My ECU giving trouble

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

bOOsTmaN

My ECU giving trouble

Postby bOOsTmaN » May 16th, 2008, 6:06 pm

i doh know what going on wit it...

is it possible to get another ecu from another engine jus like urs and it will work??

car- ck4 lancer, 4g15 DOHC

water got on it somehow and i think it shorting..

car not revving past 3000rpm and the neutral light on the gauge cluster comin on when i drivin and crazy stuff happening. wen i shake the plugs by the ECU everything works fine so my best guess is that its shorting.

or could i jus plug in a performance ecu :twisted:

blazing

Postby blazing » May 16th, 2008, 6:13 pm

neutral light normally indicates tranny overheating..and not passing 3000rpm sounds like slipping clutches..

How on earth you got water on your ECU?

And a full Stand alone ECU is big $$ for the unit and installation and tune.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 16th, 2008, 7:59 pm

How on earth you got water on your ECU?

fuh real!!!!??

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » May 16th, 2008, 9:44 pm

i talkin about the car in park and it nut revvin past 3000rpm.. so i think that eliminates the transmission over heating

well something wit my aircondition and some condensation occurred and it was drippin on my ecu and it got into where the plugs are on the board itself.

so i got it cleaned and it was working fine, i went put gas, drive around and then a lil while after neutral started blinkin again and that car began acting weird so i stop, my ECU on the floor jus in case it gave trouble.. so i jus shake it a bit (not to damage the ting eh) jus a lil shake and the light stop blinking and evrything was normal again so it shorting.

so i cant take a computer of another 4g15 and plug it in?? it wont work?

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » May 16th, 2008, 11:02 pm

Once u get the same(exact) type of ECU it should work

blazing

Postby blazing » May 17th, 2008, 5:05 pm

You will need the same ECU s stated.

I assume you have the one that has the ECU/TCU in one with 3 rows of pins? Part no:MD354148

doubleoseven

Postby doubleoseven » May 18th, 2008, 10:44 am

Can that same ECU/TCU work in a manual car???

blazing

Postby blazing » May 18th, 2008, 12:32 pm

Only an ECU is required in a 5fwd

Postby *KRONIK* » May 18th, 2008, 12:41 pm

so therefore if ur car auto..
u could do a manual conversion without a need to change the ECU/TCU??

blazing

Postby blazing » May 18th, 2008, 12:49 pm

depends..

In any conversion you could just trick the Ecu into thinking that the car is in neutral or park and it will start. So for cars, like the local lancer 4g15, with a seperate ECU and TCU, you do not need to change anything.

However, the ECU/TCU unit like the foreign 4g15 dohc communicates with each other and I do not know how it will perform. The car will start but how will it run!

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » May 18th, 2008, 12:55 pm

blazing wrote:You will need the same ECU s stated.

I assume you have the one that has the ECU/TCU in one with 3 rows of pins? Part no:MD354148

um this ECU has 4 rows i am not sure of the part number. dropped off the car to fix yesterday.

well dat was an "adventure".
i left piarco side to go down freeport side. well the computer out jus in case the car feel like cussing me.

it work normal until i reach grand bazaar, an i notice the gears were starting to change a bit rough.

Passin by caroni there, i'm in 4th gear doin ~150km (highway was clear) i notice the rpm kinda spike and then the tires chirp and send me back into 3rd gear, neutral light starts to blink and it not comin outta that gear for nothing.
but i made it down to the mechanic.

PS. if want to give someone rel headache. jus throw water on their ECU
8-)

blazing

Postby blazing » May 18th, 2008, 12:58 pm

it has 4 connectors.. 3rows of wires

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » May 18th, 2008, 1:01 pm

^^ yeh somehting like that

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » May 18th, 2008, 11:15 pm

U good yes. Ecu problems and you doing 150??

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » May 18th, 2008, 11:42 pm

well i was goin to drop the car by the mechanic.. is either that or a 500 dollar ride to the mechanic courtesy 800-4tow

Postby *KRONIK* » May 19th, 2008, 11:01 am

bOOsTmaN wrote: courtesy 800-4tow

dude ........
u really should sort it out........

mite be 4 ur own good

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » May 19th, 2008, 11:02 am

yea it's sorting out by meh mechanic.. keep ya'll updated

MitsuMan

It's not d ECU

Postby MitsuMan » May 20th, 2008, 10:37 am

Guys,

I know of that problem. My original Transmission showed those same symtoms.It is not the ECU at fault, it is a module/relay located on the outside of the Transmission.
I replaced the Tx. with a Tiptronic & 4G15 Twin cam. Now I am looking for an ECU for the Tip... Model #MD336152 E2T65877

I found out 3 months after replacing the Tx. that my mechanic discovered the problem to be one of the relays on the Tx., he replaced it, it worked like new, and he sold it and kept all the money.

