Converting Local 4g18 CS3 2005 Lancer to 4g63t. Good idea or no?

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

TheAutoDIYGuyYT

Converting Local 4g18 CS3 2005 Lancer to 4g63t. Good idea or no?

Postby TheAutoDIYGuyYT » August 2nd, 2017, 2:25 pm

Hey guys...I'm planning on purchasing a 4g63t engine and tranny from an Evo 8 for around TTD$15,000 landed from Japan. I currently have a local 2005 CS3 glx lancer with 4g18 engine & cvt tranny, but the tranny finally gone thru. I bought a foreign used one from the Bamboo, and it last me about 6 months before having to buy some shift solenoids for it, and then another 6 months later, it finally give up on meh. So I studying if to do the conversion that I always wanted to do, or just buy a next foreign used one and sell it?

I know I'll have to stick with FWD unless I want to go thru the headache of modifying the floor and such, to fit the diff.

I'm a complete newbie at this stuff guys, so please don't kill me. :oops:

Your advice will be greatly appreciated.

trinmari

Re: Converting Local 4g18 CS3 2005 Lancer to 4g63t. Good idea or no?

Postby trinmari » December 11th, 2017, 12:03 pm

did you ever go through with the conversion? I am contemplating doing the same

TheAutoDIYGuyYT

Re: Converting Local 4g18 CS3 2005 Lancer to 4g63t. Good idea or no?

Postby TheAutoDIYGuyYT » April 24th, 2018, 1:50 pm

Can't find any advice online. So not gonna bother to take the risk. I ended up buying a brand new cvt tranny for the car for about $12k, since it would require a lot more parts than just the engine and tranny to do that conversion. Plus...the time isn't right for me lol. One day...one day.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”