GDi 4G93T, How To Upgrade?

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

idlemind

Re: GDi 4G93T, How To Upgrade?

Postby idlemind » May 24th, 2011, 6:19 pm

Send me the chassis number I can check it on the ASA program

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » May 24th, 2011, 6:57 pm

it's a JDM T-Touring Sports Edition manufactured in 2002

Marcos Dios

Postby Marcos Dios » May 24th, 2011, 9:56 pm

raybic wrote:how come your gear shift is like that? is it manual? or tiptronic? this is mines.

The shifters are on the steering wheel. It is still tiptronic.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 24th, 2011, 10:42 pm

Got shifter on the steering wheel as well on the gear shifter itself, just looks manual

idlemind

Postby idlemind » June 2nd, 2011, 8:00 pm

Pal what going on with this?
I see you selling it...what about the 4g18 and box?
You puttin it back in?
You not responding to my pm's, will call you tomorrow..

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 4th, 2011, 12:12 am

GDI 4G93T project still going ahead, not selling it again.

I have the package already out waiting for you now.

xtech

Postby xtech » June 15th, 2011, 1:18 pm

have a 4G94 block...........if u looking to upgrade to 2.0

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 20th, 2011, 9:23 am

How would injectors be upgraded to push for 2.0 displacement? Have not seen gdi injectors available in upgrades but i may be wrong.

Sounds like a nice thing to do, would make better use of an evo3 turbo on 2.0 block.

zico85

Postby zico85 » July 8th, 2011, 10:37 am

Ok i dont have the Turbo 4G93 i have the non turbo and here are some mods that are proven to give more fire to the pot.

1)K&N Filter (for some reason i dont know why)
2)Destroy the cat converter (either punch some holes in it or put a pipe at that section)
3)You can install an aftermarket exhaust with a cone filter but u will have to use one of these with the air sensor to tune it to suit
http://www.amazon.com/Dual-Edge-MAP-Sen ... 842&sr=8-2
4)If you are bold like me u can install an HHO kit maybe one like this
http://www.advancedhho.com/product-p/dc45sys.htm
Forget about the fuel saving stuff for now but it does give u some more fire especially when tuned to suit.
5)And finally change the exhaust barrel ,dunno if the turbo cars come with a performance barrel but if it doesnt put in one.
6)I dont advise changing the spark plugs because they mess up the GDI settings and u will get problems,i guess what u can do is go with the extra pump and control it to suit.
7)The guys in china are changing the engine parts as well with lighter ones but i dont kno too much about that.(Pistons etc)

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 11th, 2011, 5:39 pm

I'll be making a custom intake manifold for my gdi 4g93t and running 4 extra injectors, 550cc's to fuel a bigger turbo, probably from an evo3 or something. still trying to figure out how to control timing properly on this engine and what controller can work.

secret_service

Postby secret_service » July 11th, 2011, 5:57 pm

problem is not controlling timing..........is fueling but since you want to do the 4 extra injectors i have a AEM FIC forsale that can do the job. Also have some 460cc injectors and a rail if u looking. Just tap the manifolds for the extra injectors u dont have to build one over .

Use the FIC to handle timing and clamp the O2 sensor voltage so ECU wont see rich condition then use the un-board MAP sensor to kick in the extra injectors original fuel cut will sill exsist unless the FIC can clamp the MAF.

Does this engine have a MAP sensor as well

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 12th, 2011, 10:20 am

I dont think i saw any when i scrapped it.

I already have an FIC but i dont like it due to lack of features. Will be using the emanage ultimate.

