Page 61 of 107

Re: CY lancer (08 lancer)

Posted: March 5th, 2013, 2:49 pm
by genghis
Hey Guys,
got my Galant Fortis about 6 weeks ago. in love again!
looking to do the necessary maintenance on in since I not sure how it was serviced previously.
to the guys with the CY4's what sort of maintenance have you done so far?

I have changed Engine Oil so far. Schaeffers 10w 30.

Thermostat stuck on my old car. not looking for that to happen in this one. any one replaced yet?
got a part number MN187250.not sure where other than DM to get this.

Dip Stick Says J1 CVT Transmission Fluid. I may have to buy from DM @ $126 a Qt.
(Green Fluid) I called a couple places and they have J4 Fluid. I not sure what application that is for.

oh and I also have Rear Axle Fluid to change.
:mrgreen:
not sure what fluid I should use here. Evo men what do you use and how often to you change?

Posted: March 6th, 2013, 10:13 am
by Dave
rear axle?
what you have?
Ralliart?
Rear axle is 75w/90 GL5 approved for LSD if so equipped

Posted: March 6th, 2013, 11:06 am
by genghis
dave its not a ralliart sadly. just regular Galant Fortis - STMHZ Exceed (4WD).
not full time though, ah selector changes it from 2wd - 4wd auto - 4wd lock.
i still not sure what is the difference between auto and lock.

Posted: March 6th, 2013, 2:11 pm
by venum
genghis wrote:Thermostat stuck on my old car. not looking for that to happen in this one. any one replaced yet?
got a part number MN187250.not sure where other than DM to get this.

genghis wrote:Dip Stick Says J1 CVT Transmission Fluid. I may have to buy from DM @ $126 a Qt.
(Green Fluid) I called a couple places and they have J4 Fluid. I not sure what application that is for.

NO, u do not HAVE to buy it from DM

I have seen the J1 fluid at several parts places in south, in 1 quart containers

Ramai's, Federal,

the SPIII coming in gallons now, so maybe the J1 is too (i haven't seen it yet)

genghis wrote:oh and I also have Rear Axle Fluid to change.
:mrgreen:
not sure what fluid I should use here. Evo men what do you use and how often to you change?

because Evo men have a rear diff, doesn't mean u hadda use the same as they do, cuz your rear diff may not be the same.

if it is then, u can

if the rear is rates for synthetic GL5 as the guru said, then AMSOIL :!:

I have bout half quart remain from when I changed on teh Sportero that u are welcome to. always good to have a lil extra to flush out. the AMSOIL GL5 too expensive to buy an extra quart to flush, so u cud have my 1/2 quart

if the fluid comes out dirty, then u cud change it for some cheap NP GL5 and run for 2 weeks then drain and add the AMSOIL

BigZ supplied me

genghis wrote:not full time though, ah selector changes it from 2wd - 4wd auto - 4wd lock.
i still not sure what is the difference between auto and lock.

not sure how Mitsu car trannies with transfer cases work, but on the V-series tranny (4WD with range selection) the auto means the VCD is engaged - drive around on hard surface with 4WD, the VCD allows slippage between front and rear drive shafts

Lock, means teh center diff lock is activated (no VCD), front and rear drive shafts are locked, so no slippage in the TC - straight line driving on hard surface

if u felin for a DIY, I have a spanking new oil gun to christen, holla

Posted: March 6th, 2013, 2:45 pm
by idlemind
J4 replaces the J1 fluid.

Posted: March 6th, 2013, 11:09 pm
by genghis
Guys, the Transmission is a W1CJA. it is a CVT.
Did some digging and found that its the same on a 2.4 Outlander.
75w/90 is the rated oil for the diff according to 1 forum i found.

i was doing some digging on it to verify if the J4 can be used instead of the J1.
other than EBAY i didn't find any.
Called DM they advise that the J4 is not compatable with the J1.
(i fully expect this be proved wrong)

i see Big Z have ah second location in charlieville ill check them for the fluid.

Venum ill make some calls for the J1. i called Faiz and they dont have it. maturas in St james also dont have it, they have J4. ( so what is the J4 used for? CY2A?)

as for the DYI. tell me when you have some time I ready!

Posted: March 7th, 2013, 7:55 pm
by venum
genghis wrote:Guys, the Transmission is a W1CJA. it is a CVT.
Did some digging and found that its the same on a 2.4 Outlander.
75w/90 is the rated oil for the diff according to 1 forum i found.

i was doing some digging on it to verify if the J4 can be used instead of the J1.
other than EBAY i didn't find any.
Called DM they advise that the J4 is not compatable with the J1.
(i fully expect this be proved wrong)

i see Big Z have ah second location in charlieville ill check them for the fluid.

