resonator

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

knight

resonator

Postby knight » April 30th, 2008, 2:35 pm

Does any one know what a resonator is on the exhaust of a car. someone told me if you remove it, the car performance would drastically be improved, any thoughts. ohh by the way it's a CK4.

Postby Dave » April 30th, 2008, 3:04 pm

its a pre-silencer
yes and no wrt to performance

knight

Postby knight » April 30th, 2008, 3:10 pm

dave, if you had one on your car would you take it out and why?

Postby Dave » April 30th, 2008, 3:20 pm

i have always kept one in for noise control but freeer than what the stock one that usually comes with the car

jonspeed

Postby jonspeed » May 2nd, 2008, 3:46 am

think of the resonator as a sealed box with an inlet and an outlet.... between the in and out the exhaust gas make several pases or flows back and forth through several passages. along these passages are "dampers" that remove energy from the exhaust gas... this loss of energy is usually noise reduction.... you need to decide what purpose the car serves you.... if you out for performance and have a turbo system, "free flow" is better as you will gain a few horse power but it will be noisy.... if you usin the car for basic everyday use, taking out the resonator will not add significant power... like dave said there are some aftermarket types that may allow free-er flow!

Postby crazybalhead » May 2nd, 2008, 7:20 am

HWen I hadd the civic I took out the cat and resonator. I actually put in what loked like a resonator, but with the mesh inside taken out and it was LOUD. When ah tell yuh LOUD, ah mean wake de dead loud.

In my current car it is resonated, very civilised and quiet. :wink:

Could use a lil extra performance though.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » May 2nd, 2008, 7:46 am

^^^ cherry bomb

Return to “MITSUBISHI”