CY lancer (08 lancer)

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

A.W.O.L

Re: CY lancer (08 lancer)

Postby A.W.O.L » March 16th, 2012, 10:52 am

Eh.??

Postby Team Loco » March 16th, 2012, 2:39 pm

hi guys, whats up? missing meh lancer

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » March 16th, 2012, 5:28 pm

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » March 22nd, 2012, 6:31 pm

Here are pics of my prosport evo oil pressure and volt gauges install.
The first and second pics shows the result , blue during daytime and orange ( did not show well on the camera) at night.... changes colour when head light switch is on to match dash lights colour. ( see previous pics of underdash lights install)

The third and fourth pics show the installation of the pressure sensor for the oil pressure gauge.
The adaptor plate (blue) is mounted between the oil filter (white) and oil filter mounting bracket.
The pressure sensor (yellow ) is mounted onto the adaptor plate.

The gauges effects look better than shown in the pics ...go to prosport on line and see a demo of the evo types.

The last two pics shows how the gauge pods is mounted onto the steering column. I decided to cut off the swivel mounting pionts on the gauge pods and install the pods as shown.
It was held in place by tie wraps.

Power was taken from the cigarettee lighter wire and routed via a switch. Wires were joined / spliced and taped with electrical tape.
Wires of sensor inside engine bay was placed in split loom for a neat look.
AMBER.jpg
BLUE.jpg
PLATE SENSOR SIDE.JPG
PLATE SENSOR TOP.JPG
POD FRONT.JPG
POD SIDE.JPG

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » March 25th, 2012, 8:16 pm

Anybody installed the led tail lights on their lancer as yet?, saw one yetherday on the highway...
This may be my next project once I get some money.

Postby Team Loco » March 25th, 2012, 8:18 pm

beautiful fit pal, i did the same on my hilux. however i failed to consider if the guage cluster needs to be removed, the guages also need to be removed first

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » March 27th, 2012, 8:40 pm

The instrument panel cluster did not have to be removed.
All that was done was the removal of the upper steering column cover to attach the prosport gauge pod.
Holes were drilled for the tie wraps to hold the pods.

Postby Team Loco » March 28th, 2012, 8:21 am

oh ho, no i meant after the fact when the gauges were installed, in case i need to remove the cluster, the guages were in the way. it wasnt really an issue for me, until the speedo cable broke and i sent it in to the stealership and they told me to remove my damn guages then bring back the vehicle

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 30th, 2012, 8:08 am

What transmission fluid does the lancer use? How often should it be changed and how hard is that to do? I tried searching but it's too many pages. Thanks.

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » March 30th, 2012, 10:09 am

Which CY u referring to..?
The cy4 or cy2 cuz both carry different tranny oils..

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 30th, 2012, 4:41 pm

A.W.O.L wrote:Which CY u referring to..?
The cy4 or cy2 cuz both carry different tranny oils..

it's a CY2

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » March 30th, 2012, 10:05 pm

OK metalgear, here is a summary from the service manual... ( I can give you a copy for $300) since it goes into more detail with illustrations and diagrams which I could not copy.

The fulid used is DIA QUEEN ATF SP3 and should be changed at around 40K.
I never changed it myself but it does not seem difficult and looks good for a weekend project with some other tuners.

The procedure :

1. Remove the hose which allows the A/T fluid to flow from the A/T fluid
cooler to the transmission.

2. Start the engine and discharge the A/T fluid.
Driving conditions: N range, idling
Discharge amount: Approx. 3.5 L

3. Remove the drain plug at the bottom of the transmission case to drain out the remaining A/T
fluid.
Discharge amount: Approx. 2.0 L

4. Install the drain plug with a gasket in between, and tighten it to the specified torque.
Tightening torque: 32  2 N⋅m
CAUTION
Stop pouring in the A/T fluid once 5.5 L has been poured in.

