VR4 conversion on a FTO

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Jono_

VR4 conversion on a FTO

Postby Jono_ » July 29th, 2015, 10:21 pm

I am currently contemplating doing this conversion on my V6 MIVEC FTO but been wondering what will I have to change on the car to accommodate this extra power.

Kinday

Re: VR4 conversion on a FTO

Postby Kinday » July 30th, 2015, 10:50 pm

This is your solution right here...credit to xtech.

xtech wrote:RUNNING THIS BEAST ON 2WD
(Formula for a VR2)

HMMMM.....Running this monster on 2 wheels?
2WD is not recommended since you will get so much "torque steer" (without front helical LSD)
that this car will be dangerous on the street. But yuh done know that is wat we like to see.

For successfully dropping a Galant/Legnum Vr4 6a13tt into a GDI/ Local Galant which did not leave factory as 4WD this is what you will need.

Required Parts:

1. 6A13tt motor from a Vr4 full harness and brain. Airflow.

2. FTO Front Wheel Drive transmission (if the 4WD conversion seems to be to much work) Yes the Mitsubishi MIVEC FTO (auto or manual box) with Axles. If your going manual you will need to get the required parts i.e linkage, shifter, clutch pedal?etc

3. 4G9x owners will need to purchase the V6 sub-frame from a junkyard if you can find one and have 2? spacers added to the undercarriage with longer bolts.

4. Take the accessory belts and timing belts to a local parts store and match them up. Its so much easier to do while the motor is on the ground.

Misconceptions:

This section is based on rumors from person?s that have no clue, have never seen a 6a13tt.

1. This motor will drop directly into any 8th gen Galant with no alignment worries.

2. There is no clearance issues with the firewall and the rear turbo (TD03-7T) upgrading to TD04-9bs is something to think about one time. I have not found out if the TD05 will fit.

3. Modifying the AWD transmission by removing the front transfer case will destroy the transmission. But if you must go ahead, when you hear a ?whurring? sound you know the transmission is dead.

Installation:

1. Remove the following: Engine/transmission, axles, sub-frame front bumper, both fenders. I4 owners will now want to replace the wiring harness at this junction too.

2. A 2.5? hole will have to be cut into the car to allow the inter-cooler piping to route down on the passenger side.

3. Install the 6a13TT with the FTO transmission, plug in all existing components of the wiring harness.
4. Lastly custom exhaust work, 3" is enough for most if 4" is needed..wow I'll be speechless.

Postby Morpheus » August 2nd, 2015, 4:55 pm

Nice info....

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » September 4th, 2015, 10:33 am

2wd will be just fine. Tourqe steer claims are a bit exaggerated. The issues you will have are
*cooling a 6a13tt
*tiptronic transmission will die
*manual f5m42 gets tired and needs rebuilding now and then
*top intercooler y piece will need adjusting
*powersteering lines
*ac compressor and turbo close to radiator
If you need help with part numbers or alternate parts pm me

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » September 4th, 2015, 11:32 am

Better yet post it here fto ppl need as much help as possible.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » September 12th, 2015, 4:46 pm

What do you plan to do with your mivec v6?

trini iceman

Postby trini iceman » September 12th, 2015, 6:37 pm

Man lining up the 6a12 early.

NR8

Postby NR8 » February 10th, 2016, 1:10 pm

As the 6a12 was mentioned, would the sub frame need to be changed if swapping in this engine for a 4G93 in a Galant? Or even the 6a13 n/a?

psychokid

Postby psychokid » October 11th, 2018, 10:07 pm

Guys I will like to know if I can swap out my 4g93gdi engine alone with a 6a13tt

Return to “MITSUBISHI”