However I desperately need an ECU for my Tip. Tx.
Does anyone have one available??

In Faith,

MitsuMan

spam

Postby spam » June 7th, 2008, 7:48 pm

i just did an engine swap and they gave me a tip tronic ecu with my 4g15

today was the first day i try to drive the car even tho the electrician tell me is the wrong ecu :lol:

anyway i gettin the same problems as boostman, car not revin past 3000rpm
i cant pass 2nd gear unless i put the car in "3" and not "D"
when the car in "D" netural light blinkin

so hopefully on monday we would be able to get the right ecu and wireup everything

:shock: :shock: :shock:

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » June 7th, 2008, 7:54 pm

wel i got my problem resolved. dried out my ecu so the nut revvin past 3000k stopped and it reved out.

but the neutral light was still blinkin and the car wasn't comin out of 3rd gear so.. that problem turned out to be my transmission solenoid.

problem fixed, :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

i hope u get tru with yours spam

MitsuMan

Postby MitsuMan » June 8th, 2008, 10:59 am

See,
I told Boostman it was the solenoid on the Tranny. When you change that, the tranny works like new.

Spam... The ECU for the 4G15 Tip. Tx. is model#MD336152. You should see a large sticker on the outer casing with 6152 printed bold.

MitsuMan

Ecu giving trouble

Postby MitsuMan » June 10th, 2008, 7:15 am

Spam.. Replying to your PM
Because the Regular Auto Tx. is different the ECU for it is different. So if you want to use a 4G15 Tip. Tx (think it is even different from 4G18 Tip. Tx.) you will need to get the dedicated ECU for it... MD336152. Remember!.. that ECU is dedicated to managing the 4G15 DOHC EFI together with the Tip. Tx. So if your 4G15 is Carb. they will not work properly together.

spam

Postby spam » June 10th, 2008, 12:48 pm

ok so hear this question

so the problem with the revin and not goin pass 3rd gear and blinking neutral light can/cant be caused by the ecu?

cuz if all that is solenoid problem then is bess i go check that one time.

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » June 10th, 2008, 3:31 pm

is the solenoid

MitsuMan

Postby MitsuMan » June 11th, 2008, 9:26 am

Yes Spam,
It is the Solenoid that is responsible for causing all that.
When you change it, let us know the result.

spam

Postby spam » June 15th, 2008, 10:37 pm

ok so a lil update

so i got the original ecu thanks to "insert name here"

put jacked in the ecu and took off battery pole for some hours. after i put the pole back on and took the car for a test run the results are.

the neutral light still blinkin

when drivin when it reach around 2.4k rpm it just droppin and buildin back up so i cant pass 2nd gear :lol:

netural to drive changin rough

reverse is ok

so during this week i gonna check the solenoid and will give updates

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » June 15th, 2008, 11:00 pm

call the man :idea:

blazing

Postby blazing » June 15th, 2008, 11:17 pm

you have the correct ecu now..only thing left is the solenoid and the tranny itself.
you need to find out what them "mechanics" do with the wiring.

spam

Postby spam » June 17th, 2008, 9:35 am

right so this was my first time drivin the car on a long run since the problem
and year i actually make a 140kmh didnt know 3rd gear could reach that

anyway i have 2nd and 3rd gear no 1st no 4th
neutral light was still blinkin
ruff gear change

so i reach by the mechanic and explain the situation he tell me pop the trunk and watch by the tranny and say...yuh need to wire the brain to the tranny and that would solve the problem

call the electrician and he say bring the car this morning, but like i have the worst luck, when i reach by the man he tell me his mother passed this morning "RIP" and he not doin any work till next week,

anybody know a good electrician who could wire that and not gonna charge $1000 +

oh yea i from the north,

PM me if alyuh know anybody who could do the work please

Lancer-Pora

Postby Lancer-Pora » December 7th, 2008, 11:47 pm

Guys,
I am just playing around with my baby Lancer Mx-Saloon-G TipTronic 4G15 DOHC. I am going to write down a software program to tune my car and distribute it with GPL licence, so that everybody can use it freely. Unfortunately I couldnt find the techinical manual of my car or any information about ECU. ECU Model number #MD336152. If any of you have some material that will help my cause, just let me know.

Thanks,

Return to “MITSUBISHI”