5. Pour in new A/T fluid through the oil filler tube.
Amount to add: Approx. 5.5 L

6. Connect the hose which was disconnected in step 1, and then securely re-insert the oil level gauge.

9. Start the engine, and let it run at idle for 1 − 2 minutes.

10.Move the selector lever to all positions once, and then return it to the P position.

11.Check that the A/T fluid level on the oil level gauge is at the COLD mark. If it is not up to this
mark, add more A/T fluid.

12.Drive the vehicle until the A/T fluid temperature reaches the normal temperature (70 − 80C), and then re check the A/T fluid level.
NOTE: The COLD mark is for reference only; the
HOT marks should be used as the standard for
judgment.
NOTE: Check the oil level .

13.When A/T fluid is under the specified level, top up A/T fluid. When A/T fluid is over the specified
level, drain the excessive A/T fluid from the drain plug to adjust A/T fluid level to the specified level.

14.Securely insert the oil level gauge into the oil filler tube.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 30th, 2012, 11:30 pm

Men charging for service manual in here?

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » March 31st, 2012, 1:50 pm

Hey idle, I answered the man question and this price is small as compared to what I paid for the manual.
If I go word for word as in the manual then it would take me whole night typing.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 31st, 2012, 9:02 pm

Thanks for the info man.

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » April 1st, 2012, 12:17 am

Added a tranny cooler to my car earlier this week..
pretty simple install for the most part the only hard thing was taking off the bumper..

idlemind wrote:Men charging for service manual in here?

Well we owing andrew real money for the ASA parts programme...

an before it could enjoy it proper the ABS service light came on..having it scanned on monday to see which sensor has to be changed..
Image073.jpg
IMG_0586.JPG
IMG_0587.JPG
IMG_0583.JPG
IMG_0582.JPG

Nebulous_14

Postby Nebulous_14 » April 1st, 2012, 11:16 am

Great mod to your car, I could never tackle something like that myself.
From your engine cover I see you have a 2.0L.
Never saw one with a fan.
With the 2.0L you have a lot more options in terms of mods to make the car run better. I have a 1.5L so I just try to maintain it properly and add some cosmetic stuff.

Nebulous_14

Postby Nebulous_14 » April 1st, 2012, 11:28 am

I am using the original battery for 4yrs and 4 months. I have 80 000km on the car.
Does this Panasonic battery show signs before it about to go?
Like hard starts or does it just does not start. Went to have it tested but they said that they would not recommend doing a load test if the battery is so old and is not showing any signs of problems it would only weaken the battery.
What are your guys experience with the original battery anybody replaced theirs?

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » April 1st, 2012, 2:52 pm

Hey AWOL, good install but did the cooler come with the fan and if so does it come on via a thermostat ie when a certain temp is reached it comes on?
Also did you bypass the stock cooler or added this cooler while keeping the stock intact ie running them in series ?
Could'nt this cooler be placed in front of the radiator instead of where you install it ?
From your pics is it properly secured ( I see its held on by a metal strip ) such a when driving on a rough road or if you hit a sudden bump?

Nebulous , this project is not that hard, is projects like these I like. Projects like these is best done with a few tuners , it can be done alone but will be very difficult.
And yes their are more or all options available for engine mods for the 2.0L model , I am yet to see any for the 1.5L model so am in same boat like you.
Bear in mind now the car will be more noisy since you have radiator cooling and tranny cooling fans running.
Also for 1.5L engines addition of accessories like (strut bars, rear sway bars, tranny and oil coolers, 17 or 18/20'' big rims and broad tyres ) these add up to additional weight on the car for the engine to pull.

AWOL you could consider adding a tranny temp gauge , I am considering doing this by using the prosport water temp gauge but I will have to figure out how to attach the temp sensor since the temp sensor adaptor daimeter is the size of the radiator hose as compared to the tranny cooler hoses.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 1st, 2012, 4:12 pm

It's a simple install Nebulous.