I wanna build over the manifold bcuz the stock one is plastic, really dont like that plastic thing. The aluminum one im building will be an exact replica of the original just NOT plastic lol

xtech

Postby xtech » July 12th, 2011, 11:34 am

wat d intake manifold is plastic on the turbo version..............wah!!!

secret_service

Postby secret_service » July 12th, 2011, 2:37 pm

what extra features you need...............lol

was thinking you can double your fuel supply by adding a 2nd bank of GDI injectors running of a 2nd injector box which can be triggered all the time by the ECU by tapping into the 1st box
i guess u can safely double your airflow once u can fool the MAF

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 12th, 2011, 6:56 pm

well true, just have to cut the injector flow with a management by half to get stock for idle and cruising.

yea, the gdi 4g93t manifold is plastic and the non turbo gdi's not i believe, kinda stupid if you ask me. lol.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 12th, 2011, 7:01 pm

nope...the n/a gdi intake manifold is plastic as well.

the galants are NOT plastic...lol is jus a CS thing

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 13th, 2011, 4:57 am

I've seen a lancer with the non plastic one already but that was an engine change, so i guess they ended up putting the galant engine in it.

Im gonna be running a TD05HR-16G, 550cc Injectors, Custom Intake Manifold, 2.5" Exhaust, Emanage Ultimate and might be upgrading headgasket.

xtech

Postby xtech » July 14th, 2011, 10:51 pm

GDI injector specification
Orifice size 0.80 mm
Duty cycle 20% during compression to kill knock (normal injection pulse during down stroke)
Static flow rate 1000 cc/min at 5.0 MPa
Mean droplet size 17 micron SMD (approx)
Fuel pressure 5.0 MPa (minimum)
Spray pattern Symmetrical hollow-cone

Are your extra injectors run by the emanage going to be triggered by GDI ECU..........twice?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 15th, 2011, 11:22 am

Not really, but damn, gdi injectors are 1000cc's a minute??

xtech

Postby xtech » July 15th, 2011, 12:29 pm

and thats the 4G93/94 size the 4G64 is 1200cc

the prototype GDI engine was a single piston 125cc 2 stroke engine with a 450cc injector

so when it not working well you know why they are famous gas guzzlers

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 15th, 2011, 10:22 pm

normal problem with all gdi i guess

bcozier

Postby bcozier » October 25th, 2011, 8:06 am

Got myself one of these wagons....turbo too!!!

keep us updated with ur progress

luckyloulou

Postby luckyloulou » October 31st, 2011, 1:22 pm

just installed a 4g93T with the 4fwd tiptronic transmission non cvt on my wagon works great it is fully stock i was thinking abt a blowoff valve what your opinions on this i also noticed the GDI ECO light not coming on again i think i noticed it when i installed the engine i used everthing from the half so i didnt have to rewire anything can any one advise me with some upgrades just want to maintain everything in good order what are some of the basics i should start with

suzieboy

GDi 4G93T, How To Upgrade?

Postby suzieboy » October 31st, 2011, 1:29 pm

Well for 1 a bov wudnt give u performance however u may wanna lookin into ur exhaust and intercooler size an intake for starters.

xtech

Postby xtech » October 31st, 2011, 2:32 pm

^^^^ how d engine running boy.............u not even let me know nothing

luckyloulou

Postby luckyloulou » October 31st, 2011, 10:10 pm

isnt the stock intercooler good enough if not what size is recommended and my exhaust is stock i wanna keep it quiet what kind of exhaust is recommended

Menace3.0

Postby Menace3.0 » June 28th, 2012, 11:26 am

Know that this is an old topic...but information wise check www.evoscan.com. They have the software that is able to modify the parameters on the ECUs of the Galant 4G93 GDIs. Its a possibility that it may also work for 4G93T GDI engines as basically there both the same engines...so who knows. There are other little things you can do to make the engine a little more agressive...but thats a another story by itself

raybic

Postby raybic » June 29th, 2012, 2:12 pm

bro ive been using evoscan to data log my car ecu, 4g93t gdi, it works the ecu flash also works but dont know what to do. want other stuff can u do to make the engine more better because there is not much can be done in trinidad but japan there is tuning shops for these engines.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 29th, 2012, 9:54 pm

I should be having my ecu reflashed soon, gotta make time and head up to get the stuff done.

Will be running about 9psi max boost

bcozier

Postby bcozier » July 2nd, 2012, 10:08 am

Computerz & Parts Guy.....keep us posted!!!

Return to “MITSUBISHI”