changing spark plugs on Mivec question

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Wolla

changing spark plugs on Mivec question

Postby Wolla » June 22nd, 2008, 11:43 am

Today I went to check my spark plugs for the first time since I got the car (1.8 mivec lancer) and pulled out the that rubber fitting that goes over the plug and to my surprise oil was dripping off of it like crazy! What is oil doing up there?

Sorry if this question may seem stupid but I have never seen oil in that area when checking spark plugs. :) I put the plug back in and the car started up and ran fine but I decided to check back here with the experts to find out if that is normal and exactly how do I get these spark plugs out? ahhahaaha.

Thanks

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » June 22nd, 2008, 1:53 pm

1.8?

Don't you mean 1.6?

Anyway, usually there is a seal that goes on top the shaft the plug slides into... (plug seals)

When they begin to harden they will leak oil.

Wolla

Postby Wolla » June 22nd, 2008, 9:04 pm

Thanks for the response, let me see if I understand where you coming from; the spark plug is recessed inside a tube and there is oil seal around this tube preventing oil from inside the rocker/cam shaft cover getting into this tube?
If this seal is worn does that mean that oil will gain access to the tube and the spark plug cavity when the engine is running? Or will this oil leak out only when you remove the spark plug leads and asscociated tubes?

Any advice on replacing these seals?

Thanks again for the help.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » June 22nd, 2008, 9:40 pm

You can only access the seals by removing the cover...

The cylinder head hold the splug shafts and at the top of those shafts hold the plug seals. As the car runs the hot oil will seep through the hardened seals and go into the cavity...

Wolla

Postby Wolla » June 22nd, 2008, 10:08 pm

Thanks again for the quick reply along with the diagram, its all starting to make sense. Will let you know how the repairs go.

Is that your car drifting broad side around that corner? Well done!!

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » June 22nd, 2008, 11:04 pm

nah... just a pic I found on the net

southside crew

Postby southside crew » June 23rd, 2008, 11:12 am

you have the correct plug tool for this eng right?

The 1.8 part.. I know alot of mivec owners who are convinced that their car is 1.8.. when I tried explaining.. I gave up and said ok ok.. 1.8 then.. lol..
Last edited by southside crew on June 23rd, 2008, 9:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Wolla

Postby Wolla » June 23rd, 2008, 4:39 pm

I have to double check the plug socket I have, when I saw the oil I just freaked out and put that rubber fitting back on. hahaha Did noteven attempt to remove a plug, was concerned the car might not even start. ahahaha, really never seen anything like that. I am definately no expert mechanic but I have checked plugs on previous cars before and that sight of oil in that area was completely new to me ahaha.

Well the guy I bought it from explained to me that it was a hybrid with the 1.8 4g92 block with the mivec head. If you dont mind please explain to me why it is not or may not be a 1.8?

please dont get me wrong I am not trying to fight down that it is a 1.8, just trying to learn as much as possible about the car. I am new to having a car with any slight bit of performance so anything I can learn the better! ahaha

Thansk Again

southside crew

Postby southside crew » June 23rd, 2008, 9:04 pm

4G92 = 1.6
4G93 = 1.8

if he said it was a 4G93 block with the MIVEC head.. I would Agree 100 %..it was 1.8

but the 4g92 block well it's 1.6...

( did you buy this car from down Penal side by chance?)

Big Rock1

Valve Seals

Postby Big Rock1 » June 23rd, 2008, 9:14 pm

Wolla
SouthSide Crew is correct the seal get hard and leak oil. i changes my seals just yesterday 20 min job (for non Mechanic).

Question south Side do the coil pack for the regular ( Non Mivec) work with the mivec. I bought the car in April and now doing some work on it as i had problems finding the right Plug tool ( Slim.. Sorry Very Slim/Bonny 5/8 Plug tool). i found that the Rods are broken from the coil pack and well i need to replace them. wondered if you can get the rods alone as the Coil pack is still good. Simpson Motors doesn't have in stock and was looking to get some second hand ones. so nee dto know if regular 4g92 will work?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » June 26th, 2008, 12:17 pm

where did you find your plug tool cause i have to change my plugs and the standard 5/8 dont fit ,if u know any place in san juan that would be great too.

