goes onto the bar .... and the price is $ 60.00 for one.
I said thank you and he replied : grumble garble mooan and click.

I saw on japanparts .com they have parts for our cars but these are very expensive , anybody bought things from them yet ?

Return to “MITSUBISHI”