***The official early evo/GSR thread***

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Postby Dave » August 11th, 2009, 12:37 pm

adj pedal for the crunching, may help

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 11th, 2009, 12:40 pm

yea gonna try that tomorow when i go by the mech. he told me that something with the clutch pedal shaft too short or something. we gonna fix that tomorow along with a few other things.

Postby janfar » August 11th, 2009, 1:36 pm

My mech said the same. Lengthening the shaft gives more movement for the master cylinder meaning you wont have to double clutch. Given that the master cylinder isnt already moving to its max point.

W2J

Postby W2J » August 11th, 2009, 1:57 pm

^ more mango tree mechanics you do know that the clutch system is hydraulic and even though there is adjustment for the clutch pedal you are not suppose to because you can run the risk of premature engagement.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 11th, 2009, 2:33 pm

W2J,hmmmm interesting.

well in other good news, got my hands on some OZ evo3 wheels just now. gonna put them on later :D

sometimes when i stop at a traffic light or stop while in first, the gear feels like it doesnt wanna come out, i have to pull on it hard. :?

Postby janfar » August 11th, 2009, 3:08 pm

Any busted engine mounts??? I have the same prob, bue all the time. Gears hard to go in, hard to come out!!!

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 11th, 2009, 3:13 pm

janfar,cant really tell since my car was parked down for some time, over a year or 2. so right now im in the process of checkin and fixin. ill keep you updated on what could be or was the prob when i fix it. if you fix b4 me, lemme know.

Postby janfar » August 11th, 2009, 3:13 pm

Will do....

May i ask why was it down for so long???

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 11th, 2009, 3:52 pm

guy who i bought it from got married and parked it up in hopes of continuing when house was complete etc one thing lead to the next and had to sell to get some cash for the house i think.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 11th, 2009, 5:53 pm

W2J wrote:^ more mango tree mechanics you do know that the clutch system is hydraulic and even though there is adjustment for the clutch pedal you are not suppose to because you can run the risk of premature engagement.

i was just explaining this to a potential buyer of my car......

his complaint was the

the pedal too low

so i tried explaining to him that the clutch system is hydraulic and after bleeding the pistons adjust themselves for proper disengagement and engagement of of the clutch but he insists.......

steups....... :? :? :?

cuz i looked at the adjustment between the pedal and the master cylinder and did not see the sense in having the pedal all the way high (closer to the driver) as this would affect the way the clutch engages....ie changind the distance of the slave relative to the master

:? :? :?

(i eh sure if i bring about my point correctly, so doh eff mih up bout it....)

Virus

Postby Virus » August 11th, 2009, 6:09 pm

When i sold my lancer that was converted the buyer also asked me to raise the pedal and funny enuff he burn the clutch the same week he bought the car and insisted that i sold him a faulty car ie with a slipping or failing clutch, so being the person i am i opted to replace at my own cost :shock: ya am a sucker but like to be straight up fellow mitsu men should know how it goes anyways, after it was changed i made him drive the car with my along cause i need a ride home.

As you all guess it home boy drives with he foot on the clutch right tru :shock: :shock: and the reason why he wanted it raise cause it was too low and since his foot was already pressed up against it, it was a further hinder to press more firmly or remove he food and press again

Not sure if its one the topic as with *KRONIK* but just a experience to share hope you all understood

Postby *KRONIK* » August 11th, 2009, 6:45 pm

somehow i suspect this gonna happen.......

i have an OEM clutch and Pressure plate for the new owner so im covered in that field.....

cuz homeboy done talkin bout
adjusting clutch

Virus

Postby Virus » August 11th, 2009, 6:57 pm

^^^ Brace for it

Nik

Postby Nik » August 11th, 2009, 7:27 pm

well i dont have the extreme pp but a heavy duty & as i said before i have no problems so far with this setup for a daily driver... dont launch my car out, try my best not to... but i prefer this over the street & strip setup i had before... i guess i'll see how this goes & & judge for myself through my own experience :roll:

oh btw Death-Row, the OZ rims u got are the real shiznit, original E2-E3 rims... i'm lookin to slap on sum 17"s just to flex around but keeping my 15" OZ's just for whenever i wanna run :twisted:

Postby *KRONIK* » August 11th, 2009, 7:43 pm

Virus wrote:^^^ Brace for it

nah..

apparently the pundit doesnt want him buying my car.......

southside crew

Postby southside crew » August 11th, 2009, 8:05 pm

^ LOL.. pundit prob givin the man the $$ so dont get vex nah.. lol..

Postby *KRONIK* » August 11th, 2009, 10:25 pm

southside crew wrote:^ LOL.. pundit prob givin the man the $$ so dont get vex nah.. lol..

me eh vex..... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 11th, 2009, 11:44 pm

Nik,yea man, gonna put them on tomorow but i gotta tackel some bushings probs under the car so im not sure if they will tell me to change some stuff b4 i put them on or not. either way, when ever i drop the evo3 kit on the car, ill throw on some nice 17 inchers to clear some bigger brakes :twisted:

W2J

Postby W2J » August 12th, 2009, 12:16 am

I have powerflex bushings instock :twisted:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 12th, 2009, 12:18 am

W2J,could these work on my car?

W2J

Postby W2J » August 12th, 2009, 12:25 am

I am sure if you measure we could compare because its for the 4,5,6

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 12th, 2009, 12:28 am

W2J,will do that. if the rims go on tomorow ill take some pics/measurements while the car is up for you guys to see. maybe that might help.

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » August 12th, 2009, 10:57 am

ah yes finally some :pics:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 13th, 2009, 12:16 am

got a flat on my way to collect the rims/tyres today :?

will handle that tomorow :lol:

Postby janfar » August 13th, 2009, 8:19 am

Like the old rims and tyres trying to send u a message.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 13th, 2009, 8:47 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
W2J wrote:^ more mango tree mechanics you do know that the clutch system is hydraulic and even though there is adjustment for the clutch pedal you are not suppose to because you can run the risk of premature engagement.

i was just explaining this to a potential buyer of my car......

his complaint was the

the pedal too low

so i tried explaining to him that the clutch system is hydraulic and after bleeding the pistons adjust themselves for proper disengagement and engagement of of the clutch but he insists.......

steups....... :? :? :?

cuz i looked at the adjustment between the pedal and the master cylinder and did not see the sense in having the pedal all the way high (closer to the driver) as this would affect the way the clutch engages....ie changind the distance of the slave relative to the master

:? :? :?

(i eh sure if i bring about my point correctly, so doh eff mih up bout it....)

Actually, don't be surprised... you can get a high or low feel...

Yes the hydraulic system compensates, however what many people don't realise is after time, you must adjust the pedal within a specific tolerance... 17mm play .

if you push the pedal slightly you will feel a small play before the rod actually engages the valve in the cylinder...

Now usually if that isn't adjusted or has more play than spec, it can cause a "high" feel. usually if it's in spec, it will feel "low"

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 13th, 2009, 11:19 am

MISHI,i had that "play" also, my mech. adjusted it and the play is gone now tho.

i recently found out that my master cylinder isnt the original for my car and the shaft isnt the correct length so i think ill be ordering in the original, maybe that might help my shifter probs.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 13th, 2009, 12:25 pm

Also the CB lancer shifters notorious for having play in them... this also can cause problems... The accent shifter bushing kit should help.

Postby janfar » August 13th, 2009, 12:27 pm

Accent kit yuh say *runs off to nearest parts place*

Postby janfar » August 18th, 2009, 10:57 pm

BUMP/

Death-Row, still getting gearbox probs??? I having a hard time shifting and reverse almost always grind into place.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”