***The official early evo/GSR thread***

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Death-Row

Re: ***The official early evo/GSR thread***

Postby Death-Row » December 23rd, 2010, 11:50 am

Sanctifier wrote:
janfar wrote:Well... we wont be able to calculate it like that. The parts that are not saleable like the chassis, and stuff will have to minused from the main cost, divided by the amout of purchasers and then added to their bill.

Unless we could sell the hood for a price, the floor boards for some, and them other things...
Why not find someone with a fwd Lancer who wants to do a legal... and RELIABLE fwd-to-4wd upgrade before you import?

Just swap the rear floor-pan, rear tunnel and arches... no messin' with firewall or chassis numbers. Then just swap all the drivetrain & rear suspension parts from the donor Evo.
That way you have no "Evo insurance" issues to deal with. 4wd Libero and Lancer models are legal right now. Just advise your insurance about an engine swap... pay the difference in premium... and register a "Change of engine" with the Licensing Office.

It's a total pain in the azz to do... but it's better than getting an illegal Evo confiscated... with yuh $$$ jumpin' up!
It's all perfectly legal. Imagine... a legal, refurbished Evo 3... with all OEM parts. 8-)

My $0.02¢

i will be doin this late next year. trying to find a cb3 lancer cheap right now, one without engine pref.

anyone got any info?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 23rd, 2010, 3:37 pm

Mudboy wrote:
janfar wrote:So mudboy we in the same time... i really think I need a front cut or a complete now as the time it will take me to do the rebuild is against my plans for next year with the amount travelling I have to do. And I need my car on the road...

Any suggestions??? Who see good completes and or frontcuts recently.

No scene...we go make a lime to go check the front cuts...saw two a black and silver - evo 2 - 19k eack

have meh eyes of a red car........ :D

not bad... studying to maybe get an evo 2 bumper just for the lip piece...

BUT I STILL WANT EVO III SKIRTS!!!

(I had to shout... maybe God will hear me and command some 2nr to tell me)

Postby janfar » December 23rd, 2010, 8:14 pm

ok... so i bite the bullet and i bought the FU engine by DD...

Install next week to proceed... need all seals for engine, gb and t/case timing belt and tensioners and clutch before i pick up the engine. Anybody know where i could get them thing....

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » December 23rd, 2010, 11:45 pm

MISHI wrote:
Mudboy wrote:
janfar wrote:So mudboy we in the same time... i really think I need a front cut or a complete now as the time it will take me to do the rebuild is against my plans for next year with the amount travelling I have to do. And I need my car on the road...

Any suggestions??? Who see good completes and or frontcuts recently.

No scene...we go make a lime to go check the front cuts...saw two a black and silver - evo 2 - 19k eack

have meh eyes of a red car........ :D

not bad... studying to maybe get an evo 2 bumper just for the lip piece...

BUT I STILL WANT EVO III SKIRTS!!!

(I had to shout... maybe God will hear me and command some 2nr to tell me)

Mishi where yuh getting evo 2 body parts?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 24th, 2010, 12:42 am

Every rare occasion a FU place here might bring evo stuff... I gor my E1 fornt body panels from them.... right now they brought in a full GSR 1800T with rollcage etc for 25K

So from time to time they get some items... but honestly i more might just browse around MLR or some of those sites and try my luck.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 25th, 2010, 4:14 am

janfar wrote:ok... so i bite the bullet and i bought the FU engine by DD...

Install next week to proceed... need all seals for engine, gb and t/case timing belt and tensioners and clutch before i pick up the engine. Anybody know where i could get them thing....

im sure teknet (w2j) can get all those things for u. give him a call.

if he cant, try cyber evo.

not sure how the prices will be for either tho.

glad to hear u coming back on ur feet or wheels, which ever one lol.

i still lookin for a cb3 project car fellas lol

Postby janfar » December 25th, 2010, 8:14 pm

I doubt a CB3 would be hard to find... will be on the look out for one...

I want to walk in a store and get those seals... the hardest one to get is the metal oil seal that goes on the passenget side of the gearbox to seal the axle... everything else i can get one i hunt right...

Whohave a suggestion for a good clutch... last time i ised as ACT extreme and that proved to be overkill... the ACT SS was too soft... Anybody try Fidanza yet???

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 26th, 2010, 3:05 am

had fidanza on my e3. cant say which one exactly cause i got it with the car but it held up to 300+ HP really good. the clutch pedal had the same (or close) stiffness as the ACT Heavy Duty PP.

i got the car with the fidanza, not sure how long it was in there but after 8 months of launching, racing etc, it started to slip. i went with the ACT heavy duty clutch and Pressure plate. held up really good.

the extreme is really a bit of overkill i fine, also, the clutch master and slave cylinders really hate it, seen them (cylinders) go within a week or 2 time lol, ive seen instances where the clutch pedal was bent after long term use also. not really my cup of tea.

i would say the ACT Heavy Duty setup is a good one.

also janfar, i can get a couple CB3s but i was hoping to get one without engine, or some other parts out basically a shell, since i dont have place to store all the parts from it when i scrap it down, since everything has to come out and everything evo3 is going in.

