4G18 IDLE PROBLEM

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 22nd, 2009, 10:57 am

yeah man...i had to go tru real beans to get my car. the only reason i still buy from them is cause i like lancer...i like them too bad. in a couple years i'll own my first evo...that's the plan :twisted:

the tint had real bubbles..the front to me was way too high aint blockin out no kinda glare or sun..the back omg! :o....the world of bubbles all around the perimeter.

they still didnt do the whole car...cause the say the back done "set" and to scrape it off would damage the heating element for the back glass...and well one of the back windows come back with bubble and dirt in the bubble so i tell them redo...it take whole day...from 8:30 - 2:30...so after all that they forget to do the front.

so the sides redone with darker tint...which i like, but it still have a few bubbles. and the front n back remained the same way... :(

boost11

Postby boost11 » April 22nd, 2009, 11:22 am

hm well they did mine pretty ok..i wanted dem to put 20% buh dey cringe and say na put 35 cuz dey ent responsible if police rip it out.. i got a lot of trouble as well to get my car..it sat in the showroom for weeks and id come from time to time to look at it..lol..but i eventually got it..but i think overall DM have the best customer service and maintenance..

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 22nd, 2009, 11:31 am

man...i tell them go ahead, i go take that chance and all in all it kinda work out well, havin the front n back normal..and the sides alone darker....

but i still wanna do over the windscreen, either i do the whole thing 35% and have a thicker darker bar on top or just put a thicker bar at 20%.

i didnt even get an antenna on my car when i got it...there was a lil 1 inch rubber screw in there...i had to go back for them to find me an antenna..and i wanted a sunroof too. :(

boost11

Postby boost11 » April 22nd, 2009, 12:23 pm

no antenna?? wtf..lol..well y u din buy the model with the sunroof? :)

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 22nd, 2009, 2:26 pm

...oh, they didnt have a sunroof model in the shipment...blah blah blah...and the sales man tell me i never tell him i wanted that...so clearly in his attempt to source a vehicle for me after i waited almost 6wks he wasnt lookin for one with a sunroof as an option.

..the salesman real help me though...but then again, when u walk in an say you want a fully loaded car with a sunroof..it can be misinterpreted as you wanting a fully loaded car with sunroof optional. :?

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » July 15th, 2009, 4:17 pm

bump where did you get the idle control valve to buy and what price?

genghis

Postby genghis » July 16th, 2009, 12:02 am

bump

i want to know as well ^^

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » July 22nd, 2009, 10:03 pm

anyone???

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » July 23rd, 2009, 11:09 am

special order japan

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » July 26th, 2009, 12:38 pm

I have a lancer wagon (local) (similar to the Libero) and i am getting this same idle problem. I have searched all in the bamboo for the idle motor. Did not get it.

Can anyone help me to locate an idle motor for a 4g92 engine?

Thanks.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » July 26th, 2009, 4:19 pm

yea and model of engine? i got one that carrys the same jack as the 2004 4g18 but different fitting to go into the intake :(

Bareback

Re: 4G18 IDLE PROBLEM

Postby Bareback » October 17th, 2011, 11:36 am

Just now getting this issue with the wife's Lancer (CS3 4G18 Engine). Happens only when the A/C is on and the engine stalls. Overall the idling is erratic so mechanic confirmed it is the Step Up Motor. Is that the same as the Idle Speed Control Valve previously referenced?

Where can I get one and what is the approximate cost?

Bareback

Postby Bareback » January 20th, 2012, 12:45 pm

Bareback wrote:Just now getting this issue with the wife's Lancer (CS3 4G18 Engine). Happens only when the A/C is on and the engine stalls. Overall the idling is erratic so mechanic confirmed it is the Step Up Motor. Is that the same as the Idle Speed Control Valve previously referenced?

Where can I get one and what is the approximate cost?

A friend of mine sourced the throttle body for me, $1800 TTD landed, brand new, installed and issue is resolved.

