Evo's, Lancers, Outlanders Fan Controllers

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Evo's, Lancers, Outlanders Fan Controllers

Postby crazybalhead » July 13th, 2010, 8:11 am

Ok Guys,

Just an FYI,

I had a cooling problem in the VII, but it turned out to be just a bad ground, when the fans switched on, the temp gauge would go mad, I checked the grounds and found it deteriorating everytime the fans came on. So I made a kit and fixed it, but before I did, I bought a fan controller thinking it was the problem.

So unto the Evo VIII, worked great until about three or four weeks ago. After a little ammm enthusiastic acceleration, I noticed the after market temp gauge and stock temp gauge up a little more than normal, and then go back down. Thought it may be the fans, because I was in traffic, or the controller.

It started working normally again within a minute or two.

THEN, recently, when I come home and park, I can hear the fan running a few seconds after the car is off, and in traffic, the car stays fairly cool for a long time, which means the fans probably running all the time.

Cut to this morning, started the car and heard fan come on one time. Reach to work and confirm my suspicion. Engine fan is on right through. AC fan comes on when AC is turned on.

This may sound like a good thing, but eventually the controller will fail altogether and then crapaud smoke yuh pipe.

Also, with the fan running all the time, the car actually runs a couple degrees hotter than normal at 80 kmph, and the car feels a little more sluggish because those fans pull a lot of amps.

So I still have the new fan control module, and will change it later and update the thread.

The change is extremely simple, just go behind the engine fan, you will see the controller there, remove the two clips off the bottom, and undo the two 10mm bolds at either side, and take it out. Reverse the process and you good to go.

Diamond has the controller, for about $1200.00, but you can get it easier and cheaper from W2J for about $900.00

So if you have any of these symptoms, look into it, and for God's sake, don't bridge your fan, that's not how the car is supposed to work.

Until laters...

Re: Evo's, Lancers, Outlanders Fan Controllers

Postby crazybalhead » July 13th, 2010, 8:14 am

BTW there was a recall for US Evo VIII's from before June 2003 for the fan control module, I guess the JDM ones had the same issue. Mine is May 2003 I think.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 13th, 2010, 9:33 am

Ok... I was just about to ask how come cause I thought that it was rectified with the 8's release.. but I think the fan will stay on a couple seconds after shutting off... most I have read do this...

can you describe the kit you made?

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 13th, 2010, 9:43 am

ive been having fan problems recently also. in traffic, temp went up to 3/4. i switched off, cooled down, then started again, see if the fan was coming on, for some reason, the fan was coming on late, only when the car reaches about 3/4, then it would come on. my car has no thermostat, stock radiator. i tried changing the sensor but same prob, i was a bit tight on cash and i needed my car for work so i ran the fans direct.

im thinkin of doin over that portion of the cooling system, thinkin of, new OEM sensor, mishimotor fans, ralliart thermostat. dont think ill needed a upgraded radiator. stock seems to be fine.

Postby crazybalhead » July 13th, 2010, 9:50 am

I just used some leftover four gauge power wire, three ring terminals.

One from the batery to the left headlight groung and one from the batt to the main ground just below.

Took about ten minutes.

Update, just installed the new fan controller, it works properly now.

So if anyone wondering, with AC off: Fans cut in at exactly 92 deg C and switch off at 88 deg C

With AC on, Fans cut in at 89 Deg C and switch off at 85 deg C and cycle more often.

The thermostat opens at 80 Deg C.

Postby crazybalhead » July 13th, 2010, 9:51 am

Mishi, the fans do not stay on after the count down when the controller is working properly.

The car will be fine with the fault for a while, but it will eventually fail altogether.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 13th, 2010, 11:04 am

That's strange cause when I first experienced it when I had first gotten the car I did some reading around... and most even those who changed the controller have said that when the car turns off it will stay on a couple seconds before shutting off itself...

I mean my fans come on and off properly so far (knock on wood) but that was my only thing...

Postby crazybalhead » July 13th, 2010, 11:09 am

No probs. lemme see over the next couple days.

Postby De Dragon » July 15th, 2010, 5:45 pm

MISHI wrote:That's strange cause when I first experienced it when I had first gotten the car I did some reading around... and most even those who changed the controller have said that when the car turns off it will stay on a couple seconds before shutting off itself...

I mean my fans come on and off properly so far (knock on wood) but that was my only thing...

Yes this happens to my fan. After the timer expires, it will run for at least 5 seconds before it cuts out. Also when I turn the ignition on, the fans cut in immediately. I have no cooling issues though.