Venum ill make some calls for the J1. i called Faiz and they dont have it. maturas in St james also dont have it, they have J4. ( so what is the J4 used for? CY2A?)

as for the DYI. tell me when you have some time I ready!

in mitsu tyranny code

w = 4wd without transfer
1 = number of forward gears
c = cvt

Posted: March 8th, 2013, 7:38 pm
by Ted_v2

Posted: March 8th, 2013, 9:11 pm
by Nebulous_14
Thank you big z, at my next oil change at diamond motors I will replace PCV and spark plugs at the 100k service.

Posted: March 10th, 2013, 9:48 pm
by JUS4SHO
Selling d 2008 lancer,1.5 fully loaded (hid, sunroof , oem body kit etc) 69000km , mint condition. $135,000 neg. If you all know anyone Intrested. A few off the extras.
K&N drop in
Ultra racing upper strut bar
RPW rear sway bar
Oem floor mats
Oem black front grill
Oem Evo x number plate mounting bracket includes all oem hardware (not installed)
Oem front and rear mudguards
Pioneer AVH-p8400bh head unit with double dash kit with video bypass
Greddy rs exhaust
Full service history available.
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1362965776.468228.jpg

764-8314

Posted: March 11th, 2013, 12:45 pm
by venum
#buythis

Posted: March 11th, 2013, 2:02 pm
by Dizzy28
In for the 1st time in a while. WRT to some earlier posts I haven't switched from premium to super. One of few perks I have is fuel allowance via fleet card so I have no need to switch as I doh even reach 1/3 my limit on most months (sadly it is use it or lose it :( )

Will be making 2 years next month and now reach 25,000kms.

Posted: March 29th, 2013, 10:38 am
by nsmitsu
Hey guys..been a while. I have switched to super, no probs so far. Every two weeks I put in a injector cleaner. Made 5 years with my ride, 140K...no sensor issues...only major issue was replaced back shocks (from company). Anybody recommend a polish to use on a gloss black??

Posted: April 2nd, 2013, 5:40 pm
by JUS4SHO
Call Karim khan let him give d car some love.

Posted: April 10th, 2013, 10:57 pm
by venum
nsmitsu wrote: Anybody recommend a polish to use on a gloss black??

Auto Glym super resin

mothers Reflection

Posted: April 11th, 2013, 4:23 am
by JUS4SHO
Dat car needs to clay bar first.

Posted: April 11th, 2013, 6:09 pm
by Dizzy28
So did my service today. Returned to work after. When leaving work saw a huge puddle of oil under the car.poped the bonnet to see they never replaced the oil cap.hafta leave car in work and wsit till morning and see what the deslership gonna do

Posted: April 11th, 2013, 6:13 pm
by idlemind
That is loss wuk bizniz...nothing less!
Say you had to drive far???
Nah that unacceptable!

Posted: April 11th, 2013, 8:53 pm
by Dizzy28
^ Called the sales rep as he was the only one I was getting in touch with.Same thing he say. Lucky for me I work San Juan n decided to go back to work.

Posted: April 11th, 2013, 9:21 pm
by Morpheus
Pure negligence. Good thing you observed it then.

Posted: April 12th, 2013, 9:46 am
by Dizzy28
DM picked up the car about 15 mins ago to go get it cleaned and stuff. They topped up oil and put a cap back on. The replacement volume of oil was no more than say 500-700 ml. Should I be concerned about any engine damage or you all think no harm was done. I would have driven for no more than 6-7 kms yesterday evening after collecting the car.

Obviously the DM tech saying doh worry nothing happen.

Posted: April 12th, 2013, 9:48 am
by JUS4SHO
No damage. That happen to my car on the first service

Posted: April 12th, 2013, 10:20 am
by Dizzy28
^ Cool.

Posted: April 14th, 2013, 11:08 am
by ronsin1
so ladies I am thinking of an upgrade for the madam's mobile may be a CY your thoughts on this

Posted: April 14th, 2013, 9:55 pm
by JUS4SHO
I don't understand the question.

Posted: April 14th, 2013, 10:28 pm
by Ted_v2
I think he wants to know if he should buy one for his wife

Posted: April 14th, 2013, 10:43 pm
by JUS4SHO
Oh hor
I have owned various cb , ck , cs models the CY i now drive ,my wife drove for over 3 years and loved it. I think the CY is the best model lancer yet.

Posted: April 16th, 2013, 8:26 am
by star23
anyone swapped out original rims and willing to sell them?

Posted: April 16th, 2013, 9:12 am
by JUS4SHO
16" or 18"

Posted: April 16th, 2013, 9:23 am
by A.W.O.L
I'd like to put my hands on the original 18's..