Anthony, the cooler and fan came together from Mishimoto.
It's triggered to come on with the radiator fan.
There is no stock tranny cooler. There are lines to bring coolant to the transmission to cool the oil where the tranny fluid filter is.
This setup here carries the oil to be cooled. Theres a lil trick involved wrt to maintaining the stock cooling system.
It's actually recommended to be mounted there behind the fog.
The cooler itself measures about 12" x 8" so it would've blocked off a good amount of radiator.
It's mounted very securely to the chasis, it came with two metal arms which could be manipulated.
And even though the fan is very powerful it isn't that noisy. Mishimoto is very good stuff.
You could add on a temp gauge to the lines but it will have to be oil and not water.
Plus the lines are about 1/2" thick so I'm not too sure if there's a sender to fit that.

Extensive research went into this one. Good job AWOL.

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » April 1st, 2012, 8:55 pm

Good info idle.

Nebolous you get good service from the battery ... over 4 yrs, I know most people replaced theirs after about 3 yrs.
From my experience when a battery is going on its way out the vehicle does not HARD START, it just cranks slowly or weak. This may go on for a couple of months or a few weeks then suddenly failure. Sometimes if the headlights are on full beam the engine may idle rough.

If this starts to happen and all of your wires and connections are clean and tight and charging voltage is ok then prephare for a dead battery .

Othertimes without any warning and without these signs the battery may expire just so after about over 3 yrs.

A good auto electrician weather the battery is old will load test the battery and tell you if it wants replaceing instead of letting you get stranded.

As a precaution have a GOOD set of jumper cables in your car and a fully charged working topped up cell phone or some sort of AUTO or ROADSIDE assist package.

IMO forget about those so called battery booster packs.... thay are too heavy and also has an internal battery which must be checked often.

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » April 2nd, 2012, 9:58 am

Couldn't have said it any better..
jus need to get my hands on this dam abs sensor..

nsmitsu

Postby nsmitsu » April 2nd, 2012, 5:02 pm

Hey guys, quick question for a friend...not for me...ever...her car got hit while parked and she needs a new front grill for her EK3 1999 civic. Let me know..most appreciative!

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » April 2nd, 2012, 8:34 pm

AWOL , I find real people complaining about those ABS sensors, have me worried now.
Where do you get parts like these for these lancers locally becides DM.
Also is the sensors different for the cy2 and cy 4?

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » April 4th, 2012, 7:54 pm

^^^ I think they revised those sensors cuz when i put in the part number at oemmitsubishi.com its no longer there but a new part number instead...cuz what i read so far they cant stand up to the heat of braking...
Only small service parts are available outside of the company as far as i know..
I'm reinstalling a parts programme later so if u want to send me your chassis number i'll be able to cross reference it for you..

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » April 5th, 2012, 11:17 am

Excellent mod there Awol.

I like the fan. Mishimoto is as good as it gets.

The cooler for our CS does not have that.

vnb7

Postby vnb7 » April 6th, 2012, 8:49 pm

Hey Tuners I recently purchased an 08 CY Lancer...
Was wondering from CY lancer owners... wud the company buy/trade the spoiler? I'm thinking of purchasing a bigger one...
Also do u guys know the worth of it... Its Black and practically like Brand new...
Maybe I can sell it on Tuner if the company wont take it back...
Thanks Much.
Best Regards!

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » April 6th, 2012, 10:58 pm

good luck with getting the company to take it back cuz they'd quicker sell u a lancer without 1 than to take it back...u may have better luck on tuner trying to sell it..

vnb7

Postby vnb7 » April 7th, 2012, 10:52 am

Do U know like the average cost for one? like an Idea of how much to sell it for?

vnb7

Postby vnb7 » April 7th, 2012, 10:53 am

Please send me a PM etc if anyone knows kk thanks 2nrs Best Regards!

Return to “MITSUBISHI”