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » June 27th, 2008, 11:47 pm

the normal plug tool and ah grinder and u good to go trinibajan34. grind down the exterior

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » June 29th, 2008, 11:36 am

so no one in trinidad has that plug socket for sale? that is de only alternative ?
(the normal plug tool and ah grinder and u good ) then i should get to work

Wolla

Postby Wolla » July 7th, 2008, 10:12 pm

Alright, you guys were absolutely right, those old seals were hard like rock!! Got some new rubber seals and they went on easy, simple fix.

But now my socket to remove the spark plugs does not fit! I have not gone looking yet but does anyone know where I can find the socket that will fit this? (dont really want to start grinding the existing socket hahaha)

One more question, I thought I would change the cam cover seal one time, are these hard to get for mivec?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 7th, 2008, 10:26 pm

I doubt. The 4G91 should be the same...

What size is your socket?

QuickPc's

Postby QuickPc's » July 12th, 2008, 8:10 am

to all the people that can't figure out how to get their mivec plugs out use this simple step by step guide to acquire the tool that would help you out.

1. find someone with a local cs2/cs3 lancer
2. talk to them
3. push dem aside
4. open thier trunk like if yuh own th car
5. move di carpet in di trunk
6. take out the tool bag dey get with th car
7. take their plug spanner and claim it as if it's yours
8. run really fast
9. never look back

that's what i did...

OR.

1. talk to the person
2. just ask them to borrow it
3. return it when you're done

nb... grinding yuh 5/8 not goin to help cause inside the plug shaft has 2 impressions and if yuh 5/8 anythin bigger than 3/4mm on each side it not goin to fit so yuh need to find ah real good machine shop if yuh goin down dah road...

4g18 plug spanner is th same as th mivec... :roll:

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 13th, 2008, 10:26 am

thanks quickpc's for the info would you be able to get that plug socket at any auto parts place

QuickPc's

Postby QuickPc's » July 13th, 2008, 5:47 pm

to be honest i've never went to an auto supply shop and they had it buh i had about 5 of them to sell th other day an some smart mod thought it was a commercial sale and deleted th post... i doh kno how much proffit they thought i was makin from $20 plug sockets... they all sold out tho.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 13th, 2008, 7:32 pm

heres the thing i dont know any one with a cs2 or cs3 ,tried the grinding the socket ,that plan fail bad, i will look around over the weekend and make some calls ,if u get anymore or get any info on were i can get one link me up thanks in advance

QuickPc's

Postby QuickPc's » July 17th, 2008, 7:32 pm

no problem... wen meh padnas get more fireign used cars i'll check it out... buh i real surprised that these so called "mitsubishi gods" on th forum didn't know that... :roll:

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 20th, 2008, 4:51 pm

after searching high and low in de bamboo and sweating in a car that have no ac i finally found de elusive spark plug socket in el socorro at ym auto parts.paid $30 for it. this is a pic of it .

Wolla

Postby Wolla » July 23rd, 2008, 6:18 pm

Well done trinibajan34 and thanks for posting where you got it. I will try checking these guys out this weekend.

Cant beleive it is that uncommon.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 24th, 2008, 1:09 pm

just to give some more info in finding the place if u are coming up from the high way side it is after a complex that has a gym and clothing stores also it has a karate sign on top on the building and it is on the left hand side.easy to find correction in the name it is ym auto trading. before i forget is more closer to san juan side so when yuh reach elsocorro just drive up as if yuh going to san juan or by steves electronics.

Wolla

Postby Wolla » July 25th, 2008, 11:12 am

Will check them out this weekend.

Any advice from anyone as to what kind of spark plugs should I use in my MIVEC to get the best efficiency and performance?

Thanks.

Big Rock1

Plug Socket

Postby Big Rock1 » July 25th, 2008, 5:58 pm

Guys i hope he got more. i sending my Trini Frienddown there for one for me.on de de spark plugs i would like to know as well what is the best ones to use? Haven changed thenm yet on my car and had it since April '08. Also shocks i hearthey aredifferenct to the regular CK4.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 26th, 2008, 5:23 pm

i've heard that ng platinum plugs are good to use also the iridium,i have to buy my self a set as well,but it costly ,but it will last longer than normal spark plugs

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 26th, 2008, 5:24 pm

ngk correction

Return to “MITSUBISHI”