MIVEC Help

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

star323

MIVEC Help

Postby star323 » January 20th, 2009, 1:47 am

i hav a ck4 mivec and i noticed that when mivec kicked in there was a noticable sound change but no kind of change in performance... car is stock only change is free flow muffler... could there be any problem or is this normal?

DriFT_KiNG

Postby DriFT_KiNG » January 20th, 2009, 12:53 pm

At what RPM does the mivec kick in.

Is the car auto/tip or manual?

You should definately feel a difference in performance when mivec engages.

sometimes when your oil level/pressure is low you may get this. you should check your oil level and also what type/body oil are you using?

star323

Postby star323 » January 20th, 2009, 2:10 pm

mivec kicks in at 5000 rpm... tiptronic trans... the car jus feels like if its straining cus the mivec kicks in and power doesn't change.... i will check oil and get back 2 u... if u hav any other ideas pls tell me... thnx

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 20th, 2009, 3:05 pm

check/ change the oil. I have heard as well that the body of oil you use can affect this...

also it's possible your solenoid had gone...

cross ref at www.mivec.co.nz and see

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » January 21st, 2009, 4:17 pm

where u from

star323

Postby star323 » January 21st, 2009, 7:48 pm

ok here's the thing.. mivec workin but no real performance between 6200 and 7000 rpm... the car takes long to reach 7000 rpm and the car feels as though it loses power... could it be that mivec is off obove 6500 rpm? or is there something else?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 22nd, 2009, 12:20 am

not by chance a black PBW...

remember that was a problem once asked and it baffled quite a few...

anything was done to the car?

could be a fuel too rich issue...

xtech

Postby xtech » January 22nd, 2009, 8:59 am

i think u fill up with super.

star323

Postby star323 » January 22nd, 2009, 9:32 am

nothing was done with the car... not a black pbw.... i used to use super but changed to premium and added treatment as well

star323

Postby star323 » January 22nd, 2009, 10:05 am

and if in auto mode the car takes ridiculously long after 6500 rpm to reach 7000 and up shift

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 22nd, 2009, 10:08 am

have you done a diagnostic for the engine/ transmission?

star323

Postby star323 » January 22nd, 2009, 10:14 am

nope... didnt want to do that just yet since it aint that much of a problem... just wanted to hear what people thought of it...

star323

Postby star323 » January 22nd, 2009, 7:26 pm

any more suggestions?

star323

Postby star323 » January 22nd, 2009, 7:29 pm

star323 wrote:ok here's the thing.. mivec workin but no real performance between 6200 and 7000 rpm... the car takes long to reach 7000 rpm and the car feels as though it loses power... could it be that mivec is off obove 6500 rpm? or is there something else?

any more suggestions concerning this?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 22nd, 2009, 7:57 pm

do a diagnostic cause even if as you say it ain't that much of a problem, it could be the beginning of one.. and could progress into something more serious.

Did you ask on MIVEC.co.nz forums as well?

star323

Postby star323 » January 22nd, 2009, 9:33 pm

ok i will try and get a diagnostics done... could you recommend a good place specific to this type of vehicle... and estimate a cost... this would really be helpful... thnx

Postby honda hoe » January 22nd, 2009, 10:26 pm

i once got this problem wit my civic

vtec would engage... engine note would get louder

but speed wouldn't increase

when i checked it my oil was low

topped up

problem solved

dunno if dis may be ur situation too

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » January 23rd, 2009, 2:08 am

Interesting thread.

BUMP

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » January 23rd, 2009, 7:58 am

same issue was indeed discussed on www.mivec.co.nz .. ad nauseum also...

might be simply :

* Oil pressure low
* Oil has broken down or is filthy and in need of change
* Oil filter may be clogged and restricting flow
* Body of oil used too thick ( yes,,, it have cheapos out there dat does buy loose oil and put in car )
* Sump pan may be dented and the oil pickup & strainer shifted to one side or raised

Explore the simple option first before you go hunting an imaginary demon, and spending lots of frustrated time doing it also

Deo Ramkissoon

Postby Deo Ramkissoon » January 24th, 2009, 8:12 am

If you need a crank and cam sensor I have both for sale # 620-8539

star323

Postby star323 » April 4th, 2009, 11:42 pm

ok well i've finally had sum time to deal with the car and the results are not encouraging..