Nik

Postby Nik » December 26th, 2010, 7:08 am

row row row... u still lookin at goin through wit that project.... lol

my evo II had the ACT 6 puk copper & extreme pp with a 9lp fly wheel... drove it everyday... to work & bak in betham highway traffic had no problems whatsoever never even bothered my foot... launched, rip out, raced, drifted... as i said i never had a problem for the 11 months i had the car... from what i understand d setup still in d car goin good (d guy doh ruff it lik i used to lol) its all up to personal preference... also janfar how often u gonna b using d car??? i'd say go wit d ACT copper & heavy duty PP... its a good setup to use...

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 26th, 2010, 3:10 pm

nik, the evo3 is a dream car of mine, i will get back one lol.

btw nik, where u was for the courtesy staff party hossss?

Nik

Postby Nik » December 26th, 2010, 4:51 pm

@ my company staff party lol...

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 26th, 2010, 5:54 pm

hmmmmm good excuse

Postby janfar » December 27th, 2010, 11:50 am

Nik... you have elephant legsor what... Exxtreme by ACT was very hard i find... plus as row said... it wreaked havoc on mt master and slave cylinders... on the hiway... :(

But anyways... thinking about going Fidanza or maybe with an ACT heavy duty.

Where you young lads getting timing belts and such???

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » December 27th, 2010, 10:14 pm

janfar wrote:Nik... you have elephant legsor what... Exxtreme by ACT was very hard i find... plus as row said... it wreaked havoc on mt master and slave cylinders... on the hiway... :(

But anyways... thinking about going Fidanza or maybe with an ACT heavy duty.

Where you young lads getting timing belts and such???

Jan what other goodies did you come across on your seach for an engine?...any rims or suspension parts?

Mishi check yuh pm

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 28th, 2010, 3:13 am

janfar, tuner imports and teknet has timing belts in stock i believe.

do u want aftermarket or oem? i think teknet has oem but tuner imports has greddy. cant remember.

Postby janfar » December 29th, 2010, 12:29 am

Will check W2J and TI tomorrow or Thursday. More than likely I will sgo for the Aftermarket Gates belts that i see TI has on his site. Also saw he had Fidanza clutches... thinking bout the 3.2 (think it was that)...

Need to find those seals though... help me fellahs that one seal was real hard to find last time...

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 29th, 2010, 9:52 am

Guys just some info... just in the event the sellers don't carry it or have in stock at the time...

If you have a skybox and paypal... (also having the Mitsubishi ASA parts catalogue program to search the part numbers is a GREAT plus)

you can browse this site for any numbers and have it sent fairly quickly.

http://www.rchillmitsubishi.com/parts/order-form.htm

Postby janfar » December 29th, 2010, 3:26 pm

So i picked up a new clutch and a new walbro fuelpump... Also met a good early evo man who gave me some advice. Tomorrow will pick up the engine and start work... Newyears day i want to have the engine and GB back together with new clutch installed and all seals changed... Just need Timing belt and balance shaft belt now as Tuner Import didnt have any...

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 31st, 2010, 6:00 pm

aside from all the car problems our lovely evos give us.

lets have a safe night tonight fellas. hope to see success in the 2k11 from everyone.

:)

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » January 2nd, 2011, 4:52 am

Guys...whatever goodies you find along the way...let me know as evo 123 parts hard to find and it would benefit the rest of us on this page............

Postby janfar » January 3rd, 2011, 11:03 am

Finally... the day has arrived... Betsy's heart transplant begins... will post pics...

ecktt

Postby ecktt » January 3rd, 2011, 12:18 pm

Has anyone tried SeaFoam in their car?

Postby janfar » January 3rd, 2011, 3:52 pm

I tried it once but i didnt agree with the metal... was too salty...

MISHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 3rd, 2011, 7:18 pm

I never tell yuh go sea with the car...

ecktt

Postby ecktt » January 3rd, 2011, 8:51 pm

man am i sorry i asked this here...

Postby janfar » January 3rd, 2011, 10:46 pm

are u now???

So, engine is home. Got my friends lift borrowed for the install. Day 2 willbe removal of gearbox and getting out the rear and from seals for replacement. Then try to head to POS to pick up the seals and Timing/ balance shaft belt.

The engine though, is not from an evo but from a Chariot. everything seems to be the same but the turbo is different. Same TD05H but its actually a big 16G which is capable of up to 380HP. Sadly the outlet is facing downward as opposed to upward. So some modifications will have to be done... maybe changing the turbo out completely may be an option.

Does anyone know if both ECU's would be the same...

where Sanctifier and his 2 cents???

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » January 4th, 2011, 3:52 am

^ ^ ^ Sorry padna, I don't have a clue about this one.
Even a search (wikipedia) doesn't have info about a turbo version... only about N/A 4G63s and 4G64s.

Postby janfar » January 4th, 2011, 7:27 am

Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ Sorry padna, I don't have a clue about this one.
Even a search (wikipedia) doesn't have info about a turbo version... only about N/A 4G63s and 4G64s.

:shock: :shock: :shock:

***burns car down with all contents***

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 4th, 2011, 9:42 am

I think he meant to say "RVR" sanct. Those came Top mount intercooled and a smaller turbo but basically same engine.

Janfar, No the ECU's aren't the same... at least part numbers are different. Besides which the Evo ecu may be set with different air/ fuel maps etc.

W2J

Postby W2J » January 4th, 2011, 10:01 am

RVR has cam and crank sensors, e3 does not, also you can clock the compressor housing to face any direction you want.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”