Postby crazybalhead » July 16th, 2010, 8:27 am

That's what I'm saying, you will have no issues, until it fails!

Postby crazybalhead » July 16th, 2010, 8:31 am

AND the car will be a little more sluggish with the engine fan running all the time. Also, cooling is not efficient at cruising with your engine fan running.

And lemme put it this way, if I leave home at 5:30, and reach POS at 6:00 or so in the morning, if the fans come one once is plenty, now imagine that fan on ALL THE TIME.

I not happy with that.

Postby De Dragon » July 17th, 2010, 5:43 pm

Well I checked it out and the fans are in fact running continuously. So I guess its cough up $900 time.... :|

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 17th, 2010, 7:34 pm

Posted about this awhile ago cbh...these Controllers are a hard find, I usually search eBay to find them once in awhile.

DM and others rape ppl with prices down here so I usually try to find them for the Mitsu frat here.

I believe I have one in stock remaining somewhere.

Postby De Dragon » July 18th, 2010, 11:31 pm

New? Price?

Postby crazybalhead » July 19th, 2010, 6:37 am

idlemind, they are not hard to find, W2J can get them pretty easy.

W2J

Postby W2J » July 19th, 2010, 4:36 pm

^ Thanks crazy I always have these instock

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 19th, 2010, 4:48 pm

You have both Gerrard? 1355A053 & 1355A052

I think I have 1 of the 1355A053 and yes Dragon, it supposed to be new but that one's for the CS Lancer

Postby De Dragon » July 29th, 2010, 1:20 am

Changed mine today (got it from W2J),and fan not on continuously anymore, though I find that it still cycles on/off often. Will have to monitor and see. Quieter too now what with the fan cycling and all that happy crappy.

W2J

Postby W2J » July 29th, 2010, 7:44 am

injector latency is also affected by voltage so more than likely you will be running be richer than before now if your map was altered.

Postby crazybalhead » July 29th, 2010, 8:09 am

De Dragon wrote:Changed mine today (got it from W2J),and fan not on continuously anymore, though I find that it still cycles on/off often. Will have to monitor and see. Quieter too now what with the fan cycling and all that happy crappy.

Postby De Dragon » August 2nd, 2010, 12:47 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Changed mine today (got it from W2J),and fan not on continuously anymore, though I find that it still cycles on/off often. Will have to monitor and see. Quieter too now what with the fan cycling and all that happy crappy.

WTF you laughing at? Iz you cause meh tuh change eeettt................

Marct

Postby Marct » August 3rd, 2010, 8:11 pm

good info - being looking for a replacement for a while

W2J

Postby W2J » August 3rd, 2010, 8:33 pm

Marct wrote:good info - being looking for a replacement for a while

then you looking in the wrong place :D always instock :twisted:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 3rd, 2010, 10:12 pm

Gerrard....1355A053 or 1355A052???

W2J

Postby W2J » August 4th, 2010, 9:13 am

idlemind wrote:Gerrard....1355A053 or 1355A052???

neither 1355A126 supersedes these two numbers

Postby De Dragon » August 4th, 2010, 4:48 pm

W2J wrote:
Marct wrote:good info - being looking for a replacement for a while

then you looking in the wrong place :D always instock :twisted:

Got a co-worker who said he's been looking for one for ages. Even had to change his fans at one time. Sent him to you one time!

W2J

Postby W2J » August 4th, 2010, 7:44 pm

^ much thanks bro remind me to give you a extra discount next time you come by ;-)

Postby De Dragon » August 6th, 2010, 12:52 am

W2J wrote:^ much thanks bro remind me to give you a extra discount next time you come by ;-)

Ok,no probs

mety57

Postby mety57 » February 6th, 2012, 1:22 am

w2j now lemme ask there r 3 main wires coming to the controller positive ,negative and what would be the 3 wire .....reason i was wondering if a normal relay can replace this with the 2power wire and the small wire to close the relay.....i guess the controller is jus like a normal relay

Postby crazybalhead » February 6th, 2012, 11:05 am

mety57 wrote:w2j now lemme ask there r 3 main wires coming to the controller positive ,negative and what would be the 3 wire .....reason i was wondering if a normal relay can replace this with the 2power wire and the small wire to close the relay.....i guess the controller is jus like a normal relay

It is not. It's quite a bit more complicated.

There are switches to control each fan, sometimes the two come on together etc. DEpending on temp AC etc. Vehicle speed etc.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”