*oil and filter changed - old oil was 20 50 new is 10 40
*no dent in oil sump

problem still exists... that is no change in response when car hits mivec range and car doesn't reach redline... it takes forever to reach from 5500 to 7000 rpm and stays there

i am thinking of doin a diagnostic.. wat do you guys think? is it worth it? any places recommended for this and price would be helpful

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » April 5th, 2009, 4:25 am

^^Yuh have check the solenoid function?

brembo

Postby brembo » April 6th, 2009, 7:32 am

the most common is a dented sump pan.

star323

Postby star323 » April 6th, 2009, 11:26 am

thanks for the response... i'll update when i check out a few things

star323

Postby star323 » April 11th, 2009, 6:49 pm

ok i checked the solenoid and its not working.... so i'm hoping this is the only problem... should i replace the solenoid or buy a new one? and where would i get one if so?

Re: MIVEC Help

Postby Morpheus » May 20th, 2011, 2:21 am

Ever got this solved? 7000rpm is the low cam limit.

So indeed a non functioning solenoid would cause it to not switch to the high cam, hence the rev limit.

Right now I reaching 7000rpm myself :-/ Have to make checks to mine as well

BUMP

DriFT_KiNG

Postby DriFT_KiNG » May 27th, 2011, 5:45 pm

Had this problem myself a while back...serviced/repaired solenoid and lifters and problem was sorted

Mivec functions better with 10w 30 Synthetic Oil, I am presently using Amsoil with good results.

Postby Morpheus » May 28th, 2011, 1:23 am

DriFT_KiNG do you have an oil pressure gauge installed? Can you provide some of you figures for comparison?

Pressure at:
*First start up
*Engine at operating temperature
*3000rpm
*4500rpm
*5200rpm when mivec engages
etc

Anyone else can post the oil pressures as well.

Postby Morpheus » June 15th, 2011, 4:53 am

My last post on www.mivec.co.nz

Minor update.

Finally upgraded plugs to 7's. NGK Iridiums. Car seems to respond better.
Slotted the oil pick-up
Replaced coil packs with a used pair. Much, much better condition than what I had originally.

Oil pressures:All taken at standstill
700rpm 15psi
2000rpm 38psi
3000rpm 54psi
4000rpm 74psi
5000rpm 80psi

Compression test was done 230,230,240,235psi or 1585,1585,1654,1620kPa. I'm not sure of the standard or lower limit for the 4G92 MIVEC though. Regular Lancer is 1422kPa with a lower limit of 1084kPa. I just used those figures as guidelines.

Now the last thing I did was replace the plugs and thats when I noticed a difference Should have done that earlier.
From mivec at 5200rpm, the revs increase and the pedal sinks faster(is that what happens?), the car is going up to 7200rpm and seems to hit a limit/starve.

The oil pressure is dropping from 82psi to around 65psi at mivec. Oil is 10w 30 Castrol.

Next step is the change oil to a 10w 40 0r 15w 40 oiland see what happens.

And after that, valve clearances.

NOTE: All those figures and obversations were at standstill...

Still working on it slowly but surely when I get time, but at least I got some kind of improvement.

Cheers!

http://mivec.co.nz/forums/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=7076

Khairil

Postby Khairil » January 18th, 2017, 4:09 am

star323 wrote:i hav a ck4 mivec and i noticed that when mivec kicked in there was a noticable sound change but no kind of change in performance... car is stock only change is free flow muffler... could there be any problem or is this normal?

Me to just change from campro to mivec md.the problem is when rpm reach 5000.my car sounds like engine blown.but under 5000rpm the car loses power.i can only drive my car around 100km/h.any solution?

Return to “MITSUBISHI”