murrayhawk

Postby murrayhawk » August 25th, 2012, 12:18 am

Hi guys, I wanna share my story.
Car: Lancer CS3A 2001, Engine 4G18.
184.500 kms

Chronology:
a) Replace the timing Belt, A/C belt, Alternator Belt, Timing Belt tensor. (All Genuine Parts)
b) 2 weeks later, I sent the car back to the workshop to readjust the belts (they made noise)
c) 1 month later, I replaced the battery
d) 3 month later, RPM goes crazy, started from 1,5k rpm to 2k then 2,5k to 3k and it kept going up to down from 2,5 to 3k.
e) 2 weeks later SRS lights ON
f) 2 month later Check Engine lights ON, and stopped the car eventually
g) Went to Mitsubishi Workshop and they scanned the car, 2 error codes where there, SRS Sensor Driver side, and 1 error on ICS (Ignition system Camshaft sensor).
h) Replaced the ICS sensor with a new one as a result the SRS light never showed up again, and the RPM regulations go back to normal. I said FINALLY!!! But not even close......... :(
i) 2 month later, it started the rpm issue again (2,5k to 3k up and down)
j) Go to another workshop, they clean the IAC valve, zonda lambda, oxygen sensor, and the car started regulating normal again!!! ........ for 1 month ........ :(
k) Last month was running just fine, until i noticed that the temperature was high, I though it was the thermostat but nope..... it was a ground cable that was loose.
l) Fixed the ground cables last Friday and guess what???????? IT GOES BACK TO THE ORIGINAL PROBLEM!!!!!!!!!! RPM GOES NUTS AGAIN!!!!!!!!!

I´m tired of spend tons of money and don´t have a solution yet, can someone give me some advice?? I don´t know what else can I do.

Thanks in advance!!!!!

Postby ronsin1 » August 27th, 2012, 3:52 pm

did you check your coil packs?

murrayhawk

Postby murrayhawk » August 27th, 2012, 4:06 pm

I have replaced the sparkplugs 1 year ago, but never checked the coil packs. Why do you think that they might be causing the issue?? have you had the same problem on 4g18 before?

Thanks!!

Postby ronsin1 » August 27th, 2012, 4:48 pm

had that problem a couple months ago and one of the coil pack was leaking so it was not sending signal to plug number 3. I replaced both of them unfortunately it was a Saturday and I needed the car so I did not get the originals.

However the problems you are experiencing everything you changed were the items that may cause your problems.

erratic idle may be cause by the following:-
1. Faulty O2 Sensor
2. Cam Position sensor
3. IACV (stepup motoe) For AC
4. Faulty Coil Pack

Right now my Cam position sensor needs changing, a scan will be done by tomorrow to confirm this as one was done over the weekend and we cleared the fault and reset.

murrayhawk

Postby murrayhawk » August 28th, 2012, 3:19 pm

Thanks man!!! I'm gonna try to send the car to a Bosch Workshop who specialize in electronic components. Maybe they can be able to detect the main issue.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » September 1st, 2012, 8:31 pm

Jus in case this tutorial may help...

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=458785

murrayhawk

Postby murrayhawk » September 13th, 2012, 7:25 pm

Thanks for the tutorial, but I did that 2 months ago :S

I took the car to a BOSCH Workshop, but they told me that everything looks good, and that maybe... just maybe the motor mounts are old. BS!

The other day I was replacing some lamps from the dashboard and found a ground cable detached. Once I fixed that the engine starts behaving very smooth! So I believe I have a problem with the ground electrical system.

Do you have the electrical diagrams???

Thanks again guys!!

Dumplings

Re:

Postby Dumplings » September 15th, 2012, 9:07 pm

JUS4SHO wrote:step up sensor?

you mean the idle speed contorl valve / motor is so its a very commy problem with all mitsu's that these ISC fail.. for the cs3a the p/n is MD619857

murrayhawk

Postby murrayhawk » September 15th, 2012, 10:50 pm

I did clean up the ISC. I've been using the for car 2 weeks in a row without the rpm issue so far, but it keeps having the lack of response on low rpms.

murrayhawk

Postby murrayhawk » September 18th, 2012, 3:50 pm

What do you think about the spark plugs wires? Could they be causing the vibrations on 1er gear at low rpm´s?

douglaking

Postby douglaking » September 20th, 2012, 11:18 am

^ It's possible I had the same problem, changed the plugs and the low idle was fixed,

but the car is still giving my random idles..

TriniAutoMart

Re:

Postby TriniAutoMart » March 1st, 2016, 11:28 am

JUS4SHO wrote:step up sensor?

you mean the idle speed contorl valve / motor is so its a very commy problem with all mitsu's that these ISC fail.. for the cs3a the p/n is MD619857

I called Diamond Motors and they gave me p/n MD619879.
Which p/n is correct?

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » March 1st, 2016, 6:31 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1456871458.489616.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1456871458.489616.jpg (14.47 KiB) Viewed 10195 times

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » March 1st, 2016, 6:32 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1456871531.980213.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1456871531.980213.jpg (12.39 KiB) Viewed 10193 times

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » March 1st, 2016, 6:34 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1456871616.346728.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1456871616.346728.jpg (15.23 KiB) Viewed 10192 times

This is the last info I had on this from 8-9 years ago

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » March 2nd, 2016, 1:13 pm

Is there anywhere to source this item outside of Diamond Motors?

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » March 2nd, 2016, 5:20 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1456953646.174705.jpg

Return to “MITSUBISHI”